We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to complain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helnan Chellah Morocco

Save Saved
You added Helnan Chellah Morocco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helnan Chellah Morocco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue D'Ifni | Quartier Hassane, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not much to complain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Probably the best part of this hotel is its location. It is in the city centre. The popular tourist destinations like Medina are nearby but not too near so you are not disturbed by the large number of visitors. There are several eateries from simple outlets to expensive restaurants so you have lots of choice. Of course this is Morrocco with the famous Mediterranean cuisine so wherever you eat you will not be disappointed.
The hotel itself is an old place which was last renovated may be ten years ago. It is in fact a long time since I saw a 21 inch box TV set in a hotel that claims to be 4 star. The lift is also ancient and looks like it could stop anytime. Yet the rooms as well as the restaurant and bar are neat and well maintained.
The complimentary breakfast is good but I don't advise eating lunch or dinner there simply because it is very expensive.
Internet is available for free but I am told it does not work in many rooms. Fortunately I had a decent connection in my room so I can't verify the problem my friends mentioned.
The rooms could use some improvement in terms of a little modernity. The hotel could also put tea and coffee making facility in the rooms and one or two bottles of complimentary water in the fridge could have gone a long way.

To conclude I find most of the staff very pleasant and friendly and I would be happy to come back here for the staff if nothing else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
11
25
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Pros: Quiet neighborhood. Room had comfortable double beds.

Cons: We were awaken by muezzin in the middle of the night.
TV, hardly working
Wi-Fi, has connection but could not get any mail unless stood in a specific corner of the
reception.
Bathroom: ok. Had Shampoo and conditioner.
Dinning: You have to buy mineral water. 1 1/2 liter costs about 25 MAD ($3). Outside
the hotel you pay $0.61.
Basic food - Good baguet, cucumbers, tomatoes, eggs and some cakes. No refills.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

But nothing has changed since then. This is what new, modern hotels looked like in the 80's when I started traveling and staying in hotels. The decor, the layout, the furnishings, the TV set (my parents had the same Panasonic TV in their bedroom in the early 80's...) even the menu at the restaurant and the laminated information sheet in the rooms reminded me of those days. OK - the bathroom seemed to have been remade a little more recently and it was functional and clean, The room and the rest of the facilities were clean, no funny odors. Wi-fi worked fine in my room and it was free, which was a big plus. The staff was courteous and helpful. I only stayed there overnight and did not need anything fancier, but I don't think I'd settle for this hotel if I planned to stay longer in Rabat.

Room Tip: Ask for free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A very old fashioned hotel. As our room smelt badly the reception send someone with an airfreshener, the smell got worse... Furniture old and full of dust... Instead of a couple bed there were two single beds with a sheet on the blankets to join them... Not even a bottle of water in the room or a mini-bar... A very poor four star hotel... Well located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was clean, centrally located, and offered all the basics. It was an easy walk to the train station, which was actually disappointing after paying three times the going rate for a taxi when we arrived! The room was hot so we opened the window to discover very early in the morning we were right above the garbage bins - extremely loud when noisy truck with noisy workers pulled up to haul off the trash with great clangs and bangs. No more sleep for us. Ask for a room away from the noisy street! The breakfast was excellent with more variety and choices than we encountered anywhere else on our trip. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a comfortable place for a few days stay, this is probably not the place. But if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with everything you need for a night, this one is good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms left us unimpressed. Dark, out dated. A/c didnt work. The views from the window showed dirty rooftops on a small disorganized street. Old fashioned and out dated lobby. The dinner was pretty good, though we arrived at the same time as a large group which led us to believe they had mad extra choices on the buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is just for sleeping and not for good vacation.very moderate. cushions not convenient. aircondition is disconnected by hotel.When we asked to open the aircondition-the reply was stupid- no need to do so. Food is good .

Room Tip: Do not choose room near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helnan Chellah Morocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helnan Chellah Morocco

Address: 2 Rue D'Ifni | Quartier Hassane, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helnan Chellah Morocco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Helnan Chellah Morocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helnan Chellah Morocco Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helnan Chellah Morocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.