We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helnan Chellah Morocco

Save Saved
You added Helnan Chellah Morocco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helnan Chellah Morocco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue D'Ifni | Quartier Hassane, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Halstead
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Adequate but basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Rabat Chellah Hotel is well-located and clean but the facilities, room amenities and furnishings are all very limited. The rooms are clean but there are no extras. The breakfast is okay, but it didn't seem to matter how early one got to the buffet, all the 'hot' food was cold. The bar is dark and unwelcoming and the evening buffet is extremely dull. Staff were nice enough but there's very little information available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    39
    25
    18
See reviews for
10
25
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I only spent one night here - the hotel is located in a relatively quiet part of Rabat across the street from the archaeological museum and a short distance from the train station. The rooms are in need of an update - smallish and comfortable, but a little worn. There was nothing wrong with them - everything was kept up well. The front desk staff and the restaurant staff were quite friendly, and happy to help with anything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel is well located in the centre of Rabat although not too noisy. Rooms are acceptable and quite clean. The inhouse Hamam is nice and well managed. The fitness room is tiny and run-down - never seen someone using it. The food is extremely simple, tasteless and every evening the same. Free WLAN in the lobby - but not working every day. To sum up: it's OK for a few days due to its location but there are better choices in Rabat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to attend a conference. I've never had worst sleep in all of my travels as I had at this place. The hotel didn't do anything about all of the shouting, etc. in the hallways and public areas by hordes of students/young people. My room with twin beds was cramped and shabby. The front desk staff was hit or miss; some were helpful and some were incompetent. Positives: the room rate was fair and the cleaning staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel is very beautiful hits you when you step inside, well laid out lobby area beautifully arrayed balconies in white with greenery growing out of them, spectacular roof reflected of the massive glass wall, all in all quite impressive.
However I found it rather odd that they have an Irish Pub on the premises but insist upon speaking french had to ask the staff if they spoke any english which they did but didnt seem to want to communicate in it.
Was quite taken aback by the fact that in this 5 star rated Hotel you have to pay extra for internet, the rooms are not exactly budget priced here.
We ordered some food later on in the evening and it came quite promptly but we actually thought they had delivered it by mistake as there wasn;t anything on the plate except what looked like decorations, we couldnt stop laughing and that was an expensive laugh!
The room we had was a suite really nice loved it actually but some sockets were broken and the sliding doors were jammed open due to the carpet being torn.
Unfortunately the traffic noise was quite bad woke me up quite a few times maybe because we were on the first floor.
Would say it's a good hotel highly priced so some gripes, if it was cheaper then it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My wife and I have spent one night in this hotel. The room was small but clean and comfortable.

The location of the hotel is good with the archeological museum just a stone throw away.

The dinner we had at the hotel was open buffet but it was poor and the food did not tasted much. The breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was a relatively small hotel that is part of the Helnan chain of hotels. The staff welcomed us with hot mint tea and check in was done in a very expedient manner. The room was small but clean and the decor was Morrocon. We were just across the street and a block down from a mosque and the city wall. We walked into the trendy shopping area , past some government buildings and into an older part of town. We felt very safe in our walking everywhere. dinner and breakfast were included and there was a good selection of food. the dining room was very pleasant and the workers in the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helnan Chellah Morocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helnan Chellah Morocco

Address: 2 Rue D'Ifni | Quartier Hassane, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helnan Chellah Morocco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Helnan Chellah Morocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helnan Chellah Morocco Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helnan Chellah Morocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.