We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tarnished Tulip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Farah Rabat to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makhlouf 10, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Tarnished Tulip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recently spent one week at the Golden Tulip, Morocco. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and shower, this hotel will suit you well. During the 6 days that I was there, the wifi was not working for 5 days. They blamed it on the weather. The coffee shop one block away had wifi during the same weather. The workout facility is practically non-existent. There were 2 treadmills and 2 cross-trainers…of those, only one cross-trainer was in working condition. The breakfast buffet was included in the room price. If it wasn’t included, I would have found somewhere else to eat. Same breakfast every day, and nothing spectacular. The dinner buffet, which I only had once, was very limited and over priced at $23. Some of the items left us guessing as to what they were…eggplant? Maybe mushrooms? The bed was comfortable, but just a very thin sheet over the mattress. No mattress cover. The bathrooms were decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    83
    101
    75
    60
See reviews for
31
80
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The room was reasonably spacious with quite large beds, a sofa, coffee table, a big wardrobe and desk. The bathroom was neat and functional. But the in room safe was missing. We were on the first floor with windows facing the street and noticed that the opening was secured by steel bars. This is a safety issue as one could not escape thru the windows if the corridor is on fire.

The dining facility is not up to par and the food is rather poor. We had buffet for dinner and breakfast. There was a large volume of food but very limited variety and lacked quality. The service provided also failed. I noticed a cake knife from the dessert table had fallen onto the floor and notified the waiter who just picked it up, wiped it on a napkin and put it back on the table. One would’ve expected the dirty knife be taken to the kitchen and be replaced with a fresh clean one. Hygiene standard is low and staff poorly trained.

This hotel is satisfactory for only a short or an overnight stay. Given the opportunity I would look for another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rabat hotels

Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is just a short walk from the Tour Hassan and the Mohammed V Mausoleum and there are excellent views from the top floor.The food was only average and there was a decided shortage of cutlery-one of the waiters presented me with a soup spoon as though I had just won a prize. The prices for room service items were outrageous and the wine waiter would only accept cash-no charging to the room.We also failed to get the room safe to work but did not contact reception as we were only staying one night.If we visit Rabat again we will look for another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia-Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the outside it looks fine, our room wasn't great, bed didn’t look made & the bathroom is the only thing that looks good, looks like they spent all the money on the bathroom.
We had a restless night because the room was noisy & air conditioning wasn’t working great, called reception to get maintenance to look at it & I should have never called.
Whilst sleeping a staff member walked into our room, lucky I was awake & it gave me a shock, my fiancée was scared & couldn’t get back to sleep she was furious. I spoke to hotel management & he advised, we thought the room was empty – good one mate next time check your guest book. No iron available in the entire hotel & the room safe remained locked from the previous occupants; other guest staying also mentioned this to me at breakfast. Room safe wasn’t secured & you could just pick it up & walk out with it. Anyway it was only one night thankful for that. Sorry about the review I hope you guys take it on board.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have just come back from a four night stay at this hotel. While the room could be described as a little shabby, you are in Morocco. I found the staff helpful and pleasant, the breakfast good, especially the choice of fruit and the room spacious and comfortable. The panorama bar is great and the barman was welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sana'a
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As others have said no complimentary water in the room, which would have been very welcome after a long journey. Also no iron available in the entire hotel and the room safe remained locked from the previous occupant throughout my stay despite requesting the front desk to open it. At breakfast unless you manage to get in early don't expect to find clean cutlery or napkins on the table and there was a distinct lack of spoons in the restaurant. However the location is very convenient for the souk!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were put in to a room on arrival facing the noisy four-lane circular road with heavy traffic and hooting horns continuously. The windows had no draught excluder nor sound proofing and, as a result, we had a restless night because the room was noisy and freezing cold. Next day we asked to change rooms to the back which was much quieter. The lounge area was nice and the location good, near Hassan Tower and the old city.The pool on the roof terrace was a pleasant spot to lie in the sun and look out on the Atlantic ocean. The bedrooms were spacious and bathrooms OK but the rooms needed some renovation. We ate twice in Farah restaurant, the buffet was limited choice and sometimes tasteless, the staff didn't bother to offer us the alternative menu available and made no effort. We ate one evening at Brasserie Tulipe restaurant and that was much better service and good quality food. Breakfast was a terrible experience. The staff were decidedly glum and unmotivated, a sachet of sugar lying on the floor was not picked up by any of the staff throughout our meal, for example, they just stood about. They were slow to clear used plates and no serviettes were provided. The 'chef' at the omelette station looked clueless and startled, my omelette was flat and the egg white only half cooked. Two choices of cereals only, nice croissants and pastries. Coffee from the machine to be avoided. A 3-star hotel in my view.The staff at reception spoke poor English.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Address: Makhlouf 10, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#9 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Farah Rabat 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Rabat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat Hotel Rabat
Rabat Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Farah Rabat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.