We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Farah Rabat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makhlouf 10, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 hotels in Rabat
Sana'a
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good location, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As others have said no complimentary water in the room, which would have been very welcome after a long journey. Also no iron available in the entire hotel and the room safe remained locked from the previous occupant throughout my stay despite requesting the front desk to open it. At breakfast unless you manage to get in early don't expect to find clean cutlery or napkins on the table and there was a distinct lack of spoons in the restaurant. However the location is very convenient for the souk!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    51
    56
    48
    39
See reviews for
21
41
9
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-Thames, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were put in to a room on arrival facing the noisy four-lane circular road with heavy traffic and hooting horns continuously. The windows had no draught excluder nor sound proofing and, as a result, we had a restless night because the room was noisy and freezing cold. Next day we asked to change rooms to the back which was much quieter. The lounge area was nice and the location good, near Hassan Tower and the old city.The pool on the roof terrace was a pleasant spot to lie in the sun and look out on the Atlantic ocean. The bedrooms were spacious and bathrooms OK but the rooms needed some renovation. We ate twice in Farah restaurant, the buffet was limited choice and sometimes tasteless, the staff didn't bother to offer us the alternative menu available and made no effort. We ate one evening at Brasserie Tulipe restaurant and that was much better service and good quality food. Breakfast was a terrible experience. The staff were decidedly glum and unmotivated, a sachet of sugar lying on the floor was not picked up by any of the staff throughout our meal, for example, they just stood about. They were slow to clear used plates and no serviettes were provided. The 'chef' at the omelette station looked clueless and startled, my omelette was flat and the egg white only half cooked. Two choices of cereals only, nice croissants and pastries. Coffee from the machine to be avoided. A 3-star hotel in my view.The staff at reception spoke poor English.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's hard to get your head around how bad this hotel is because on the surface, everything looks fine.

Then you realize that the majority of the rooms smell like a mildewed closet, that there are little red bugs scurrying around in the the drawers and if you walk barefoot in your room, you'll find your feet get a bit dirty by the end of the night.

The breakfast buffet looked great, but the lack of dishes, glasses and cutlery made it difficult to actually eat. When I asked one staff member for cutlery, she brought me a knife. When I asked for a fork, she rolled her eyes and asked "Really?".

The lifts are rather slow, so I tried to take the stairs once. Once. The stairwell between the 4th and 5th floors smelled like rotting meat.

And I've never been to a hotel where room service attendants insist on being paid in cash.

Some staff tried to be helpful, but they were clearly fighting an uphill battle.

Room Tip: If you can find one that doesn't smell like mold and mildew- take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rabat hotels

Estoril, Portugal
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having read some of the TA reviews on this hotel I was ready for a dumpy hotel. Nothing could have been more wrong! This hotel is quite nice, certainly a 4 star quality, and really nothing wrong with it. Of course we are in Morroco so things do not work spic and span like in Europe, but the Farah delivers exactly what it should: excellent location minutes walk away from the Medina busy souks and great shopping, excellent common areas with confortable couches and well serviced bar, attentive reception staff, excellent breakfast buffet ( for Morrocan standards) with fresh orange juice and diversified choices. Toaster not working well but that was the least problem. Rooms are large and spacious, a bit outdated but reasoably clean with excellent beds and large bathroom with plenty of amenities. Safety box not working which was a nuisance. Wi fi free and working well. Morroco is not in the European comunity and has kept its personality and traditional ways of life so when travelling through its cities one should not expect the same standards of cleanlyness as in europe. You can expect a Very peasant overall stay at this hotel if you do not demand perfection and are willing to make allowances for some mishaps!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here one night expecting Western standards given the overall impression. Room needed redecorating and one of the lights didn't work. The person who let us in discovered this but nothing was ever done. We had to ask 3 times for a second set of towels as there was only one hand towel and one bath towel provided for 2 people. The third time was 3 hours after my first request! Breakfast OK but nothing better than that. Comfortable bed and reasonably quiet despite central location on main road. When we checked out, the manager demanded payment. They argued with us when I told them our travel company had paid. Eventually, I had to ring at my expense on my mobile so that the organisation could sort it out with the hotel. Finally, the manager emerged from the office, saying (and I quote) "OK madam, you can go". I would have expected an apology for delaying us and acknowledgement of their mistake rather than being told we "can go" as if we were prisoners on our release date.

Room Tip: ask for a room on another side from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Golden Tulip as part of a tour. I suppose the location is fine, near the mausoleum, but when we went to go for a walk after dinner, we found the area a bit unnerving and quite dimly lit. The rooms were not great, they had a bad odor, musty, and even cranking the window open for a few hours don't help. It was bad enough we did even get under the covers to sleep. We lay in top of the beds and used the bath robes as blankets. The buffet dinner was okay, but there was no butter for the buns and no sugar for the coffee, even after asking a few times. I did have Mohammed's revenge the next day, don't know for sure, just sayin. The only refuge was the rooftop bar. Definitely did not stand up to the rest of the hotels we stayed at in morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Agree with previous reviews, this hotel, although centrally located, is in need of a facelift. Neither dinner nor breakfast were inspiring. But the beds were comfortable. For a one night stay, it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat Hotel Rabat
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat Hotel
Rabat Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Rabat
Address: Makhlouf 10, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Tulip Farah Rabat 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Rabat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Farah Rabat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.