We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, well placed and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rabat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Splendid
Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
8 Rue Ghazza, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Rabat
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Cheap, well placed and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December 2012. We beat them down on their quoted price as most places were empty. Very hospitable reception staff, room was nothing special, but clean and did the job. Also had a sunny balcony, though no furniture on it. A little noisy from the stairwell, though delightfully Parisian in terms of decor in the hall and stairwells,
No breakfast, does have a garden which looked nice, but was a bit too cold to go into.

Room Tip: Bater on price and ask to see first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    14
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
18
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The splendid hotel is in the center of rabat, in a nice little street just few steps from the medina. My room, on the 4th floor, was little but nice, the hotel is charmin and clean enough, and also very cheap( 20 euros for the double room). The consierge was little rude sometimes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We choose this hotel because of the location, near the central station and close to the old medina. Rooms are nothing special, but are OK for the budget. We had a room facing the quiet green innercourt. Rooms are simply furnished. Bathroom is just big enough. No hot shower. Grumpy receptionist downstairs.

For one night this hotel is fine and that is just enough to visit the best sights of Rabat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Unfortunately, we recently had a terrible experience at Hotel Splendid. We telephoned prior to arriving in Rabat and were quoted two different prices of Dh230 and Dh330, it seemed, depending on who telephoned (the lower price for a French-speaking male, the higher price for an English-speaking female). We went to the hotel anyway, as we found other hotels in the same range full, and were given a room on the top floor (attic) with ensuite bath for Dh230. I took a shower immediately upon checking in, and while in the shower, the man from reception banged on the door and demanded that we leave immediately because he could not find any entry reference number in our passports. We tried to explain that the official at the airport had forgotten to stamp the number in our passports, that we had had no trouble at any other hotels, that we were permitted visa-free entry, and that we planned to visit the police prefecture in Rabat to obtain the numbers as soon as we had the chance. He refused to listen, and shouted and threatened us irrationally and aggressively, even entering the room to attempt to pick up our belongings and throw them out into the hallway, nearly knocking me down in the process. Thus, while the rooms at this hotel might be decent, I cannot recommend it and would caution travellers against staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Good location, clean large rooms with bathrooms. Great value for money (but beware the quoted price on many booking sites don't include the tax).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We arrived in Rabat after a week trekking in the mountains and decided to try this place. The guy in reception didn't speak much English but we were able to use our French to get an ensuite twin room. It was on the 4th floor and there are no lifts - no a problem for us, but maybe for others.
He happily gave us the key to go and look at the room, which was a pleasant suprise.
Basic furniture, but two decent beds, large waardrobe and a desk with chair. The bathroom was a "wet room" and once we figured out how to stop the water from the shower head spurting in 5 different directions we got a nice warm shower. The bathroom even had a proper door (the first one in 9 days!).
Reception was often empty, but some banging and coughing generally brought the guy out from the back room.
This ISN'T the place if you are after luxury and amazing service, but for a good quality, basic ensuite room for less than £20 a night we were more than happy.
Breakfast wasn't included but lots of fairly cheaper patisseries and cafes around the area.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the ensuite option unless after real cheap deal. And maybe on a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Splendid for about a week and a half in October. I recommend it to people who are looking for an inexpensive, centrally located place to stay in Rabat.

I stayed in two different rooms here. Both had an en suite bathroom. Both rooms were adequately sized and clean. I had to change rooms partway through my stay which was not a problem, except that the toilet seat in my new room looked dirty. I told the hotel staff that the toilet seat was dirty on my way out one morning and was told that it would be cleaned. When I got back to my room I noticed something amazing: the toilet seat had not been cleaned, but rather completely removed! I guess this was easier than cleaning it? In any case, this didn't really bother me and I found it kind of funny.

The hotel is located in downtown Rabat, just a couple of blocks from the medina, about a 5-8 minute walk to the Rabat Ville train station, and has lots of shops, cafes, and restaurants in its immediate vicinity. There is a room near the entrance to the hotel with free wifi for guests. My favorite part of the hotel is its large courtyard area. You can order food to eat in this courtyard from the restaurant across the street or simply relax at one of the tables.

For the price and location this is a good choice in Rabat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 8 Rue Ghazza, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Rabat
Number of rooms: 219
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.