We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mandarine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Mandarine to your Saves list
Villa Mandarine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Rabat
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A truly excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have stayed at Villa Mandarine on many occasions, mostly on business but also with my wife. We love it! Welcoming staff. Stylish, individual rooms. Beautiful gardens. Nice pool. Excellent restaurant with discrete staff. Great wine list with a well-chosen selection of Moroccan wines. Good food with a nice balance of Moroccan, French/international.
Great spa/hammam - great for relaxing!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    51
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
75
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport Point, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked at this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. It's absolutely gorgeous. Let's be clear, though. It is VERY far from town. In non-rush hour, 30 minutes. The taxis don't want to come out because they can't pick up a return fare. Most of the staff was very nice, but the desk manager was absolutely snarky. Perhaps he's jaded by the wealthy and rude clientele, but he was a jerk on two occasions. Hey fella, Villa Mandarine didn't get to the top of the heap on account of you, but on account of you, it can decline easily. We won't go back. I'm still calling it very good, because if a remote location and rude check in and out fit your needs, this place is perfect in every other regard. And everyone else was lovely.

Room Tip: From our observation, all the rooms are excellent, don't think there's a bad one in the bunc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were looking for a relaxing break and some winter sun after the relentless rain in the UK. We could not have chosen better. Villa Mandarine is a peaceful, sophisticated retreat from the bustle of central Rabat. Located in the prestigious diplomatic area, it is a short taxi ride to the Kasbah, Necropolis, souk etc. and the petits taxis are cheap and readily available, if sometimes a little ramshackle. The gardens, a former orange grove, are a delight - the orange blossom was just starting to emerge,, when we were there, giving off its wonderful, heady scent. In April and may the perfume must be intoxicating.

The décor, a mixture of European and Moroccan with a wide range of reproduction art, is welcoming and interesting. There are log fires and candles in the public areas, giving a warm and cosy feel to the place. As we visited in March, when the evenings were cool, we did not need to seek the shade of the central courtyard with its fountain and palms. I should imagine, however, that in the Summer this would be a delightful retreat. We did take advantage of the spa and each had a wonderful massage. Unfortunately, on that day there was only one member of staff available, so we were not able to have the body scrub in the hammam.

And then there is the restaurant! Our first meal there was so delicious, contrary to normal , we ate in the hotel every evening. On our last night the chef, Sylvain Brucato, prepared a special surprise meal for us with numerous courses. We could not fault the service, presentation, variety or quality of the food. Although some of the dishes were rich, they were not over facing. We also sampled a variety of Moroccan wines and were impressed.

Finally, I must say a big thank you to the staff, all of whom throughout our stay were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they had a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main garden and the swimming pool, which was sunny and bright. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Villa Mandarine is an excellent place to wind-down and transition after an overseas fight. Its neighborhood is made up of ambassadors' residences and beautiful estates, and the hotel is in the middle of a lovely citrus orchid. The cocoon-like atmosphere envelopes you immediately, and the lush landscaping and aromas are incredibly relaxing after a long day of travel. We only had one day at Villa Mandarine before going on to Fes, yet both my husband and I said, "Why would anywhere stay anywhere else?"
My first experience at a hammam was extraordinary - I had no idea I had so many layers of dispensable skin! The Villa Mandarine hammam was very reasonably priced considering it eliminated my jet lag and a hangover, and made my skin absolutely glow.
The restaurant was disappointing. Both the food and the service were average at best. I expected more from a hotel of this caliber with a restaurant that is supposedly well-regarded. After our entrees were served our waiter rarely returned to fill our water/wine glasses or ask if we needed something else. We each ordered a fish entree and although both were fine, neither was anything special.
Although the restaurant service wasn't great, the hotel service was wonderful. The Villa Mandarine has amazingly comfortable beds and a lovely, serene atmosphere so I can recommend it without any hesitation.

Room Tip: If you're coming in from overseas, book a hammam a few hours after your arrival. Guaranteed to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at this beautiful property in the dark just in time to have a delicious dinner in the restaurant. My chicken tangine was delicious! The atmosphere in the dining room was just elegant! Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious, furnished beautifully and had all the amenities! I rose early in the a.m. to take a swim in the pool (even in the light rain) and it was very refreshing. We walked the gardens after a very generous and delicious breakfast in the dining room. When we left the villa, we saw where we were and the area was just lovely. It was a little ride into Rabat. It is definitely a hotel where you would want to spend more time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We came for one night in Rabat, and unfortunately we were delayed and did not arrive till 9pm. The room was very nice and the grounds were exceptional. We had a light dinner in the bar and enjoyed lox sandwiches and frys. Our room had its own small patio and lounge area. If you come here, try to arrive early enough to enjoy the grounds and the pool. Breakfast was very good as we'll.

Room Tip: A room with a patio or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleebana, NSW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our only regret was that we were in this delightful place for only one night. However we were fortunate enough to arrive at lunch time, so had a whole afternoon to enjoy the lovely gardens and excellent pool. There is nothing we can fault from the well appointed, large room, good wifi, delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner to the greeting from the owner who spoke to us at our table at dinner. She was born on this property which was owned by her family and decided, when her husband retired to convert it a hotel. The food was exceptional, a mix of French and Moroccan. There were delights around every corner, from the tranquil courtyard with its fountain to the antique filled reception rooms, to the occasional garden sculpture. It seems this is a one night stop for many guests. Next time we should stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mandarine

Address: 19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Family Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mandarine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mandarine Hotel Rabat
Mandarine Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mandarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.