We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Oranges in the World!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mandarine

Save Saved
You added Villa Mandarine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mandarine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best Oranges in the World!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Villa Mandarine while on honeymoon only for a night. It was more of a travel break for us. The hotel was small and cosy. It was a good stay but slightly expensive.

The best part is their orange orchard - they have the best oranges in the world. We had not eaten such good oranges. Best was you could walk around and pluck out as many as you wanted. The best ones are ofcourse served in your room and at the breakfast table. Still remember the taste of the oranges!

Room Tip: A room facing the orange orchard / garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    41
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
58
4
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful gardens, helpful staff and amazing food.....these are just introductory remarks, villa mandarin is more than that..garden of flowers, birds, butterflies and PEACOCK..kids r amazed to see peacock roaming near their breakfast table. The smell of blooming mandarin flowers worth every breath. Nice pool, elaborated decor..with all famous painting, central garden and , some modern artifacts.restaurant is one of the best in city..just ask what you want..and multilingual staffwill convey it to the Chef. Rooms are so cosy with private balcony. Very helpful staff right from the doorkeeper to the manager...just visit once and make it home

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor on the pool facing side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

From a facilities perspective, there's nothing bad to say about the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. The gardens are lovely and the dining room is attractive. The staff, however, is among the coldest set of people I've ever encountered while traveling. Upon arriving, the reception staff pushed papers at us to fill out without even a hello or welcome (in any language) let alone a smile.

The restaurant staff was equally rude. The food however, was very good with a mix of Moroccan or high-end international fare. Pricey for Morocco but not break-the-bank expensive. You're quite a bit from downtown so other dining options are limited in this diplomatic neighborhood.

All in all, the stay was fine, but the staff needs a big lesson in civility.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in late January 2013 whilst on business. I would agree with all the other reviewers that the staff are very friendly and helpful, the grounds are fantastic with numerous exotic trees and shrubs and the rooms are nicely appointed, although a proper walk in shower would have been nice, as opposed to a hand-held shower over the bath.
The neighborhood is safe and quiet and is basically in the affluent consular district suburb of Rabat. Although the hotel is 5 or 6 miles outside the centre of the city, you can get reception to call a 'petit taxi', which carries 3 passengers max. for around 350 dirham (£3.00 approx) or a 'grand taxi', which carries up to 5 passengers for about 1000 dirham (£8.00 approx).
The breakfast in the hotel is very good with freshly made omelette, good coffee and superb freshly squeezed orange juice.
I only ate dinner in the hotel once and opted for the medium priced Moroccan menu. The food was nice but not great compared to other restaurants I ate in in the city for far less money. I can't comment on the gourmet menu except to say it was fantastically expensive.
My advice would be to get a cheap taxi into the city and eat in some of the local restaurants, many of which are excellent (and cheap!)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Villa Mandarine, what a pleasant oasis. I would gladly go back for business or pleasure. The food was particularly good - with an excellent restaurant for lunch and dinner. The only drawback is that it is located so far from the center. That said, it's a safe neighborhood where it's pleasant to walk in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The grounds of this hotel are stunningly gorgeous, exactly what a place with the word mandarine in its name should look like. Interior courtyard is very lush and green, does not feel like you are in a hotel at all. We had a nice outdoor patio with our ground floor room, citrus trees all around us. And loved the peacocks walking around in the gardens.

As we were soon to experience throughout Morocco, the service was fantastic, we felt very taken care of. We had dinner at the hotel and it was very good. My first real tagine did not disappoint.-

I would say only con (a slight con) is that you are in the suburbs of Rabat, so unless you have a car you are confined to the hotel. We were there only 1 night and our guide picked us up the next morning so it was no big deal, but if you plan to see Rabat for more than a day then better to find a place in/near the main city area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel, surrounded by gardens and an orange grove, is perfect for a weekend away. The rooms are large, well decorated, and very comfortable. With its spa, fitness room, pool, restaurant and bar, the hotel has everything anyone could need to refresh and relax. The breakfast was very good with cooked to order eggs and a wonderful variety of breads. Lunch and dinner were fine though not outstanding. The only caution I would have about the hotel is the distance from any other Rabat attractions. Without a car, visiting Rabat is time-consuming as the hotel has to call a taxi and the wait may be as long as half an hour. For anyone wanting a respite from the hustle and bustle of normal tourism, the hotel is fantastic and shouldn't be missed.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have wonderful private terraces and give on to the inner courtyard with its fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mandarine

Address: 19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mandarine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Villa Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mandarine Hotel Rabat
Mandarine Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mandarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.