We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great pleasure to all the senses...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mandarine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Mandarine to your Saves list
Villa Mandarine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a great pleasure to all the senses...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful gardens, helpful staff and amazing food.....these are just introductory remarks, villa mandarin is more than that..garden of flowers, birds, butterflies and PEACOCK..kids r amazed to see peacock roaming near their breakfast table. The smell of blooming mandarin flowers worth every breath. Nice pool, elaborated decor..with all famous painting, central garden and , some modern artifacts.restaurant is one of the best in city..just ask what you want..and multilingual staffwill convey it to the Chef. Rooms are so cosy with private balcony. Very helpful staff right from the doorkeeper to the manager...just visit once and make it home

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor on the pool facing side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

From a facilities perspective, there's nothing bad to say about the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. The gardens are lovely and the dining room is attractive. The staff, however, is among the coldest set of people I've ever encountered while traveling. Upon arriving, the reception staff pushed papers at us to fill out without even a hello or welcome (in any language) let alone a smile.

The restaurant staff was equally rude. The food however, was very good with a mix of Moroccan or high-end international fare. Pricey for Morocco but not break-the-bank expensive. You're quite a bit from downtown so other dining options are limited in this diplomatic neighborhood.

All in all, the stay was fine, but the staff needs a big lesson in civility.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in late January 2013 whilst on business. I would agree with all the other reviewers that the staff are very friendly and helpful, the grounds are fantastic with numerous exotic trees and shrubs and the rooms are nicely appointed, although a proper walk in shower would have been nice, as opposed to a hand-held shower over the bath.
The neighborhood is safe and quiet and is basically in the affluent consular district suburb of Rabat. Although the hotel is 5 or 6 miles outside the centre of the city, you can get reception to call a 'petit taxi', which carries 3 passengers max. for around 350 dirham (£3.00 approx) or a 'grand taxi', which carries up to 5 passengers for about 1000 dirham (£8.00 approx).
The breakfast in the hotel is very good with freshly made omelette, good coffee and superb freshly squeezed orange juice.
I only ate dinner in the hotel once and opted for the medium priced Moroccan menu. The food was nice but not great compared to other restaurants I ate in in the city for far less money. I can't comment on the gourmet menu except to say it was fantastically expensive.
My advice would be to get a cheap taxi into the city and eat in some of the local restaurants, many of which are excellent (and cheap!)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank curiousfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Villa Mandarine, what a pleasant oasis. I would gladly go back for business or pleasure. The food was particularly good - with an excellent restaurant for lunch and dinner. The only drawback is that it is located so far from the center. That said, it's a safe neighborhood where it's pleasant to walk in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highschoolband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The grounds of this hotel are stunningly gorgeous, exactly what a place with the word mandarine in its name should look like. Interior courtyard is very lush and green, does not feel like you are in a hotel at all. We had a nice outdoor patio with our ground floor room, citrus trees all around us. And loved the peacocks walking around in the gardens.

As we were soon to experience throughout Morocco, the service was fantastic, we felt very taken care of. We had dinner at the hotel and it was very good. My first real tagine did not disappoint.-

I would say only con (a slight con) is that you are in the suburbs of Rabat, so unless you have a car you are confined to the hotel. We were there only 1 night and our guide picked us up the next morning so it was no big deal, but if you plan to see Rabat for more than a day then better to find a place in/near the main city area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris72206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel, surrounded by gardens and an orange grove, is perfect for a weekend away. The rooms are large, well decorated, and very comfortable. With its spa, fitness room, pool, restaurant and bar, the hotel has everything anyone could need to refresh and relax. The breakfast was very good with cooked to order eggs and a wonderful variety of breads. Lunch and dinner were fine though not outstanding. The only caution I would have about the hotel is the distance from any other Rabat attractions. Without a car, visiting Rabat is time-consuming as the hotel has to call a taxi and the wait may be as long as half an hour. For anyone wanting a respite from the hustle and bustle of normal tourism, the hotel is fantastic and shouldn't be missed.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have wonderful private terraces and give on to the inner courtyard with its fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hooversmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Thsi hotel is located in the suburbs of rabat, a very bustling modern city. The hotel rooms are all different and comfortable. The hotel is surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and has beautiful comfortable community areas. The restaurant is overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPamVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
4.5 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#2 of 39 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#7 of 39 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 39 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 39 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Diyafa Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mandarine

Address: 19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Family Hotel in Rabat
#2 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mandarine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mandarine Hotel Rabat
Mandarine Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing