We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chellah

Chellah
Rabat, Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit Chellah like an insider
$107*
and up
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Rabat
Attraction details
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very interesting and worth making the effort, shame there is nowhere to buy a drink as the view is great.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    165
    35
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rabats own Roman ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

An extremely interesting site with ruins dating back to the Roman empire (the old city of Sala Colonia)

Chellah also contains the remains of an old Arab settlement build over the remainders of the Romans.
The entire site is walled and looks fantastic, it contains nice gardens and fairy tale like corners

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best place to see in Rabat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chellah is like calm and quite oasis in the middle of the busy in Rabat. It is calm and peaceful. It holds Roman ruins next to ancient Muslim necropolis. The exposed Roman ruins are only the top of the iceberg, as majority is not excavated. It has charming gardens.
The best time to visit is spring (March to May) where hundreds of storks are nesting and the air is filled with the sounds they make. I have never seen so many storks in one place...
There are often concerts and events taking place in Chellah. It is worth checking the program, as concerts there have magical atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens, roman ruins, just outside town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We visited early in the morning in April. The flowers were loverly. Lots of storks nesting in the ruins...which really are ruins, they are not doing much to restore them. No coffee shop on site.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss these Roman ruins in Rabat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Definitely worth a visit if you're in Rabat. This is a small area, but there are many nicely preserved pieces here and tons of storks and nests. A note, when we paid our admission and walked inside, we were immediately latched onto by a guide who started telling us the history. We asked him to leave us alone so we could look on our own and he was trying to sell us his services as a guide. We politely declined and went on our way. You don't need a guide for this.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chellah also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Chellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chellah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.