We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, tasty meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EL Bahia

EL Bahia
Voir Plus Bas, Rabat, Morocco
Update restaurant details
Ranked #36 of 135 restaurants in Rabat
Cuisines: Moroccan
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had my first mint tea in Morocco at El Bahia and I will never forget it.

This small restaurant is on the medina wall and was recommended by our riad for Friday couscous lunch (in Morocco, restaurants only serve couscous on Fridays). We ordered the veggie couscous along with chicken tagine with preserved lemons and olives, a veggie tagine, and a lamb dish I forget the details of. Everything was well-cooked and delicious. Service was great, our waiter spoke a little English but we had a French speaker with us so that helped. The menu is in Moroccan Arabic & French.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    4
    19
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Simple but very pleasant Maroccan restaurant near central market with a nice, small inner court inside the city wall. Frequented by many Moroccans. I am surprised at the critical comments here by other visitors. I speak fluent French, perhaps that made a difference, I don't know. In any event, I just popped in for a quick lunch between work sessions. I thought the staff was very friendly and helpful and the service quite fast. After tajine of meat & prunes and fruit salad - both absolutely delicious - with a large bottle of sparkling water and a double espresso - which was OK - the bill came to Dh 112 or less than € 10. Absolute value for money and I recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic local restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went to this restaurant from the reccomendation of my receptionist. The restaurant is really busy during dnner time start at 5.30. We were not feel welcome because at that time we are the only tourist there and the locals keep coming. The server did not speak well english so have to try with french. The food is just okay, i think can get better and cheaper food inside the souk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic restaurant with dull food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant is in a great location but its food is dull. Certainly don't sit upstairs unless it's busy as it felt very much like we weren't welcome to the party that was going on downstairs.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended this cafe/restaurant by our Riad and we loved it. The location is great, it is built into the outside wall of the medina and we loved the laid back atmosphere. It was traditonal Moroccan food and we enjoyed the shaded court yard. Many others (especially locals) were enjoying the pavement terrace. Lots of people watching opportunities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Bahia also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to EL Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EL Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.