We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better in the city...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Rabat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Hotel Rabat to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Rabat
1 Rue Amman bp 175, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“You can find better in the city...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights with my girlfriend.

It´s not posh, but that wasn't a requirement to us,although there´s some things that we don´t abdicate, one of them friendly staff. And the staf of this hotel, mainly on reception they are not smiley.

Beside that, it´s a simple hotel, decoration dated, the bathrooms are not so bad, the best thing in my room was the balcony...lovely to chill out.

The breakfast could be better, not too much to talk about that in fact and a bad thing also is the car park. If you are tavelling by car, all the spots around the hotel must be paid.

One of the best things about this hotel is the location, I walked from the hotel to every attraction in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
14
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel harks back to the 1950's with its dark wood paneling and red walls and carpets. It is very well maintained, offers wifi, and is in an extremely good location, in the Nouvelle Ville across the street from the excellent Cafe Majestic. The staff, however, is not particularly helpful, the rooms are very small and dark, and the noise level can be quite annoying. The hotel is across a narrow street from a mosque, and the call to prayer, being right outside the windows, can be quite a deterrent to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the 4th floor with a bit of a view, and on the side of the hotel not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is not the most modern or trendy but it has old fashioned class. Everything was clean and worked well. Wifi worked on all floors unlike many hotels. The service was courteous and the location is great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have been living in Morocco for 6 years and have come to know what to expect from less expensive Moroccan hotels. While the Royal has a great location, it is definitely missing the sense of hospitality we've found elsewhere. We stayed one night in Rabat to see a performance. The Royal is well situated, between the train station and the National Theater. I'm not sure what staff the reviewers who described a "friendly, helpful" staff met, but they certainly weren't working the night I was there. I felt as if I was disturbing the front desk staff by checking in. We were never even greeted, just asked for passports and payment. Basically, instead of looking at guests, the staff just looked through us. The rooms are adequate but nothing special. Baths are very small but clean and there was hot water. There is a small unstocked fridge and a tiny wall-mounted TV with no remote. The AC/heating worked erratically and couldn't keep the room at a constant temperature. Breakfast was fine with fresh-squeezed orange juice and plenty of food. The hotel does not seem to have wifi anywhere - something that is now very common in most Moroccan hotels. One important thing for visitors to note is that the hotel takes neither credit cards nor checks and demands payment in advance. The best thing about the hotel is the location and the worst - which will keep me from ever booking again - is the staff and non-existent hospitality.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that does not face the mosque unless you are an early (5:00 am) riser. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and choose it for its location. It is only 5 minutes walk from the train station and again 5 minutes to the medina.

The staff are very friendly and helpful with any advice required.

Breakfast was included and it was of a better standard than elsewhere in Morocco during my trip. It was also freshly prepared, which was a nice touch.

The rooms are spacious and were clean, and they are quiet apart from the mosque calling. I think its part of the charm of being in Morocco, but others may find it off putting?

The bathroom was clean and provided all that is required.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed here for a night in October 2011. While my room was clean and the hotel centrally located, I found it overpriced in comparison to other options in the area. I paid about 550 dirhams for a en suite single for one night. To be fair I should point out that the room had a tv and air conditioning both of which I did not use - I suppose if you watch tv and come in the summer these amenities might make this hostel a good choice.

My room had an en suite bathroom, a small desk, a double bed, a small refrigerator, a small tv, and some doors/large shutters that opened onto a street. Traffic wasn't too loud on the street, but the call to prayer from the nearby mosque was too loud to sleep through - it woke me up at 5am. The hotel has a restaurant (breakfast was included in my room price) and a nice seating area with tv and free wifi (no wifi in my room). It's about a 5-8 minute walk to the Rabat Ville train station and just a few blocks from the medina. Lots of shops, cafes, and restaurants are in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room that does not open to the nearby mosque - you'll sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here in December 11. I arrived late in the evening and just looked for any hotels I could find. This was one of several hotels I looked at. Great central location. Only a 5-8 min walk from train station and same distance to medina area. Room cost around 480 MD/£37 for a double room (off the rack price). Nothing fancy about the hotel but perfectly fine for a good nights sleep. Bed was comfortable with clean white sheets, bed throw was clean, though covering blanket had seen better days. My room overlooked a side street and had a balcony. I didn't find the room noisy. Bathroom was clean but a bit small and I would agree with other posts about the shower area, which is 'walk in' and part of the rest of the bathroom divided by a shower curtain with a slightly lowered floor. Breakfast staff were very friendly, helpful and were happy to cook a hot breakfast accompanied with tea, juice, pastries and a bottle of water. They may have offered yogurts and fresh fruit but i didn't ask. The hotel also offers free wi free. Wi fi all worked fine, including in my room. Check out is around mid day. Overall - only half a notch - below any of the budget chain hotels - but for the location and cost, a decent enough hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you agree to stay. If you're staying several days or longer, book by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Rabat

Address: 1 Rue Amman bp 175, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Hotel Rabat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabat Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Rabat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.