We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Yanis

Save Saved
You added Dar Yanis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Yanis
20 rue Lalla Hannou Legza, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 Rabat B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Run by young moroccans, very friendly and welcoming.

Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Comfortable beds.

Nice breakfast.

Great value.

Great location in the inner city. Walking distance from/to the train station and to tourist attractions. Located in a calm side street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    26
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Service:
Yves and other staff are all very welcoming and friendly. We were greeted by mint tea and cookies as soon as we arrived. They showed us interesting places to visit and good restaurants.

Room:
We had the Menthe room on the 1st floor. Room was small but ok for 2 people as we did not have too much luggage. The bathroom did not have enough ventilation and they alerted us when we checked in. As with all other riads we stayed at, the central atrium amplified sound when people talked in the common area.

Location:
The riad is in a residential alley in the old medina. We felt like we lived in the city during the stay. It is walking distance to pretty everything, including the train station. (We even walked to Chellah!) There are sandwich stalls, soup stands, bakeries etc. right at the street corner, and the souk is a short walk away.

Breakfast:
Breakfast is huge, with the largest selection amongst all 7 riads we stayed at.

Overall this is a homey stay and a great launching pad to explore Rabat. I wish I were able to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely Riad amid the hustle and bustle of the Rabat Medina. Booked 2 rooms for a family of 4, the Lavender roof top room was fabulous and the Menthe room on the 1st floor was lovely too. Extremely helpful staff in this family run Riad. Centrally located in the Medina near Rabat's main tourist sights and next to the new tram. Breakfast served in the quaint patio is delicious. Free Wifi available, communal tv room downstairs. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Bear in mind there are no family rooms so you could choose 2 doubles for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This winter I used Dar Yanis as a base to see some of Morocco. At first I traveled as a solo woman and then my family joined me. I want to thank Iman and her cousin Moniham (sp?) for helping me navigate the city. They went out of their way to make sure I found my way to and from restaurants, they helped with train travel, and were willing to store a few souvenirs we bought while we wandered the country. The room was warm and the breakfast plentiful. With many riads and dars in Morocco run by foreigners, it's wonderful to stay with such a wonderful local family. This is a great choice of a hotel if you think you might need a little help negotiating a new country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great Riad to stay in. Bright internal courtyard, cheerful colours.

We stayed in the suite our first night, and in a normal room the second night. I would highly recommend paying a little more for a suite for luxurious space. The rooms are nicely decorated. Each room is given a little radiator to heat the room during winter. Works great and I wasn't cold once during our stay.

Bathroom: Each room has its own private bathroom, complete with western toilet. Hot water aplenty for showering in winter, though the shower is dimly lit and has a strange smell. Clean!

location: Great. Just off a main street so it is easy to find your way. however it is about a 20minute walk to the seaside.

Breakfast: The most substantial breakfast that was served to us in Morocco. We were served crepes and Moroccan style roti bread, crossaints/danishes, bread, spread, yougurt and even eggs (any style you like)!

Staff were friendly enough, though a little more uptight than our other experiences in mororcco. City people I guess!

One of my favourite places I stayed in in Morocco. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Select the suite for more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An easy find from the train station...about a 20minute walk.... Friendly staff and a good accomodation. Damn fine breakfast. Clean...a good deal. We highly recommend it.
Breakfast included all that you need to get going...to include yoghurt. ? A rare find in most Moroccan accomodations.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to To be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent our first night in Morocco at Dar Yanis and it was wonderful.Dar Yanis is a very welcoming and homely riad. We were greeted by Iman, Hind's sister, who was nice. She escorted us to the room. We took the Rose room which is on the rooftop (which isn't too high). It's a nice and cosy room with a window that opens to the courtyard. I love the fact that the room is just perfectly sized. The heater works wonderfully and the bed was comfy. We woke up to a lovely sunrise. It was pretty cold on the roof but it was nice and warm in the room due to the wonderful heater. The bathroom is clean but I would prefer if the shower area is brighter as it was rather dim. The water heater was working perfectly.

The breakfast was very generous and yet delicious. We had to reject some cos we were so full! I love the orange juice which was freshly squeezed. I love the breakfast rooms and the courtyard. Even the staircase was very pretty. It's in a neighbourhood with provision shops and small food set-ups and you feel safe there. We were a bit lost when we came at night after 26hrs with no sleep, but the shops nearby had very helpful people who pointed the place to us. In the morning, we had a lovely walk to the sea and Andalusian Garden. It's about 10-15mins walk. It's also about 10-15mins walk to the ONCF station.

Room Tip: The Rose room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Yanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Yanis

Address: 20 rue Lalla Hannou Legza, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Dar Yanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Yanis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.