We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Riad Kalaa

Restaurant Riad Kalaa
5 rue zebdi / Medina | Médina, Rabat, Morocco (Formerly riad kalaa)
0537202028
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #40 of 134 restaurants in Rabat
Price range: $15 - $25
Description: Fidèle à l'art de vivre marocain où l'hospitalité se conjugue avec générosité, Riad Kalaa se fera un plaisir de vous faire découvrir les saveurs d'une cuisine raffinée.Notre restaurant-table d'hôtes saura vous faire apprécier la cuisine du chef, spécialiste des tajines à l'ancienne. Rabat donnant sur l'océan Atlantique, nous avons offert une place de choix aux produits de la mer, poissons et crustacés. Le chef fait son marché chaque jour et vous invite à une véritable fête des papilles.
Restaurant details
Description: Fidèle à l'art de vivre marocain où l'hospitalité se conjugue avec générosité, Riad Kalaa se fera un plaisir de vous faire découvrir les saveurs d'une cuisine raffinée.Notre restaurant-table d'hôtes saura vous faire apprécier la cuisine du chef, spécialiste des tajines à l'ancienne. Rabat donnant sur l'océan Atlantique, nous avons offert une place de choix aux produits de la mer, poissons et crustacés. Le chef fait son marché chaque jour et vous invite à une véritable fête des papilles.
Rabat, Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little treasure in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wonderful place - once you have found it in the winding alleyways of the Medina (when you don't know the way, try to get them to pick you up at the walls).
Usually set menu, lovely Moroccan food in a very nice and relaxing setting.
Doubles as a typical riad (Moroccan City Hotel) and also has a one-person hammam.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about the restaurant Riad Kalaa.
For those who do not know where we are exactly, somebody can meet them at the entrance of the medina and take them to Riad Kalaa.

Sincerely,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolute MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I took my littlr brother out to dinner just to chill have a nice quiet relaxing time! It was perfect. Beautiful. I love how parts of Morocco are disguised by massive walls in Medinas and are just stunningly gorgeous.

The tagines were perfect, and to be honest I actually don't care for Tagine. I think they are over rated and the food isnt really seasoned. But here it was MEZZIAN!!! And Im quite thankful for the experience I had.

We had a bottle of red Vollubian wine. And the chocolate dessert was to die for. We stayed until closing time. And I promised myself that before I leave I will treat myself to a nights stay. Excellent customer service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestmarocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Go without any doubt with the fish menu....beautiful ambience, nice staff, superb sourrounding. A true experience for anyone who is not used to a riad...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Authentic and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had ordered dinner in advance and settled for a fish menu. The table was set in the centre atrium and we were served one dish after the other with salads, shrimp, calamares end the plat de resistance: Wolf fish (loup de mer) as fresh as you can imagine. Fruit for desert.
The food and drinks were of good quality and varied, but of course it is the setting that is unique. We were not staying the riyad, and we were lucky to have a table anyway. They do let "outsiders" come for dinner or lunch, but you have to call in advance and reserve. After all this is one of the most popular riads in Rabat. Since we live in Rabat we probably will not rent a room here, but it is tempting. From what we have tasted and seen we would definitely recommend Riad Kalaa.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Riad Kalaa also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Restaurant Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Riad Kalaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.