We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balima

Save Saved
You added Hotel Balima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Balima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   283 Ave Mohammed V, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good hotel, perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

As mentioned by others; a grand old lady with a perfect location near the train station.

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a room on the 5th floor. That was nice because there was a lot of noice coming from the streets. Only minor thing; the elevator was next to our room.
The room is spacious and clean. Same for the bathroom.

Breakfast is ok: bread, egg, marmelade, coffee/tea.

Location is just perfect. Only 10 minutes from the old centre and the train station is 5 minutes away. There is a very nice restaurant with traditional maroccan food around the corner.

We enjoyed our coffee on the terrace in front of the hotel. There's a nice, relaxing admosphere and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    36
    23
    15
See reviews for
12
34
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here back in June 2006, clean hotel, great service, they have a good restaurant and easy to access. As it was 6 years since i was there i hope it still has the same feel as it did back then. Compared to other hotels i have stayed in and around Europe its one of the best and well worth the stay. You are not too far away from the train station which is a good thing and some great restaurants around as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Rabat is surprisingly laid back for a capital and a treat for a couple of days. 15 years have passed since my last visit and the Balima remains a favourite. Well placed for the main station and its new tramway system, as well as a walking distance to the principal points of interest, or an 8 -15 dhrs petit taxi to the beach.

Service can be moody at breakfast but if you inject a little humour and a touch of tourist arabic, a change can come about - and on day two my effort was rewarded with a warm msimmen (not provided to the other tables). My generous sized front facing room had a spectacular view and I slept well both nights.

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room and high up - the views over the city are impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice now and have been satisfied both times. The Grand Old dame of rabat hotels is getting worn and faded, but still has enough going for it.
The Good: LOCATION ! It is literally a 5 min. walk from the train station. We walked everywhere we wanted to go within 20-25 min ( medina, kasbah, mausoleum, harbour, palace). If you want mid 20th centuryFrench colonial charm, it still has it. We always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean and the maids would cheerfully get us extra towels etc if we needed them . Free wifi was a bonus. The shaded terrace out front is a great place to have tea and people watch. The price is still reasonable ( approx $60 USD for a double)
The not-so-good: ( maybe) The noise from the nightclub ( especially on weekends) can be a bit overwhelming.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at the front are proably a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

1997 was our first stay. We stayed several other times since, but April 2012 will be our last at the Balima when we return to Rabat, unless the owners invest heavily to bring the quality and service of this property up to 21st Century international hotel service standard.
The location on Mohaamed V- Ave and 5 minutes walk from the Rabat Ville Rail station, plus easy walk to the Medina and new marina, are the things which made us reluctantly kept staying at the Balima.
Our experience is like a partner who is constantly abused by his/her spouse, but keep going back for more of the same bad treatment. That is fact with the Balima. I should know. I have stayed at many hotels in Morocco and around the world in the last 10 years, plus I used to operate an accommodation rental in Europe. I know what it takes to provide guests with QUALITY SERVICE in the 21st Century. They have told me in their comments and feedback.
If you like a heavy, cigarette polluted smoking environment from the reception and on every floor, then stay at the Balima.
If you like the same dry, crusty bread and crossiants, plus diluted orange squash drink every morning for breakfast- then the Balima is for you.
If you want dirty carpets in your room, poor daily cleaning of your room, beddings that have not been replaced since at least 1997, then the Balima is for you.
If you want noisy people all night outside in the street till about 3am every night, plus the sound of club music from the club next door, especially at weekends, then the Balima is for you.
If you want unfriendly staff (except Hassan- a seasoned professional)- then the Balima is for you. But Hassan works only during the day time hours.
If you are only staying 1 night and you need to get to the train station within 5 minutes by walking, or to see the heart of Rabat in 1 day- then the Balima is for you.

Room Tip: Sorry, We could not possible do a recommendation for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The only reason I am giving this hotel two stars is because of it's location. It's about two blocks to the train station, and in the center of all the city activity. This could also be a downfall for some, but considering I was traveling alone, it was a plus for me! However, this hotel is DISGUSTING! Oh my gosh.... the bed linens are about 20 years old (and no, I'm not exaggerating), the bed itself is probably older. The lobby and hotel itself are extremely outdated as well. Upon check-in, my room had dirty towels on the floor in the restroom, used soap in the shower, and an old cigarette in the ashtray. This hotel will overwhelm you with cigarette smoke too (and I'd like to consider myself pretty tolerant of such a common thing while travelling). It seems to be taken over by older business men, who prefer a place to sit and chain smoke. NOT recommeded for females, young families, or basically ANYONE who wants a decently clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel fits into the "consider the total package" category. Price is right. Location is amazing - literally two blocks from the train station. Food was fine. On the down side, the street noise is very loud (ask for a room on the back side of the building), the cigarette smoke creeps into every room, and the bathroom shower was a bit treacherous. No English spoken. It was o.k.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, and higher up, to avoid all the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Balima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balima

Address: 283 Ave Mohammed V, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balima 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Balima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balima Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.