We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like vanilla ice cream - nothing exciting but also not wretched in any way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rabat Sheherazade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rabat Sheherazade to your Saves list
Mercure Rabat Sheherazade
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Tunis | Quartier Hassan, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Rabat
All over Europe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Like vanilla ice cream - nothing exciting but also not wretched in any way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A solid hotel that has minimal frills, sufficient comfort, cold beer, and a decent wifi signal, plus a decent breakfast spread. Don't expect anything in the mini-bar, and you have to chase the staff around to get an iron to press your shirt (and figure out your own ironing board), but it is a solid 3 star hotel that gets the job done at a fair price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    109
    58
    26
    18
See reviews for
26
52
40
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been staying in the Hotel on and off for about 9 months now but for some reason keep missing to write the review! Located around 15 minute walk from the main city centre, it offers reasonable quality standards (it say 4star but 3 would be nearer). Cleanliness is good, good restaurant (the breakfast is great compared to a lot in Morocco) with friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Mercure is one of the better hotels in Rabat. I have also stayed at the Le Pietri which is more basic but has a good restaurant. I stayed at both of these hotels for business. I have stayed at the Mercure three times. The rooms function well and everything usually works. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is sufficient. The breakfast is uninspiring, eggs, juice from concentrate, a coffee machine that makes "espresso" with powder and ALOT of carbs. The staff are unenthused but just smile and say hello anyway....usually they brightenup.

There is a traditional Hamman next to the Medina. Not for the faint hearted. Hard to find but just ask....I speak a little French but most of the women in the Hammam speak only Arabic. With sign language and a lot of smiling you will do just fine. The men's Hammam is next door. Rabat has a lot of cats and people in need. I often feed cats (and people-grab a hard boiled egg from the breakfast) in the area. Each time I go to Rabat I like it a little bit more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel was fairly drab, It's used like a transit camp or staging post for traveler's doing tours of Moroccan cites just staying one night, I of the reason I choose the Mercure in Rabat was because it advertised a Fitness Center, which it had not, had I known this I would not have gone,but over all my stay was ok. I did see 1 cockroach running about.

Room Tip: This hotel has no room's with a view, Get your room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Passing through Rabat en route to Fes from Marrakech. Hotel room was a little small but functional. Internet access and BBC world channel on the TV. Easy to get to from the train station with restaurants in close proximity...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 7 nights, while he was attending a conference. It was a good standard hotel, nothing extraordinary, but everything fine.

We had a room on the third floor (last), two doors from the elevator, and facing the back of the hotel. It was very quiet all week. The room was clean. It had a queen bed, TV, mini-fridge (empty though. I think you have to ask the front desk if you want mini-bar service. For us, this was just a perfect place to keep bottled water.) a safe and an extra pillow. The bed was not as soft as what we like, but it's impossible to have the perfect bed in the hotel, so it was OK.

The bathroom is minimalist, but then, we didn't really need more than that. The shower will flood the entire bathroom floor if you're not careful, but the entire bathroom is tiled, so it's not that terrible, and with a little bit of care, it's quite fine. The bathroom door is slatted and everything but soundproof, so you have to be very comfortable with the person who shares the room with you.

Breakfast in the morning was good and there was plenty of choice. Breads, croissants, fruits, cold meats, cheese, yogurt, some hot dishes, coffee, tea and juice. There is also an outside terrace that is very nice.

Wifi is free in the room and the lobby, only ask the front desk for the access code. Contrary to what a previous reviewer posted, though, we were able to connect to the internet with two devices at the same time. Maybe they improved their system? Connection was generally good, too.

The cleaning ladies did a thorough job every day, and even folded my husband's pyjamas (which he always left crumpled in the bed).

The location is OK, if you don't want to stay in the medina. Only a few minutes walk to the Tour Hassan. To go to the medina, or the train station, we used the very efficient trams. There is a station maybe 5 minutes from the hotel. Neighborhood is very quiet, and there is a little grocery store just across the street where you can buy bottled water and snacks.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Kangourou Grill) our first night, and it's pretty good too, though maybe a bit more expensive then other café-restaurants you can find around the tram stop.

All in all, I'd say a good standard hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate staying here again if we return to Rabat,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in a bussiness trip, and i have some pros and cons about this hotel:
Pro:
-location-very good, near Hassan Tower, quiet zone;
-spacious rooms;
-rich breakfast;
Cons:
- some bugs in the room;
- faulty fan in the bathroom who was working all night
- front service deplorable (we had to pay upfront at check in, my collegues who payed with cash, didn`t receive any proof of that, and the invoice for our stay there (we were about 20 persons) were not made immediat after the pay, only the night before early check out they made the invoice but incorrect because they made it not for the company, but for each individual.....etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rabat Sheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rabat Sheherazade

Address: 21 Rue de Tunis | Quartier Hassan, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#7 Spa Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Rabat Sheherazade 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Rabat, the capital of Morocco in the residential quarter of Hassan only 5 min from the main historic monuments, business centre & 15 min from the royal golf course and the airport. Restaurant, terrace and parking facilities. Diners Club card not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Rabat Sheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rabat Sheherazade Hotel Rabat
Accor Rabat Sheherazade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rabat Sheherazade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.