We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo de Rabat

Zoo de Rabat
605 Rabat-Chellah, Temara, Rabat, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Attractions in Rabat
Attraction details
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“New, clean and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited on a Saturday arriving at 11:00AM. With our Carte de Residences for 2 adults and 2 small children we paid 25 dirhams to enter. We found this to be very inexpensive. The Zoo is very new and clean. A few of the exhibits are empty and during our 4 hour visit we did not see a single Zoo Keeper. We are hoping that this is not the norm and that improvements will be made towards education so that visitors can gain a bit more appreciation for the animals. The highlights of our visit was having a coffee in front of the duck pond watching the swans and ducks and children's farm area with playground. Food offerings as usual in this type of venue are lacking, however you may bring in your own food and there are plenty of shaded picnic areas that you may enjoy your own food at.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo, beautiful animals, a bit difficult to get to without a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I recently visited the zoo and really enjoyed it. Plenty of animals, focusing on African (particularly Moroccan) animals, most of which seem to have plenty of room to move around. The zoo has lots of the archetypal Moroccan and other African animals—African wild dogs (very rare), atlas lions (extinct in the wild), baboons, Barbary apes, elephants, gazelles, giraffes, leopards, macaws, rhinoceroses, ostriches, etc., as well as lots of other smaller animals. At 50 Dirhams per person (equal to about US$6 or €4.5) it is a little expensive to get in compared to a lot of other Moroccan attractions, but still very reasonable and I cannot imagine that taking care of the animals (and paying the staff) is cheap. Animals seem well cared for, the zoo has no bars or anything like that. It is quite new and replaced an older zoo in nearby Temara, about which I have heard some bad things. It did not seem fully set up yet, the chimpanzees did not seem to be around for example, but I had a great few hours strolling through with what there was and when it is fully up and running I imagine it would be even better.
The only real negative about the zoo for me is that it was somewhat difficult (for me) to get to. It would not be difficult if you have a car, but I do not and walked from the last stop on Line 1 of the Rabat Tramway (Medinat Al Irfane), which was 4.4 kilometers (2.7 miles) according to google maps, but actually wound up being more because that area does not have very good street signs and I got a bit turned around. The area is also not very pedestrian friendly and I wound up walking along the shoulder of the road for part of it, although there may be another way to go. The city bus does stop very close to the entrance, but you need to know which line and where you can pick it up (which I did not). So it was a bit of a long walk to get to the zoo, but the cab ride I took back to the center city area only took ten or fifteen minutes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such potential, but missing the mark.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When this new zoo was built, it held such potential. But, instead of it being a place to teach conservation and respect for animals and the earth, it feels more like the animals are there for entertainment, like they are on display, rather then education. The layout of the zoo is very nice, although the safety precautions are sometimes questionable. It doesn't seem to have true zoologists on staff to care for the animals and educate- kids are throwing bread and popcorn into the animal areas and the animals look bored. It has such potential, I can only hope it gets better.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

huge Zoo, very clean. 50dh (5euros). children will be exctatic, adults too. a lot of animals to see. only issue would be to go there, it's quite far away from the city center, and the car park is kind of small, but it might also be because i went overthere just after they reopened it. a must see!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice place to take your Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We got to see elephants, tigers, Lions, Monkeys, Snakes and many more surprises on a wonder Saturday Afternoon. This was such a wonderful experience in Rabat Morocco and the way the have taken care of the location is very impressive.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo de Rabat also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Zoo de Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo de Rabat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.