We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable room for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Hotel de la Paix
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rabat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Paix
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
2, rue Ghazzah, Rabat, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Rabat
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Acceptable room for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived in Rabat later than we expected and without a reservation. Our preferred hotel was full and we booked in La Paix for convenience. It is off the main road but centrally located.

This was once a great colonial-period building and with a bit of TLC would be really fab retro accommodation, but in common with a lot of hotels in Morocco, it looks rather tired. This included the rooms, which were large and clean but really needed a bit of work. For example, the shower curtain was too small for the shower and consequently it was impossible not to flood the tiled floor, turning the bathroom into a skating rink. There was no hot water when we used the shower - no big deal, because the weather was really hot when we were there but it would be an issue in winter.

The staff we met were helpful and friendly, but I guess it helps if you speak French. It cost 250dhs for a triple room for the night without breakfast which is about right for a cheap room for the night, although we have stayed in better rooms for less.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and check it out. If you're not happy, explain the issues and ask to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It is an avarage hotel. Good price (250dh for a double room) but no special services.
Room was quite big and clean.
Ok for a short stay (1-2 nights).
Good location, near the main street.
Staff not particularly nice, but ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location, and it's good: a block from the Medina and a ten minute walk from the train station. However, the lack of hot water during most of our stay was a problem, and light for reading was poor. The bathroom was clean, and the bedroom was quite large. For the price, I'd call it a fair value.....if you can figure out when the hot water gets turned on. I wouldn't recommend for a first time visitor to North Africa, as it might be disappointing. For breakfast we went to a nearby cafe. For wifi we walked to the beautiful, clean station, where it's free upstairs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Quite big rooms with ensuite bathrooms, big windows however still hot at night since there is no air conditioning provided. The floor was quite dusty but the sheets on the beds seemed ok and the bathroom was relatively clean. Its location is good, only five minutes walk fro the station and opposite a nice patisserie for breakfast. he reception staff were friendly and helpful enough, providing information about local train times. If you're looking for a basic hotel to stay in Rabat which is low cost, this is a decent option.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony as the large doors help air the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

The hotel did not have hot water and they didn´t have electricity either, when we complained, the receptionist didn´t want to listen and he didn´t want to understand, and that was the worst part. And suddenly he could only speak one language (french, which he knew, that we didn´t spoke). The room was actually very nice, but the receptionist just did´nt want to understand our complaints about the water and electricity. So if you go there make sure that everything functions before you take the room, and if the dont, be prepared to fight with a man, which reminds me of the story about the three monkeys who dont want to see, hear nor speak.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: 2, rue Ghazzah, Rabat, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Rabat
Number of rooms: 151

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.