We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome in the heart of the Medina,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Art Riad to your Saves list
Art Riad
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16. Rue Essam, Rabat Medina, Rabat 10 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Rabat B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great welcome in the heart of the Medina,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great Riad in the heart of Rabat's Medina. Rooms are a little small but very tastefully decorated and very peaceful. Lovely breakfast with Moroccan pancakes and mint tea, though I would echo another review by saying that some fresh fruit would make them even better. There is a great roof terrace for watching sunset over the Medina. But the best reason to stay at this Riad is Hicham and his family. Hicham so genuinely friendly and welcoming and is always ready to help with anything you need, including showing me how to cook tajine. This for me was the highlight of my time in this Riad and I ended up extending my stay by a few days. Another great plus is that you also have access to the rooftop pool at the nearby Riad Kalaa - great for cooling down after a morning sightseeing or shopping in the Medina. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
40
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Art Riad. Because we were visiting a friend who lives in Rabat we stayed for 8 days, which is quite long seeing Rabat doesn't have that much to offer as other better known Moroccon cities. The Art Riad felt like home all those days. Hicham took great care of us, offering us a smile every day. The breakfast was nice too, although some fresh fruit would be a nice addition. We had a nice room on the ground floor, decoration is a nice moroccan and modern blend. Big plus is that art riad guests are allowed to use the beautiful (yet small) pool in Riad Kalaa. Great location in the medina, close to the centre, the oudaya and the sea. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor is directly next to the patio where the breakfast is served. Wouldn't recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

As a group of 5 people, this riad was absolutely perfect. We were made to feel completely at home by the friendly and helpful Hicham. Having the riad all to ourselves, it was private, comfortable and an amazing first taste of Moroccan life. Although we were given access to the main riad, Riad Kalaa, for dinner and pool, we preferred to be on our own nearby. At all times, we felt safe and secure with close proximity to the centre of the medina. Thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were very pleased to have booked at the Art Riad rather than the rather more "cool" Kalaa where the management seemed rather casual. You have to connect there first to give passport details. We were collected by the delightful Hicham who took us to the Art Riad about 3 minutes away. The decor is gently modern but using the traditional crafts and we loved our little room with the white ceiling and view straight down into the central patio. Hicham was ever ready to help, and his breakfasts were excellent (the maid was off sick). I think it was a little expensive (the room was very small) compared with the two other riads we stayed in. This was the only time we were given a key to the front door since it seemed that Hicham was the sole member of staff there (and of course couldn't be there all the time).
We quickly found our way around the winding streets of the medina admiring their wonderful doorways and loved its peace. We had orginally thought to stay in the Ville Nouvelle to be closer to the Chellah and the Archaeological Museum, both of which were top priorities but were very glad to have stayed in the medina with its proximity to the sea, the Ouidaya and the souk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

While stopping for a long week-end in Rabat in early June, I was looking for a place combining modern comfort with local influences. Art Riad was beyond my expectations! A terrific modern design mixed with distinguished Moroccan craftsmanship in a cinema-like setting in the heart of the medina, a short walk to the city center and to the sea.
The staff was very polite and very useful to help me find my way through Rabat. The room was clean, bright, air-conditioned with all modern features and amenities you would expect from a luxury boutique hotel. You easily feel at home in the main patio while drinking a traditional Moroccan mint tea, one of the best i tasted in the city.
Art Riad is one of those addresses you feel privileged to know and you only pass to you best friends!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I was visiting morocco for the first time and wanted to try the local riad experience. We were lucky to find this enchanting small hideaway tucked in a narrow charming street in the old medina. Staff was very helpful and always available. Rooms are clean and unexpectedly design-cautious yet with all the modern comfort. I highly recommend this place for couples and small families alike!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Art Riad is associated with Riad Kalaa, so when Riad Kalaa was overbooked for 1 night, I stayed here.

This riad is very clean, modern, and seemingly brand-new. Its brand-new decor seems like a bit of very tasteful/minimalist Scandanavia in Morocco. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I gave this riad 4 stars only because it isn't Riad Kalaa, which is really spectacular. I would stay here again in a pinch -- but Riad Kalaa is worth the upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Riad

Address: 16. Rue Essam, Rabat Medina, Rabat 10 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully renovated by Sebastien Manni in a warm and contemporary approach with a great attention to details from famous Moroccan artworks the cosy size of the Riad offers the best atmosphere possible from a very special place to stay in Rabat. Each of the 5 distinctive guestrooms has been designed in a personalised way and elegantly decorated with exotic wood furniture and delicate grace inspired by lively colours and modern comfort. The limited number of rooms, intimate flowered patio, fully equipped satellite TV lounge, coffe book tables area and tea time corner to chill out as well as the rooftop terraces and sofas to enjoy sunny Morocco have conferred the right intimacy for private events or cool vacations, the perfect hideaway to discover and take pleasure in Rabat… Discerning, attentive, discreet, the butler service is there to assist you during your stay whatever you may need… Its unique architecture and concept made its name easy: Artriad as enjoying life can also be an Art… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Art Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.