We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food at mid-range prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tajine Wa Tanjia

Tajine Wa Tanjia
9, rue de Baghdad, Rabat 10000, Morocco
+212 5377-29797
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Rabat
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“High quality food at mid-range prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A great little restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and friendly service, that serves a full range of authentic Moroccan dishes including tanjia (jugged beef). Excellent portion sizes, and each was delicious. Menus available in English if your French is not very strong, and alcohol is available.
We were given complimentary soups (Bisara) to start, and mint tea to finish, we was a lovely touch. They did bring out the wrong order for one dish, however, it was replaced swiftly. Well located, just a 2 minute walk from the train station in the centre of town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    5
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“That's a straighforward experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This restaurant is my "best value for money" on the medium-range. You'll find straighforward moroccan dishes, at really affordable rate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Two outstanding meals in one weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I traveled to Rabat with two friends, one of whom is a strict vegan, so sometimes we had some trouble finding her something to eat. After one great experience at Tajine wa tanjia, we ended up going back a second night and having a second, completely different, just as awesome meal.

The menu is large and varied, and there were many authentic dishes for us to try. The tanjia seem to be made during the day and run out if you have a late dinner, so keep that in mind. The atmosphere is very moroccan, dark and spicy and friendly. The live music was such a treat, and the staff was very patient with us, even when we stayed very late.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Tajine wa Tanjia recimended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Autentic lovely marrocan kitchen of high quality. I'm its frequent customer and I recomend this place for everyone who visit Rabat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful tagines and pastillas at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is my favorite place for Moroccan food in Rabat. It has charming ethnic decor, and the food is great and reasonable. I had a wonderful chicken tagine with almonds and honey, and a variety of great salads. I also tried the chicken pastilla which was filled with almonds and chicken and perfect.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tajine Wa Tanjia also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Tajine Wa Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tajine Wa Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.