We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food at mid-range prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tajine Wa Tanjia

Tajine Wa Tanjia
9, rue de Baghdad, Rabat 10000, Morocco
+212 5377-29797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 212 Restaurants in Rabat
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“High quality food at mid-range prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A great little restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and friendly service, that serves a full range of authentic Moroccan dishes including tanjia (jugged beef). Excellent portion sizes, and each was delicious. Menus available in English if your French is not very strong, and alcohol is available.
We were given complimentary soups (Bisara) to start, and mint tea to finish, we was a lovely touch. They did bring out the wrong order for one dish, however, it was replaced swiftly. Well located, just a 2 minute walk from the train station in the centre of town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamiePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“That's a straighforward experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This restaurant is my "best value for money" on the medium-range. You'll find straighforward moroccan dishes, at really affordable rate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Diplomat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Two outstanding meals in one weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I traveled to Rabat with two friends, one of whom is a strict vegan, so sometimes we had some trouble finding her something to eat. After one great experience at Tajine wa tanjia, we ended up going back a second night and having a second, completely different, just as awesome meal.

The menu is large and varied, and there were many authentic dishes for us to try. The tanjia seem to be made during the day and run out if you have a late dinner, so keep that in mind. The atmosphere is very moroccan, dark and spicy and friendly. The live music was such a treat, and the staff was very patient with us, even when we stayed very late.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phenchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Tajine wa Tanjia recimended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Autentic lovely marrocan kitchen of high quality. I'm its frequent customer and I recomend this place for everyone who visit Rabat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful tagines and pastillas at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is my favorite place for Moroccan food in Rabat. It has charming ethnic decor, and the food is great and reasonable. I had a wonderful chicken tagine with almonds and honey, and a variety of great salads. I also tried the chicken pastilla which was filled with almonds and chicken and perfect.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailing-Spouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tajine Wa Tanjia also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Tajine Wa Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing