We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zouhour

Save Saved
You added Dar Zouhour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Zouhour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Impasse Kaid Bargach | 4 Impasse Kaid Bargach Medina, Rabat 10030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Good property for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent 1 night here in the Mimosa room in January 2012. Locationwise, it is pretty central and close in walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The Dar is down a small street but the street is pretty well lit. There is also a keypad for entry so you don't have to worry about coming back after dinner and being let in. There are motion sensor lights throughout the Dar which keep it well lit.

All the suites are downstairs and the smaller rooms are on the 2nd floor. Mimosa was one of the smaller rooms. It was fine for a 1 night stay but anything longer, you should consider a larger suite.

We had breakfast in the courtyard as it was too cold to eat on the terrace. The disadvantage is that you cannot talk very loud as you may disturb the people staying in the suites.

Positives: strong wireless internet, eggs on demand for breakfast, freshly squeezed orange juice.

Negatives: There isn't a hair dryer in the room, you have to ask for it. The bed is on the hard side. I did find a small bug on the bed and noticed a gap under the door. The bathroom seemed to always be humid. No one helps you with your luggage. There isn't much storage space in the room or areas for you to lay your things out.

Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    47
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
62
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Location (north side of the Medina) is great. It is quite but yet it is a short walk from main streets of Medina and short walk to Kasaba and other attractions. Also, very safe and clean area.

Service is also good, especially Nouran, who gave me a Xerox copy of Medina map, and showed me all places of interest, best way to get to them, and how far they are, and she was very friendly, polite, and nice. Checked me in quickly, offered me mint tea, gave me code to entry door, and WiFi.

The Riad look good, especially the yard, but compare to other Riads in Morocco, not as Charming.

Breakfast was good and freshly made, including freshly squeezed OJ.

Here are the stuff I didn't like,

1) No Hair dryer, and in room safe box.
2) Very Weak WiFi signal in the room
3)No help with luggage, in check-in or check-out time
4) I didn't know there is a 3% credit card fee, unless you pay cash
5) traveling in low season, during breakfast, the yard was very quite and some soft music would be nice.

On the whole, the issues were all minor and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: don't take the down stair rooms, as you may have less privacy, and it could get noisy in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous ryad in the medina of Rabat, close to the kasbah. Charming interior, well-equiped luxuruous room, a warm welcome and great service ! Nice terrace. Delicious breakfast. What more could one wish for ? A bit expensive compared to ryads in other cities, but that seems to be the case for all ryads in Rabat...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Lovely Riad close to the old fort and medina. The rooms are beautifully appointed and probably have the best bathrooms of any of the Riads we visited on our Moroccan trip. Nora was helpful in terms of showing us the local attractions on the map provided.
The only mission was finding a reasonably priced restaurant for dinner.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

After having a fairly relentlessly hassled time in Marrakech and Essaouira, we arrived at Rabat station to find nobody touting to take us to our riad. Quite refreshing to not have to fight our way through the bidding throng, but ultimately difficult to convince any taxis to take us into the medina, so we hoofed it ourself. The walk to Dar Zouhour took us through the new town and into the old through bustling streets full of Rabatis who were going about their own thing and not trailing us telling us the way ahead was closed. Brilliant! 1st impression of Rabat was one of a real functioning city, not reliant on the tourist dollar and as a result a great place to visit.
Dar Zouhour is towards the north edge of the very clean medina and near the Kasbah. The staff were splendid and welcomed us with a calming cup of tea. The whole place was spotless and beautifully decorated. The rooms (we stayed in two) were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast in the central garden courtyard was excellent. Lots of good pointers to eateries etc given by the ladies working there, and a really relaxing overall experience. Not the cheapest place we've stayed in, but definitely worth it. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: We poked head in rooms on ground floor, which looked grand with big doorways, but open right onto co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt eliza
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Really nice Riad in a small "street" in the middle of the old Medina. Looks nothing from the outside, but once inside, it is charming! The area can seem quite dark & scary feeling at night, although we were assured that walking home late was quite safe. The owner was very helpful and friendly and gave us a good recommendation for dinner; a bit hard to find, but we asked locals for directions. Our room was beautiful (on the ground floor), and had an authentic Moroccan feel with lovely colourful tiled walls, gorgeous lamps, rugs, etc. Breakfast was very nice, served in the courtyard with lush plants, fountain, tiles, etc. We only stayed one night in Rabat, but enjoyed our brief stay there. Dar Zouhour is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

this hotel is typical Moroccan house, decor is awesome, rooms are clean, stuff is so friendly and helpful, the hotel in old city in morocco and the place is safe

Room Tip: rooms in ground is better than upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Zouhour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zouhour

Address: 4 Impasse Kaid Bargach | 4 Impasse Kaid Bargach Medina, Rabat 10030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zouhour 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zouhour, hosts' house medina of RABAT In the entered of the medina (60m of the parking lot) near the Ocean, the businesses of the street of the Consuls, the Kasbah des Oudaya; in 15mn in taxi of Royal Golf Salem; the owner Aline invites you to stay in Riad full of charm and very comfortable.Consisted of three consequences(suites) around the patio with private bathrooms, television, connection Internet, air conditioning chill; you can also choose one of three rooms(chambers) very colored in the floor, with private bathrooms, connection Internet, air conditioning chill.Library television, hammam and bring down solarium Of copious breakfasts give you the energy for day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Dar Zouhour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zouhour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.