We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of a Riad in the Old Medina of Rabat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kalaa to your Saves list
Riad Kalaa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a Riad in the Old Medina of Rabat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Riad Kalaa again recently - this time for a business event which I hosted there. Once again, I was delighted with the service and the quality of the food and the rooms!

The Riad Kalaa is tucked behind a large wooden door in a tiny alleyway of the Rabat medina. First-time visitors may wonder where they are being taken as they are guided to the riad. Inside, a lovely courtyard awaits with an atrium ceiling open to the sky.

Our conference brought together scholar from all over the world and so we took over the entire riad for almost a week. We relied heavily on the staff for accommodations, guides, reservations, and food service. It was an amazing week thanks to the Riad Kalaa group. The food was amazing - lunches were served in the courtyard with salads and seafood, kebabs and desserts galore. Great wines whenever we wanted them, tea service at our morning and afternoon breaks. Breakfast was a lovely spread of breads, omelets, fruits and yogurt. Everything was served on time, and with great style by the dedicated staff.

I also had dinner at the riad one night and the food was fantastic: stuffed squid with Moroccan salads and a nice Moroccan wine. The riad is beautiful at night with candlelight and lamps providing a nice ambiance.

This was my fifth stay at the Riad Kalaa. As always, the room was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. In addition, our conference meetings took place on the rooftop under awnings that protected the group from the sun. A very nice place to meet, indeed.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the ground floor that open onto the courtyard. The also have two-story suites an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sue,

We are glad to read your review and that you had a nice experience at Riad Kalaa.
This is always a pleasure to welcome you. You are at home!
We really enjoyed welcoming this conference for 4 days.

We hope to see you again in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    92
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
59
190
22
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

we seemed to be treated with annoyance & irratation upon our arrival. even after l showed the office staff the booking & subsequent visa card deposit that l had made with latitea, we were told we did not have a booking. we were eventualy upgraded to riad around the corner for one night until a room was vacated at kalaa the next day. sorry to say we were over the place by then. we had looked forward to spoiling ourselves here as it was the end of our two week trip around morocco, but sad to say it was a big let down! we did not even stay to eat at night but found a nice welcoming place in the medina.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Vicky,

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay there. There was in need a mistake at the reception desk and your reservation was not well treated. Apologies for that.
We hope to welcome you again in better conditions to show you our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

As part of the Virginia Tech conference, as well as my first time in Morocco, the staff was stellar and incredibly considerate. The service was phenomenal, the food delicious, rooms comfortable, and the atmosphere inviting. I wish I could've stayed longer. Thanks to everyone at Riad Kalaa and Riad Art for making our time there so special :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your nice comment. I will share it with all the team. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your collegues and we also had a great time with all of you.
We are definitely willing to have you back at Riad Kalaa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose Riad Kalaa (via online searches and Trip Advisor from our base in Dubai) to celebrate our wedding with family and friends who flew in from around the world, as well as my husband's family and friends from his home town of Rabat. The riad was private for our use for two nights, Friday and Saturday (the wedding party) and we filled all 11 rooms with our guests. The management of the Riad were very helpful in the months and days leading up to the party and group arrival.

We 100% recommend Riad Kalaa for such a party, we had 40 guests and the venue was the perfect size and setting with its beautiful courtyard and terraces. Even our local Rabati friends were impressed as they hadn't been aware of it. The event set up was perfect, including lovely florals all arranged by the Riad so minimal stress for us. We also had sunset cocktails on the terrace, with floating lanterns on the pool. The catering was superb, and the Riad's recommendations were excellent. We paid a corkage fee to bring in our own alcohol, which helped us to manage costs considerably. There was ample space for a DJ and lighting, and a small dance floor which was perfect for our needs. Throughout the party we were made to feel that this was something special not just for us, but for the staff too, especially when the girls all came out to chant the traditional Moroccan wedding wishes for us!

In terms of the Riad accommodation, we were delighted to host our guests there for the weekend.The interiors and styling are beautiful and elegant, such a surprise when you walk in from the alleyway outside. As we had booked the entire Riad for our guests, we had the benefit of seeing all the rooms, all of which are elegantly decorated and comfortable, with beautiful cool crisp cotton bed linen. Favourites were the Suite Etoilee and the Saharan Suites, for simple reason of space and light. The Suites Orientales are charming, with narrow wooden stairs up to the main bed and bathroom, and a seating area/second bed space downstairs. The regular rooms (Mille Parfums) are nicely decorated and have access directly onto the lovely terrace by the pool, but are smaller spaces. The rooms are scented subtly with candles and oil burners so the whole place is calm and spa-scented, not overloaded.

The sun terrace and pool are a haven of calm, and our friends and family gravitated there naturally... The Riad could add value (and make more revenue!!) by offering a more frequent check on beverages, and tidying the area. The management is careful to note that they are a guest house, not a hotel, and so don't offer poolside service as standard, however this would be an easy service for them to implement and manage.

There were a few issues experienced by my guests, a lack of hot water on a couple of occasions (although none of us actually reported this to the riad staff for them to resolve!) and a sense that the staff could be more active with the guests during breakfast and drinks service by the pool. It might be helpful for resident guests to have a front door key too, rather than wait in the street to be admitted, although this not a major inconvenience. Also worth noting that in several rooms (except Saharan) there is just a curtain between the bedroom and bathroom, which didn't bother the couples too much but maybe is awkward for sharers.

Overall I would happily recommend this Riad, and hope to return to visit again. It is a truly beautiful, memorable riad in a fabulous location to access old Rabat medina, the souks and the nearby Oudaiyas. If the restaurant is as good as our event catering, then this is also something I want to try on my next visit!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong staying here, but pay the bit extra and go for a Saharan Suite if you want a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Anna & Souhail,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this long comment. It was a pleasure for us to organize this party to celebrate your wedding with your friends and family.
I take your advice in consideration and we will train our team to check more regularly the needs of our guests.
Thank you also for the advice you gave concerning the rooms. I will definitly help future guest to choose their room.
We really hope to welcome you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September as part of a wedding party.
We had previously spent (based on tripadvisor) 8 nights at other riad's and hotels around morocco as part of our main yearly holiday. This was by far the most expensive riad and unfortunately the most disappointing....

Reasons I was disappointed...(.mainly due to the money spent...)
1) There was no hot water on the evening of the wedding. Also there were no fresh towels in our room so my partner went down to reception in just my beach towel...
2) we had ants all over the bed and when we told the staff they simply brushed them off the bed and laughed. This didn't seem to be a problem to the staff that there were ants everywhere...!
3) staff, as the other comment below says, we're unwelcoming. Something I had not experienced anywhere else in morocco.
4) took ages to get a beer and the service at breakfast was slow and nonchalant..
5) we got allocated a suite which in my opinion was smaller than any other standard room we had in other cities. No door to bathroom which was annoying

I don't like writing this for one reason only. My friend got married here and the wedding itself was amazing. It didn't impact the day in my opinion but one thing I will say is that there are plenty more amazing and welcoming riad's around morocco which I will be writing about next...
Unfortunately this riad has just lost that all important customer service...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay in Riad Kalaa.
I have talked to the team to let them know your remarks.
Concerning the ants, we have cleaned your suite and changed the sheets.
Please, do not forget that we are a B&B and not a hotel. We run it as a house and it may take longer than in a hotel to have drinks. We always serve it to the guests.

I am pleased to read that you had a nice moment during the wedding.
We hope to welcome you again in Riad Kalaa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've stayed for 4 nights in one of the "Les chambres aux milles parfums" rooms and we had a very disappointing and stressful experience because:
1. the room we were is was dirty and it look like it has been very superficially cleaned for years and the dirt is just pilling up
2. there is no door between the bathroom and the room (no other comments)
3. the bathroom was very moldy and smelled of mold
4. the staff do not speak English at all and they are very dismissive of the guests
5. MOST IMPORTANT: it is very expensive for what you get

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review concerning your stay in Riad Kalaa.
I am very sorry that you did not enjoyed it. I will take one by one all your remarks and find a solution on them by working with the team.
Concerning the curtain between the bathroom and the room, this is part of the decoration.

We hope to see you again to show you that we have taken on consideration everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in Riad Kalaa as a treat - the rooms are decorated amazingly and we had the best nights sleep by far. It us tucked away in the medina, easy walking to the souks, kasbeh and restaurants in the new town. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comment regarding your stay at Riad Kalaa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We hope to see you again at Riad Kalaa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.