We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! Anthony, Virginia Tech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kalaa to your Saves list
Riad Kalaa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Stay! Anthony, Virginia Tech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

As part of the Virginia Tech conference, as well as my first time in Morocco, the staff was stellar and incredibly considerate. The service was phenomenal, the food delicious, rooms comfortable, and the atmosphere inviting. I wish I could've stayed longer. Thanks to everyone at Riad Kalaa and Riad Art for making our time there so special :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your nice comment. I will share it with all the team. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your collegues and we also had a great time with all of you.
We are definitely willing to have you back at Riad Kalaa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    98
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
62
203
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose Riad Kalaa (via online searches and Trip Advisor from our base in Dubai) to celebrate our wedding with family and friends who flew in from around the world, as well as my husband's family and friends from his home town of Rabat. The riad was private for our use for two nights, Friday and Saturday (the wedding party) and we filled all 11 rooms with our guests. The management of the Riad were very helpful in the months and days leading up to the party and group arrival.

We 100% recommend Riad Kalaa for such a party, we had 40 guests and the venue was the perfect size and setting with its beautiful courtyard and terraces. Even our local Rabati friends were impressed as they hadn't been aware of it. The event set up was perfect, including lovely florals all arranged by the Riad so minimal stress for us. We also had sunset cocktails on the terrace, with floating lanterns on the pool. The catering was superb, and the Riad's recommendations were excellent. We paid a corkage fee to bring in our own alcohol, which helped us to manage costs considerably. There was ample space for a DJ and lighting, and a small dance floor which was perfect for our needs. Throughout the party we were made to feel that this was something special not just for us, but for the staff too, especially when the girls all came out to chant the traditional Moroccan wedding wishes for us!

In terms of the Riad accommodation, we were delighted to host our guests there for the weekend.The interiors and styling are beautiful and elegant, such a surprise when you walk in from the alleyway outside. As we had booked the entire Riad for our guests, we had the benefit of seeing all the rooms, all of which are elegantly decorated and comfortable, with beautiful cool crisp cotton bed linen. Favourites were the Suite Etoilee and the Saharan Suites, for simple reason of space and light. The Suites Orientales are charming, with narrow wooden stairs up to the main bed and bathroom, and a seating area/second bed space downstairs. The regular rooms (Mille Parfums) are nicely decorated and have access directly onto the lovely terrace by the pool, but are smaller spaces. The rooms are scented subtly with candles and oil burners so the whole place is calm and spa-scented, not overloaded.

The sun terrace and pool are a haven of calm, and our friends and family gravitated there naturally... The Riad could add value (and make more revenue!!) by offering a more frequent check on beverages, and tidying the area. The management is careful to note that they are a guest house, not a hotel, and so don't offer poolside service as standard, however this would be an easy service for them to implement and manage.

There were a few issues experienced by my guests, a lack of hot water on a couple of occasions (although none of us actually reported this to the riad staff for them to resolve!) and a sense that the staff could be more active with the guests during breakfast and drinks service by the pool. It might be helpful for resident guests to have a front door key too, rather than wait in the street to be admitted, although this not a major inconvenience. Also worth noting that in several rooms (except Saharan) there is just a curtain between the bedroom and bathroom, which didn't bother the couples too much but maybe is awkward for sharers.

Overall I would happily recommend this Riad, and hope to return to visit again. It is a truly beautiful, memorable riad in a fabulous location to access old Rabat medina, the souks and the nearby Oudaiyas. If the restaurant is as good as our event catering, then this is also something I want to try on my next visit!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong staying here, but pay the bit extra and go for a Saharan Suite if you want a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Anna & Souhail,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this long comment. It was a pleasure for us to organize this party to celebrate your wedding with your friends and family.
I take your advice in consideration and we will train our team to check more regularly the needs of our guests.
Thank you also for the advice you gave concerning the rooms. I will definitly help future guest to choose their room.
We really hope to welcome you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September as part of a wedding party.
We had previously spent (based on tripadvisor) 8 nights at other riad's and hotels around morocco as part of our main yearly holiday. This was by far the most expensive riad and unfortunately the most disappointing....

Reasons I was disappointed...(.mainly due to the money spent...)
1) There was no hot water on the evening of the wedding. Also there were no fresh towels in our room so my partner went down to reception in just my beach towel...
2) we had ants all over the bed and when we told the staff they simply brushed them off the bed and laughed. This didn't seem to be a problem to the staff that there were ants everywhere...!
3) staff, as the other comment below says, we're unwelcoming. Something I had not experienced anywhere else in morocco.
4) took ages to get a beer and the service at breakfast was slow and nonchalant..
5) we got allocated a suite which in my opinion was smaller than any other standard room we had in other cities. No door to bathroom which was annoying

I don't like writing this for one reason only. My friend got married here and the wedding itself was amazing. It didn't impact the day in my opinion but one thing I will say is that there are plenty more amazing and welcoming riad's around morocco which I will be writing about next...
Unfortunately this riad has just lost that all important customer service...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay in Riad Kalaa.
I have talked to the team to let them know your remarks.
Concerning the ants, we have cleaned your suite and changed the sheets.
Please, do not forget that we are a B&B and not a hotel. We run it as a house and it may take longer than in a hotel to have drinks. We always serve it to the guests.

I am pleased to read that you had a nice moment during the wedding.
We hope to welcome you again in Riad Kalaa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've stayed for 4 nights in one of the "Les chambres aux milles parfums" rooms and we had a very disappointing and stressful experience because:
1. the room we were is was dirty and it look like it has been very superficially cleaned for years and the dirt is just pilling up
2. there is no door between the bathroom and the room (no other comments)
3. the bathroom was very moldy and smelled of mold
4. the staff do not speak English at all and they are very dismissive of the guests
5. MOST IMPORTANT: it is very expensive for what you get

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review concerning your stay in Riad Kalaa.
I am very sorry that you did not enjoyed it. I will take one by one all your remarks and find a solution on them by working with the team.
Concerning the curtain between the bathroom and the room, this is part of the decoration.

We hope to see you again to show you that we have taken on consideration everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in Riad Kalaa as a treat - the rooms are decorated amazingly and we had the best nights sleep by far. It us tucked away in the medina, easy walking to the souks, kasbeh and restaurants in the new town. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comment regarding your stay at Riad Kalaa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We hope to see you again at Riad Kalaa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Riad is very nicely done. The food was amazing. The parking could be challenging since it takes few minutes from central parking. The rooms have over 20 feet ceiling decorated very well. The bathroom are adobe style sank bath . The kids loved the bath. The roof top pool has nice view. If you have kids make sure to call ahead for crib. The site manager was bit confused about kids. The other staff were very accommodating. Don't miss breakfast .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for have choosen to stay in Riad Kalaa. All the team is happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Concerning the crib, in deed this is better to tell us in advance by phone or email so that we arrange it before your arrival.
We hope to see you again in Riad Kalaa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just left this hotel after 1 night (July 29 2013).
I cannot really say anything good apartfrom the quaint decor.
On arrival we were treated as an inconvenience rather than a guest by the reception staff.
Our room was on the top floor beside the pool. As we walked in the room smelt musty and the bathroom had a very distict smell of mould. The stairs leading up were narrow and steep.
The room layout was terrible. The "door" to the bathroom was a curtain.
There was no TV, mini-bar or telephone in the room.
Worst off all, there was no hot water when we showered at 6:30am.
We had to leave early to catch our train so went to breakfast at the 7am start time. No sraff arrived untill 7:15 so we had to leave without breakfast.
I would not recomend this hotel in any circumstance. We have stayed in better 2 star hotels in Europe.
We have stayed in 2 star hotels in France that are better than this.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay in Riad Kalaa.

As for all the check-in, to welcome our guests, we offered you drinks and someone taked your luggage to your room.
I am sorry that the smell in the room was not nice. We will check the channeling to see if there is a problem.
Concerning the decoration, there are no door between the bathroom and the room but a curtain. I am sorry that the travel agency do not show you some pictures about the room. This is not our fault. In the room booked for you, on of the 1000 perfums rooms, the travel agency knew that there are no TV, no mini-bar. In any of our room is a phone.
Concerning the hot water, I know that there was a problem but why did you not told us at the reception? Same concerning the breakfast. At the check-in, we told the guest that if they need breakfast before 7.30 am, they have to let us know to be sure that everything is ready.

Finally,, this is sad that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Business Hotel in Rabat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#5 Family Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.