We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalaa

Save Saved
You added Riad Kalaa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kalaa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 37000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 hotels in Rabat
1 review
“Lives up to expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This Riad certainly deserves it high rankings. The staff are extremely polite, competetant, and efficient. The food is great. We stayed in one of the multi-level rooms with our two kids (4 yr and 18 month) and had plenty of space. The main terrace was so nice and relaxing we never discovered the roof top terrace and pool until it was too late.

Most everything was in walking distance, and if not was only a cheap taxi ride from the Riad (with the exception if you fly into Casablanca vs Rabat, which was a $70 1.5 hr vs $25 20 min taxi ride).

I do a lot of business travel, and this certainly would be appropriate for business travel. If you staye in atraditional hotel, you would miss out on an opportunity for a great "authentic" experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I thank you for your nice comment and all the details you gave that could be useful to future guests.
We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    79
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
170
20
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very beautifully decorated with a lovely courtyard to relax and eat in. Our suite, opening to the courtyard, was perfect and cozy with a lovely sitting area and a gorgeous spacious bathroom with a double tub. The food was delicious. This was our first night in Morocco, and it was a wonderful introduction. The upstairs patio has an incredible view out over the city , plus a small pool. We were thrilled with everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in Riad Kalaa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Riad Kalaa is perfection wrapped up in the walls of Rabat's old medina. Even before arriving, I was impressed by the helpful quick responses from the staff to my endless array of questions. Upon arriving I was immediately welcomed with fresh squeezed orange juice (yum!). Instead of having to stand around and wait to register and my room - I was able to relax in the beautifully appointed courtyard. My room was nicely arranging - filled with fresh fruit, water and a variety of drinks. Breakfast each morning was delicious with a variety of breads and other typical Moroccan dishes - and always some fresh orange juice and good coffee. I had the chance to eat dinner one night in the Riad and the food was excellent including the wine. There was always a staff member around (even late into the evening) to take care of any needs including a late night snack. My only regret was not taking advantage of the wonderful upstairs terrace while I was there.

I highly recommend the Riad Kalaa. Beyond the great accommodations, the staff (especially Laetitia) were always willing to help with my many many questions. Thank you for providing a wonderful oasis while visiting Rabat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
A big thank you for this comment! All the team is really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to answer to all the request of the guests to ensure a nice and relax stay for them.
Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

What a serene and beautiful oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Rabat. We stayed in the Riad for 4 days and every need was taken care of within an instant and always with a smile. The staff are professional yet incredibly helpful and willing to go the extra mile to assist. The welcome at the Riad was accompanied by a refreshing glass of mint tea (has to be tried) and a quick look at a map with the best places to visit clearly highlighted. Breakfast was amazing and can be eaten either in the tranquil courtyard or up on the roof tops. Simply the best place to stay and experience the real Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feeling about your stay in Riad Kalaa. We are really happy to read that you keep nice memory of your stay. We really take care of our guest.
Your remarks will really help the people who will pass by the page.
Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Riad Kalaa offers a beautiful, graceful, and absolutely comfortable accommodation in the old medina of Rabat, Morocco. I've stayed there four times and love it more each time. The rooms have incredibly high ceilings and are appointed in contemporary Moroccan style. The open central courtyard is beautiful. Food is excellent, staff is wonderful. I love it there! Will be back in September!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are really happy to read your comment concerning your satisfaction. We will try to make your next stay more memorable than the others! Looking forward to seeing you in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The room was great, the shower needed a little maintenance, and the toilet rocked on its foundation, but an excellent riad with lovely decor in the open interior courtyard / garden. Not so easy the find but excellent when you get there. Breakfast was delicious, the staff friendly and the service second to none. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will take a look at the shower and the toilets to make sure that everything is fine.

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few years ago and then again a few weeks for or one night. We stayed in one of the upstairs standard rooms. While smaller than the rooms downstairs, it was large enough for 2 people. The decor is beautiful. Such attention to detail, like the decoration on the tiles around the base of the wall, in the shower, etc. It is beautifully designed and well thought through. We had dinner at the riad and it was very good. Breakfast was varied and good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Responsable relations clients at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in details about your stay in Riad Kalaa. That will definitly help people.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your loyalty.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Riad Kalaa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 37000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rabat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815’s property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.