We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kalaa to your Saves list
Riad Kalaa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely friendly riad - smaller than others we stayed in, but memorable for the room on the roof near the pool and the fantastic dinner. Quite easy to find again after you've been led there the first time, and the medina easy to negotiate also. Lovely fruit in the room and nicely decorated throughout. We ordered our tagine for dinner when we arrived and both options were delicious, as where the Moroccan salads, breads and lemon puddings. We found the service informal and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Public Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your comment. I will share it with all the staff to encourage them.

Best Regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    103
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
65
217
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malibu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay , the staff is helpful and nice. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. The only problem seems to be Morocco when it rains a lot the bathrooms seems to stink a bit , we ran in to this smell all the time in Morroco. Breakfast is lovely. the Riad is located down a few lanes in the Medina, so you have to get your luggage down there , you can ring the Riad and they well come help you. Rabat is pretty safe and we never felt unsafe walking back in the evenings.the only thing that I can complain about is the really annoying music they stream all evening,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Public Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

I thank you for your comment. I am sorry about the smell in the bathroom. Concerning the music, we will put it down earlier to not disturb the guests' sleep.

I hope to welcome you again in Riad Kalaa,

Best Regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Riad Kalaa must be one of the nicest riads in Rabat (we spent only one night in Rabat, so we have only seen this one). It is a 'wow' place when you enter. What a tranquil, beautiful patio! The room (we stayed at La Favorite) was nice but a bit dark - but that is the case in many riad rooms. This riad is located in the medina, just five minutes walking from the Kasbah des Oudaias (one of the town's sights) and the ocean. Kalaa has a nice little pool on the rooftop, but unfortunately it was a bit too cold for the time of the year to enjoy it - must be great in summer!
Our only reason to score this place 'very good' and not 'excellent', is the hospitality (which was rather poor). The French lady who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful, as was the staff at the breakfast. However, the waiter who served us dinner was not friendly, even rude (we had agreed to have dinner at the riad since they would keep the table just in front of our room - handy when you have two babies who are already asleep - the guy couldn't care less that the table was taking when we arrived to have dinner). Another lady working for the management would also have benefited from a smile on the face (we got stressed when ordering dinner and finally gave up renting a car to go to El Jadida via them and took the train instead - a nice alternative actually). We're not staying at hotels to become friends with owners, we don't need to feel like being part of a family, but the overall feeling was not too good. A pity since it is really a marvellous place. As mentioned: 'very good' is in our opinion a fair balance between the 'excellent accommodation' and 'average to poor hospitality'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Public Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Christophe,

I really thank you to take the time to write a comment about your stay in Riad Kalaa.
I will tell about your bad experience about the hospitality to my collegues to remind that we always need to be nice, friendly and have the smile with our guests.
By the way, I am happy to read that you had a nice time in the suite with your children. We really hope to welcome you again in a nicer atmosphere.

Best Regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I only spent a single night at Riad Kalaa. It didn't disappoint.

We booked the room of stars which was their best room. It was quite lovely.

The entire Riad was pretty magic and that's where we would stay again if in Rabat.

Still what I will remember most fondly is frankly one of the best meals in my life. Wow! Duck with caramilised apple. The wine was also good.

You could take this for granted, but the staff were just lovely as well.

If you stay here, you will not regret it.

I had a massage for an hour. My wife's shout. Just lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. We are really happy to hear that you had a nice moment with us in Riad Kalaa.

King Regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I usually rate a hotel by its towel. The thicker, fluffier and soft it is, the higher rating it will place in my book. If this rating is solely used on Riad Kalaa, the riad (which is similar to best and breakfast) would sit comfortably high up there with five stars establishments.
But the towel alone is not only why I would rate this riad so highly. The entrance as you step into the big house welcomes you with warm lighting, the courtyard embraces you with soft music and the soft scent in the room seduces you.
I stayed here during my wife's baby moon at Etoille suite. Tatiana, the manager greeted us warmly and took us to the room, up a flight of stair. The suite is really nice with local details along the wall and animal skin rugs and heated floor beneath your feet. The sitting area outside the bedroom is filled with coffee table books of Morocco. Besides the bathroom that is a bit cramped, overall the details in the room is what boutique hotels around the world would envy. There were fresh fruit, fresh made cookies on tables and even rose petals in the bathroom. Tatiana even went the extra mile to fix my pants that was ripped the day before during the trip.
Dinner here is a set menu that would set you back 300 dirham per person, but we really enjoyed the fish tagine, which we tried and loved. Breakfast, which is included w the room rate consist of coffee, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, assortment of local warm bread and home made jam was also lovely. As it was winter, we had both breakfast and dinner downstairs, but there is actually an outdoor dining area and dipping pool at the rooftop.
Right outside the gate, you can wander around to the medina and souk which is great. This riad is just located minutes from both where you can get lost, and spend couple of hours finding your way back to this little haven. Overall, I'm extremely happy staying at this riad and glad my guides from Around Morroco travel agent suggested it

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Yudanta,

I really want to thank you for your comment. All the team is really happy to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in Riad Kalaa.

We try to offer the best services to our guests and be present at any time in case they need something. I will forward this message to the team, it will encourage them to carry on.

Thank you again and you will always be welcome in Riad Kalaa, with pleasure.

Kind regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
176 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first experience of a riad - situated close to the old Kasbah. It was dark when we arrived and following a young man (who we had met only minutes previously) through narrow dimly-lit alleys was a trifle un-nerving. However on arrival at the riad and were very impressed with what we saw inside. We sat on the fringe of a beautiful dining area and were served a glass of wine while our booking was sorted. After being shown to our room and depositing our luggage, we enjoyed a lovely 3-course meal for a very reasonable price. Our room was on the top floor of the riad, comfortable, quite spacious with full bathroom and beautiful Moroccan decor. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend this riad if you're staying in Rabat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

I am pleased that your first experience in a Riad was with us. I really want to thank you for your comment and will forward it to the team.

I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed the dinner.
We want that our guest live a real experience of Morroccan hospitality and feel really confortable in the Riad. We treat our guest one by one and answer as more as we can to their requests.

If you are coming back to Rabat, we would be pleased to having you as our guest again.

Best Regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Riad Kalaa the 2nd night of our 2 week Moroccan tour. I wish we had come here from the first night and had stayed 2 instead of one night. We stayed in a number of really nice riads during our trip, but this one stands out as a favorite. We received a warm welcome with tea and biscuits before being shown to our lovely rooms, all of which were on the ground floor. The atmosphere was very relaxing. I would love to return one day.

Room Tip: One of the ground floor Sahara suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

I thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment on our tip advisor page. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in the riad. We would be really pleased to welcome you again in the riad one day.

A warm thank you from all the Riad Kalaa team, who try to make your stay as perfect as we can.

Best Regards,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#1 of 39 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#8 of 39 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 39 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#6 of 39 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#11 of 39 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#2 Business Hotel in Rabat
#5 Family Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.