We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to spend a night...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalaa

Save Saved
You added Riad Kalaa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kalaa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 37000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 37 hotels in Rabat
dsm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend a night...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night 15/12 ...warm welcome by Sanaa wit mint tea n homemade biscuits. Quick checking, room was clean n good for my family wit two kids. Food was very good n the riad is beautifully decorated...keep it up the same standard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    78
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
56
170
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, IL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here the first night of our trip. The courtyard was gorgeous! We loved the seating, the lighting, just everything. We stayed in La Favorite which had one bed on the main level and upstairs had a second bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was really cool, except of course I hit my head on the entry decor (was a little low). We ate dinner here and it was just excellent. Breakfast was very filling and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Morocco. We arrived after dark and the Riad was beautiful and calming. The lights were dim and we loved the way the lace patterns of the lights reflected on the walls. (we might have been slightly delirious from travel). Our room was "La Favorite" on the first floor. It was wonderful. There is a full bed downstairs and a full bed and bath upstairs. The beds were very comfortable. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was lovely. The water was nice and hot and the pressure was excellent. Our guide phoned ahead and let the Riad know we would be eating dinner with them. The food was excellent. I had the chicken tangine. It was melt in your mouth good. Breakfast was also very good and included bread, crepes, hard boiled eggs, fruit and an aray of jams and honey. I would defintely stay here again. I can't speak to the location other than it was in the Medina. We left by about 9:30 in the morning and didn't explore much in the immediate area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was simply the best way to round off a trip to Morocco. We just loved the relaxed style and ambience. It's not as grand or tiled or crafted as the riads we stayed at in Marrakech and Fes. But this place just oozed tranquilty. The relaxing courtyard, the stunning roof terrace, the ambient jazz in the background just all contributed to a soothing atmosphere. And the food's great too. The seafood menu is excellent. For a Moroccan riad the decor is almost minimalist but works effectively. It's also easy to find from Bab Latour just by the Kasbah and makes a great base for exploring the Medina and for walking on the corniche. Woud definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Riad Kalaa was the first riad we stayed at on our Moroccan trip and it was a good place to start.
The owners and the staff are all of French origin and spoke varying degrees of English so my schoolboy french had to kick in .
The riad is very stylish and well appointed . We had a room on to top of the building which mean't climbing up stairs (something we became accustom to in Morocco) but this wasn't a problem.
We had dinner at the Riad which was fine and we were able to get a drink there too. Breakfast the next day was the typical breads with spreads,juice and coffee.
All in all we were very haapy at the Riad Kalaa and recommend it for a stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent only one night in this Rabat riad. By definition, these are rich families' residences in the olden days located inside Moroccan medinas that have been lovingly restored. They're squarish, with rooms downstairs, then rooms way upstairs, then a roof deck where they might have a pool or dining terrace. In the middle is a cute courtyard with perhaps a fountain or several fruit trees and all-weather sofa sets and chairs with tables. But keep in mind - they are inside medinas which means two things - one, they are hard to find and-or get to from the main roads which means luggage handling may be a problem, and two, given the tendency back then to always keep the exterior simple so as not to attract attention or envy, the entrances are nondescript doors which you had to bang on or ring the doorbell to get it opened. And even when the luggage gets inside, it's another matter to transport them up and don several flights of stairs.

Breakfast begins at 7:30 am and they serve different types of moroccan bread, served hot with nicely prepared butter and several jams and honey. Coffee was great. We had some communication problems - we were trying to ask for fired eggs which we saw the other table order. But the two ladies serving couldn't speak English and we couldn't speak French! We did get the eggs but we were never sure till they showed up.

The rooms are either on the ground floor or on the top floors, which, typically for riads, are quite high in elevation. Ours was on the small side so it took a lot of planning to get the luggage open, had no TV, no ref, but had an electronic safe. But the interior is pure old-style Moroccan which is so cute and quaint. There was no door but simply a draw curtain separating the bedroom from the toilet. The toiletries seemed to be native products - and quite effective. But there was no hot water, which we would later learn comes and goes since they have a limited supply and it takes hours to get the supply reheated. The room is equipped with a/c but ours was rather difficult to control - there was no way to avoid angling the vents so they didn't hit you directly. I found the mattress on the lumpy side. The lights are all old-style and very cute.

The roofdeck had a very small swim pool - or maybe that was a big tub.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our time at Riad Kalaa was definitely one of my favorites during the two weeks with our guide/driver from Morocco Overland around the country! The hospitality and helpfulness that the staff, especially the owner, The place is beautiful and one of our favorite Riad we stayed in Morocco.

The highlight for us was a cooking lesson with chef, the hotel's chef. Unusually, were the only guests dinning that night so we had the intimate experience of learning first how to cook couscous properly and later exclusively enjoying the fruits of our labour.the chef she where charming, fun and very passionate about what she does. It was a treat to spend the afternoon with her.

As we travelled through Morocco I fell more and more and deeper and deeper in love with the place and its people. Thanks a million to Morocco Overland for contributing so much to what has been an amazing Moroccan experience
Highly Recomand

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 37000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Business Hotel in Rabat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815’s property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;