We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Customer Service Elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Marhaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Marhaba to your Saves list
Riad Marhaba
3 rue Essam, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Rabat B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Better Customer Service Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

LOCATION: This riad is located in the middle of a maze and is not close enough to any souks are that are simple to get to. You have to get lost first to get anywhere. The directions they give you to arrive and to go anywhere are horrendous and their map is of no help at all. It is no where near to any restaurants.

STAFF: I found only 1 of out of the three or four staff could speak English. I found him to be friendly at first, but then moody, distant, unfriendly and unhelpful after. I felt unwelcome to ask any basic questions like "Where is..." and "what time do you recommend I go to....". He promised to help me out to the medina gate upon leaving and he was no where to be found. I never received any apology or explanation, even when I emailed management about this concern. I was lost and walked nearly 20 minutes to get a taxi whereas it would have taken me all of 5 minutes if the staff kept their word, and I almost missed my train. When I asked for directions, they gave me the most complicated directions and on the worst map. I stayed nearby at Art Riad and they were much more accommodating and hospitable and had a way clearer map. The staff seems to disappear at night, so if you need anything, good luck!


BEDROOM: I stayed in the Bahia Suite. The price for the room was very good. And the room was extremely spacious. It had a huge bed, extremely high ceilings, clean bath, an alcove for lounging, and single bed/couch with a coffee table, a two seater table and a wardrobe. The towels are very small and basic. Room cleaning service is provided everyday. The kids outside in the alley were very loud at night, sometimes until 2am. Closing the window will guarantee near silence. The room was cold due to the a/c and it wouldn't turn off when I pressed the power button. Yes, the room smells, but its just how the medina smells. The beautiful bedroom is the only reason this riad gets a 3 out of 5, otherwise I'd rate this place a 2.

BATHROOM: The bathroom is nicely designed in concrete and tile. There is good hot water. It is clean. No signs of mold.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is brought fresh for you. Most of it is the same every day with bread, jams, yogurt, fresh orange juice, mint tea, coffee etc. But don't ask any questions while they are preparing or serving it, or you'll get attitude.

WI-FI: Wi-Fi reception on my laptop was excellent from inside the room but not so great on the cell phone.

TV: No tv in the room, but there is a tv room downstairs on the main floor.

The riad: There are lots of stairs and the staff never showed me how to flip on the lights, so I almost fell down them a couple times. But the riad is very beautiful on the inside.

DINNER: No dinner is offered here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you find it difficult to climb steep narrow stairs
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    37
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
91
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We had very nice experience with this hotel. We was before in marrakech in riad as well, but wasnt so nice, like in rabat. Amine help to us buy shisha, from 400 Mad to 200 mad. He have time to help people, didn't see something like that before. Very clean, very beautiful read. Thank you Amine for nice time in Rabat. 2 the best days in marocco :) Arek and Kate. We really enjoyed!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in 3 riads during our trip to Morocco and this one was greatest of all. Air conditioner worked great and was not very loud, so we were able to keep it on at night time. Amine took cear of us very well, he gave as a map, showed what we should see, where to eat and answered all our questions. When in the evening we went to the roof terrace and asked him is he has a watermelon, we brought his watermelon and shared with all guests that were on the roof at that moment. I can't say anything bad about this riad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Danmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Riad is beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! The rooms are personal and romantic! Perfect for couples. The breakfast is served on the rooftop. Typical Moroccon, very nice.
It was only run by one host, he was a little to buissy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed four nights in Rabat and were pleasantly surprised with the city.
At the time, the Riad did not have a sign near the front door--but a neighbor helped us find the way. Cecile greeted us with some mint tea and showed us around. The breakfast is delicious and the Riad is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent the night here before leaving from the Rabat airport for our return home. It is located in the NE part of the medina, close to the Kasbah.The Riad courtyard is beautifully restored with detailed stucco, tiles and woodwork, and rises gracefully to the top upon elegant columns and arches. Terrace on the roof top was excellent! The room we stayed in (Chellah Family Room) was very spacious with its separate bedroom and living room, but plainly decorated. The other rooms looked more traditional Moroccan settings. Amine met us promptly to guide us to the Riad and was cheerful and helpful. One disappointment was that we did not get to try their breakfast. We got up early to catch our flight and had arranged for breakfast, but no one was awake and no breakfast appeared. Oh well. Still a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Morocco and I didn't really know what to expect, especially after reading the report from a previous reviewer about damp in the Bahia Suite, where we would be staying. I e-mailed Fred, the owner, and told him of my concerns and his reply was very reassuring.We could inspect the room and if we didn't want to stay he would help us to find alternative accommodation in the Medina with no charges. The room was lovely, just as shown on the website, and there was no trace of damp anywhere in the Riad. Yes,the drains in the bathroom did smell, but it is easy enough to cover them and keep out the smell. We picked up a car at the airport in Marrakech and found Rabat easily enough, unfortunately we couldn't find the Riad! All it took was a phone call to the Riad and our troubles were over when Amine came to find us and guide us to the car park. He helped us with our luggage and smilingly led us to the Riad. He is very friendly and welcoming and thankfully speaks English very well. He always made time to talk to us and answer our questions and he he gave us some excellent advice, especially about places to eat. After all the booking in formalities we were taken up to the terrace where we had our first taste of mint tea with some lovely pastries. Breakfasts on the terrace were a lovely way to start the day and the food was good and plentiful, freshly prepared in the terrace kitchen, with a good variety to choose from. Fred teaches at the local senior school but comes in to the Riad on his days off. He moved out of the Riad after his first child was born as young children are not exactly conducive to a quiet and relaxing holiday.He is a charming and cultured man who spoke to all his guests who were present at breakfast and we were delighted to be introduced to his wife, who called in as we were leaving. The Riad is very well renovated and Fred showed us an album of 'before and after' photographs and explained the trials and tribulations of living in the Riad throughout the renovation process. Altogether it was a wonderful experience to start our holiday in Morocco in this lovely Riad and the attention we received from Amine and Fred couldn't have been bettered. Amine insisted on helping us with our luggage back to the car park and if ever we return to Rabat we would have no hesitation in staying in Riad Marhaba again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as I have trouble sleeping and we were given the Bahia Suite where I slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Marhaba

Address: 3 rue Essam, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.