We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Marhaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Marhaba to your Saves list
Riad Marhaba
3 rue Essam, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Rabat B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Jewel in Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First time in Morocco with babies (after having lived in Rabat for some time).
Riad Marhaba is a jewel in medina.
Rooms are fascinating: perfect Moroccan style high ceiling, rectangular shape.
The terrace is just wonderful: relaxing breakfast looking at the life on the roofs of medina.
Staff very friendly. Nice owner.
One of the best and most welcome-back to Morocco we could have ever expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    37
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
91
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My brother and I just returned from Morocco last week. We stayed here for 2 nights. I NEVER write reviews but this place is worth the effort.

The place was not only well appointed, looked great and clean but also very welcoming and accommodating. Fred and his family did a great job remaking the place into a very cool, traditional riad. Fred agreed with Amine's restaurant recommendations so they're on the same page.

We also liked the laid-back aspect of Rabat and this place fits right in. No scooters whipping down this medina's narrow streets.

One of the best features, however, is Amine, the host ... very helpful around a tangled Medina and seriously interested in our comfort, area knowledge, etc. I think he had fun chatting with my brother who struggled with Moroccan Arabic and French - he'd been studying Arabic which wasn't so helpful in Morocco! Amine showed up all over the place - mostly when we were lost - easy to get lost.

Downsides? No hook for the shower head (saw this in other postings), longish walk from the train station - no problem for us but might be for others, out of propane for heaters (again, not a problem for us). All riad's can be noisy by nature so if you're not ready to share the experience, I'd head to a hotel (which can be even more noisy!)

I'd go back, hang out for a week and eat too much bread again.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms, i think. We arrived after visiting another riad which was full - it had TWO room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

There is nothing to complaint about this riad. The location is really good just 10 minutes walk to the souk and other tourist destination in medina area. 25 minutes walk to the train station. Amime the guy really make our stay comfortable. since this is an old Riad dont expect the room has soundproof system. The only bad thing is the internet connection really sucks in the first floor sabah room. other than that would reccommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Riad Marhaba. After the busy walk from the train station and through the medina it was terrific to enter the peaceful and beautiful riad. Our room was lovely and all the staff were excellent. A super laid back atmosphere.

Only downsides were weirdly nothing to hold the shower head up so have to grow an extra limb to apply soap, scrub and hold the shower. And I didn't notice at the time but they added tax on top of the booking.com rate (according to booking.com it should have been included). Just little things though, generally very good stay in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elocha, Propriétaire at Riad Marhaba, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
First all, we thank you very much for your comment and are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay in our house.
As to your remark concerning the city tax, I must say that it is clearly mentioned in the room details on booking.com that this amount is not included int the price.
I'm really sorry about the inconvenience and I do hope that we'll have you again in our house. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The possible downside to staying at any riad is the danger you’ll have noisy French tourists banging around and talking loudly inside what is essentially one house. This one is no exception.

I'm afraid it's starting the downward aesthetic slide of replacing burned-out bulbs with florescent bulbs. A large tube TV in the common room threatens the vibe and the odd music player pulling everyone into the tacky present. The building is lovely, but that’s no reason to charge the nutty prices.

A knowledge of industrial propane heaters are needed in the winter as well.

The kid running the place is great, happy to escort you in or out of the medina, both of which you'll need.

Room Tip: Higher the better, but smoke does rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here one night during a 8day trip in morocco.very nice hotel in a 200 year old building,a fine example of local architecture and the only hotel I be stayed that the keeper is worth himself a five star rate!!!!i ve never ever met one like amine who was keeping the riad as if it belonged to him!to the point now.location not easy but not very hard either.rooms smaller than in other riads I ve stayed and quite basic (no tv althought internet made it up for me) the bed a bit small for my size but comfy and the airconditioner small for the size of the room (left me a bit cold in the morning) but these are minor drawbacks during the experience (because this is what it really is) of staying at a riad especially when you have personnel like Amine to rely on!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

During a 3-week trip to Morocco, we stayed in 10 hotels/riads. By the end of our trip, we ranked Riad Marhaba as the best of all the places we stayed at.

The family who owns the riad is friendly and hospitable, and have done a fantastic job at renovating the riad (they have a photo album of 'before' and 'after' photos). Riad Marhaba is beautifully decorated, spacious, and has a lovely rooftop.

The breakfasts were delicious, some of the best we've had in Morocco.

I would definitely recommend Riad Marhaba.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Marhaba

Address: 3 rue Essam, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.