We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent riad and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Kebira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 hotels in Rabat
Gibraltar
1 review
“Excellent riad and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome by manageress Amina. Stayed in the Orangers room, great character, bed situated up on a mezzanine. Simple but good breakfast served by charming staff. Amina was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants, shops, etc. There are several signs to the riad which is just a short way into the medina off Rue des Consuls. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    63
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
92
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a wonderful welcome after our long journey. Before we got to "business" we were greeted with Moroccan hospitality- sitting in an amazing courtyard and enjoying tea and sweets.

The riad arranged for a transfer which was convenient as the driver took us as close to the riad as possible and then another person transferred us and our baggage through the streets of the Medina right to the door. A good thing- you don't want to get lost as your first experience but once you get your bearings the riad is easy to get back to.

Everyone made us feel welcome and comfortable and the rooms were fine. Note that most all riads are similar in that the windows open up on the inside towards the courtyard and this means that the lower rooms can be a bit dark.

Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay and would return if and when we return to Rabat!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very nice view from our window, perfect service from Amina, the decor was amazing. The food was excellent! We recommend it! This is the perfect settlement for a well erned vacation.The location couldn't be better, the hotel looks new, spotless, comfortable and has everything that is required from a high quality hotel (I should also mention the excellent breakfast) and the tea. But what makes this by far the best hotel in town is the staff. They will always welcome you with a genuine smile and their warmth makes you feel actually welcome and that they are happy that you are staying at their home, they are people you wish you could be friends with. If you accept one piece of advice, Darelkebira is -by far- your best choice in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dar El Kebira is a charming old guest house right in the heart of the Medina of Rabat. Traditional Moroccan architecture and exotic interior. The staff is wonderful, the food is delicious and the rooms are beautiful. It is a true haven of tranquility after a hard day's work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a small hotel in the middle of the Medina, definitely a place four couples and family. Very beautiful interior and exotic architecture. The service is very nice and professional. I loved to be there, but next time I want to be on leisure with someone special with whom I could share this beautiful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although we got a bit lost through the Medina, once we walked through the door we felt we had found a part of heaven. Amina and her staff were wonderful and so very helpful. The room was great and even had a little seating area for us to enjoy our fruit and dates. The place was clean and the Riad itself is beautiful. It was such a fantastic intro to Morocco for us. It is very close to the old Kasbah and the souks. Both breakfast and dinner were great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Truly charming hotel in the old city and a short walk to the Mediterranean Sea. Good food, friendly staff and Moroccan decor. Great location for walking, to the beach, historical buildings and the Medina filled with local color. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#3 Family Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#6 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Kebira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.