We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Kebira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off our Deluxe rooms!
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Rabat
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Moroccan gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dar El Kebira is a charming old guest house right in the heart of the Medina of Rabat. Traditional Moroccan architecture and exotic interior. The staff is wonderful, the food is delicious and the rooms are beautiful. It is a true haven of tranquility after a hard day's work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    63
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
93
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a small hotel in the middle of the Medina, definitely a place four couples and family. Very beautiful interior and exotic architecture. The service is very nice and professional. I loved to be there, but next time I want to be on leisure with someone special with whom I could share this beautiful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although we got a bit lost through the Medina, once we walked through the door we felt we had found a part of heaven. Amina and her staff were wonderful and so very helpful. The room was great and even had a little seating area for us to enjoy our fruit and dates. The place was clean and the Riad itself is beautiful. It was such a fantastic intro to Morocco for us. It is very close to the old Kasbah and the souks. Both breakfast and dinner were great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Truly charming hotel in the old city and a short walk to the Mediterranean Sea. Good food, friendly staff and Moroccan decor. Great location for walking, to the beach, historical buildings and the Medina filled with local color. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this beautifully riad for 1 night in October 2012. We had a room on the second floor (the only one without glass door). This room has two levels, when you enter the room there is a small living area with a single bed in front of you (this bed can be functioned as sofa), on the right is the entrance to the bathroom, which was not big but had sufficient space, water was hot and strong. On this level, there is a build-in mud table on the left side of bed and a closet beside it (see my pictures). There are deep steps leading to the second floor, where is the bedroom. It had a big firm bed, nightstands, lamps, TV and a small table ect. It has an open space so you can look down to the first floor (see my picture). WiFi was free and had good reception. The room had pretty traditional Moroccan decoration. It also provided a complementary fruit tray and 2 bottles of water.

The courtyard of this riad is very pretty. Breakfast was served on the roof top terrace, where one can have some city view. For breakfast, we had both western and Moroccan pancakes, bread, butter and verities of jams, juice, coffee and tea, as well as Moroccan yogurt – very tasty. Staffs were friendly and attentive, good service.

This riad is located in the medina, very close to the Kasbah Bab Oudaia. Coming out from riad, turn left and following the alley, 3 minutes late you are in the main alley, from there turn left again to reach the main street. The Bab Oudaia, Musee des Oudaia, andalusian Garden, El Alou cemetery and the Atlantic Ocean are few minutes away.

Highly recommend this riad if you like to stay in the old part of city.

Note:
Ask hotel, or when you booking, to give you a room in one level if you have problems with steps. I saw two other rooms on the 2nd floor are at one level.

The con in our room is, if you need to go to the bathroom at night, you have to go down and up these steep steps.

When you come out to the main alley, look at the sign for this riad, it is above the door of the entrance. Otherwise, it is very easy to get lost when you come back from the sightseeing or shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our trip start on 10/6/12 thru 10/15/12 and this riad was our first one.It was a very good start.Clean, friendly staff and beautiful in each corner.We had dinner here, delicious meal, with a very cozy enviroment and breakfast on the top of the roof.The mint tea and the orange juice in the morning were a "must".Very charming, quiet and elegant place.We loved everything.With the guide was easy to reach the Riad El Kebira but without it is trick because the Medina has small and narrow streets.We cannot thank enough the manager and all staff for the great service.Outside the Riad you find a street for shopping and because it is Rabat, the capital,it tends to be more expensive but very great merchandises. We high recommend this Riad and enjoy your trip. Marcia, Rosi & Pedro from Brazil.

Room Tip: The one in the back on the ground level . Quiet, private, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When in Rabat, don't miss the opportunity to stay in the medina in a charming, authentic, intimate dar. Rooms surround a center courtyard and are decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast is served on the roof top terrace overlooking Rabat. The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rabat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Family Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#6 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Kebira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.