We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad to stay in Meknes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Filalia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meknes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Filalia
Save
You added Riad Filalia to your Saves list
18, Derb sidi amer bouaouada | kaba souk, Meknes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Lebanon
1 review
“Excellent Riad to stay in Meknes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Agreable and very convenient! Excellent price/ quality ratio!

Anouar El Filali is a very professional and hospitable owner and manager. He was always ready to give us the best tips and help to discover Meknes and its surroundings.

My sister and I spent a wonderful time in this Riad and I am sure we will stay there again in case we go back to Meknes as we felt at home as soon as we got there! Besides the place is 2 minutes walk from El Hedim square and 4 minutes walk to Bab Mansour the entrance to the old Medina, very convenient to reach the nearby touristic areas and taxis and yet very calm at night!

We highly recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

My wife and three year old daughter stayed in the suite here and had an exceptional experience. The owner, his family, and staff were extremely welcoming, the food was delicious, and the location ideal within the medina was easy to find as well as quiet and peaceful. The owner went so far as to drive us to and from the train station. We also paid him a modest sum to take drive us to Volubulis and Moulay Idriss. Our favorite riad in Morocco. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

We stayed two night is this recently renovated riad. As we were the only guests we had the whole riad just for ourselves. It has two nice simple single rooms and one funky suite. All rooms are clean and nice and have simple furninshing. The common area is brilliant. We were picked up in the train station and later taken back there. Service is also great as the housekeeper lives on the top floor of the riad. Breakfast was the best we had in Morocco - they even went to buy crossaints just before the breakfast so they would be fresh and hot for us.

The riad is in the medina, just one minute walk from the main mosque and hammam and 5-10 minutes to all other main tourist attractions.

  • Liked — Its character and location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

When my husband & I decided on a weekend getaway to Meknes, I contacted Meknes' 2 flashiest & most expensive riads as well as the Riad Filalia - the new kid on the block. Of the 3, the Filalia was the only one to return my email and, at several hundred dirhams a night less than its competitors, we're glad they did. A family-run riad, its four rooms are tastefully decorated and provided a cool oasis from Meknes' 40 degree heat wave. Located just steps off of the Place el-Heddim, you feel like you're off the beaten path but within a stone's throw of everything. The owner, his wife and their staff were gracious and helpful but mindful of our privacy. Breakfast was included and although simple - Moroccan bread, jam, eggs and tea/coffee - was served in the riad's gorgeous atrium. We both highly recommend this delightful riad.


  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Filalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Filalia

Address: 18, Derb sidi amer bouaouada | kaba souk, Meknes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Meknes
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Filalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.