We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Authentic feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Palais Didi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Palais Didi to your Saves list
Riad Palais Didi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Dar Lakbira, Meknes 5000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Meknes
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Authentic feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I loved almost everything about this hotel. The ONLY things I didn't like were: Staff didn't speak english, and WiFi didn't work in room

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We chose this Riad because of its look and decoration. It's room looks like an ancient palace in "One thousands and one nights", rich and lavishly decorated in traditional morocco style. Room is very spacious (we have one of the suite) and with huge bathroom and big tab. But it uses a water heater in the bath room. It quickly ran out of hot water so second person had to wait 30 minutes for water to be heated.

Breakfast was slow but good. Service was virtually not there. The forst night, we asked front desk for dinner recommendations and he told me that restaurants in town were not good and expensive (over 200 MAD per person) and recommended us to eat at hotel which cost the same. We didn;t take his advice and went to the restaurant he said was bad and expensive. It turned out to be excellent and only costs us 190 MAD total for two. Next morning when we checked out, their credit card machine failed to work. We ended up paying with our debit card. We left out luggage at the front desk since we planned to tour the medina in the morning and take afternoon train. When we got back, we found front desk was not attended. We were lucky that our luggage was still there. We were glad we only stayed there for one night. The riad was extremely beautiful but is lack of management.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

very nice place, the 4 big rooms are in the ground floor, lovely courtyard. rooms in the first floor are smaller.do not miss the view from the terrace,the staff is helpful. staff in tourisme industery is not well paid except guides.need to tip porters.

Room Tip: get a huge room at the ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nice riad. Beautifully styled. Good service and a very nice breakfast. Location is fine and nice and quiet. Room was very spacious. Only downside is that the hot water ran out pretty quickly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The palace was once lovely, now a little dusty/sticky. Our room was enormous, ditto the bathroom - and the staff did try but were a little hapless. In fairness we arrived during the celebration of Eid Al Adha and the riad was not, perhaps, fully staffed. Again, they tried, but we experienced much, much better service and quality for the same price or less in every other riad we stayed in ( a total of seven in various cities). If I had it to do over, Fez is 30 minutes away by train. The Riad Le Calife in Fez is the same price and fabulous. Just make sure there is time to get to Volubilis, see Bab Mansour, the Agdal pool and the ruin of the stables. Dinner on the square in Meknes is a rip-off by the way. They have a printed menu with fixed prices and then tack on a mysterious service charge that is nowhere disclosed and almost doubles the price. In Morocco you need to check and double check prices for everything, preferably before you consume.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We only stayed one night at this Riad as part of our tour of Morocco. The rooms were large, linen of good quality and the central courtyard a wonderful oasis upon arrival and for meals. Breakfast was a treat, do not miss out on the moist buttery cake even if thats not your usual breakfast fare. Central to the tourist destinations of Meknes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

I have been to Meknes a few times and tried a few different hotels. But I have found my favorite in Palais Didi - here I got great value for the money. Stayed 5 nights this October and felt more comfortable and welcome there than at any of the other hotels. Genuinely friendly and caring staff. Had two fantastic dinners there on the rooftop terrace and was blown away by the authentic atmosphere with apparently many locals also visiting, which I always take as a sign of quality.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Palais Didi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palais Didi

Address: 7, Dar Lakbira, Meknes 5000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Palais Didi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Didi is a descendant of sultan Moulay Sulaiman and grandfather to the present owners. Didi had 4 wives, each of them had her own quarters on the ground floor of what is now referred to as Riad Palais Didi. Today Palais Didi is a real masterpiece of Moroccan craftsmanship. Restored in the purest Moroccan style, it is organized around a large patio and a nice fountain where you would eventually refresh during the long summer days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Palais Didi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Palais Didi Meknes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Palais Didi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.