We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Atika Meknes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Atika Meknes to your Saves list
Riad Atika Meknes
11, Derb Elkatib, Kabet Souk, Touta, Meknes 50030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's hard to describe just how delightful it is to stay at Riad Atika. Certainly many other reviewers have described it better than I could, and indeed the reviews on tripadvisor were one of the main reasons we picked it for our time in Meknes. Our first visit to Morocco, and we stayed at a variety of (styles of) Riads in Fes, Rabat, Marrakesh and Meknes.

There's remarkably few hotels that I've stayed at on my travels that I'd make a point of returning to, but this is definitely one such. We both felt instantly and genuinely welcomed, our hosts were very helpful and quite delightful, the private and common areas simply exquisite, and the location is very hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
34
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Jacques and Atika were super helpful and friendly, stopping for a chat to hear about our day and to learn about our everyday lives as well as offering advice, assistance and even translations during our stay in Meknes. The Riad is just beautiful, decorated with traditional Moroccan furniture, with loads of common areas to enjoy so you are not restricted to just your own room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Jaqcues and Atika were such gracious and helpful hosts in the wonderful city of Meknes. The riad is perfectly positioned in the medina and nothing was too much trouble for them. Lovely breakfast and fantastic terrace to gain your bearings from (not to mention enjoying the delicious mint tea). Great selection of rooms that Jaqcues was happy to let us choose from.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was my third stay at the Riad Atika. When a hotel reaches the level that you feel as comfortable there as you do at home, you know that it just can't get any better. Way beyond the pleasing accomodations is the graciousness of the hosts. Jacques and Atika are wonderful people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Riad is located in Medina! There was great owners- told about history of Meknes, very intelligent people. Riad have really big and nice terrace! I have been in several Riads and this i think was the most beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau SAR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Gosh! I had the best time ever in this Riad during my 35 days in Morocco! I've stood there for 4 days and I've wished I had more time! I really felt home not only because the owners Atika and Jacques were fantastic but their place is amazing: excellent location (in the middle of the historic medina), excellent rooms, clean, cozy, and beautifully decorated in Morocco style. They made me feel home away from home and helped me with everything I needed inside/outside the medina. When it was time to continue my travelling I kinda felt sad to leave. I definitely recommend this Riad to everyone. Hope to go back again. Insh'allah!
Love from Macao SAR (China)
Jacira Monteiro

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I can back up what everyone else on trip advisor has said about this place. The riad is very nice, spotlessly clean and has a huge variety of rooms to cater for all types of visitor - including cheaper single rooms which I appreciated. The location is great, just inside the medina and close to the main square. But it's the hosts who make this place - they are SO friendly and welcoming and made my stay so enjoyable as a result. They have travelled a lot themselves and seem to have a natural sense of how to run a great guest house. Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Atika Meknes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atika Meknes

Address: 11, Derb Elkatib, Kabet Souk, Touta, Meknes 50030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the medina of Meknes away from the noise of modern life, builded the time of Sultan Hassan MARINI in the year 1333 and restored for your comfort without disturbing its historic values.Surrounded by the great mosque, the madrasah Bouananya, the place El Hedime, Bab El Mansour, Kabet Souk the animated Market in the medina of Meknes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Atika Meknes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Atika Meknes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.