We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true old riad, helpful owners, fantastic location - this is the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La maison d'a cote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad La maison d'a cote to your Saves list
Riad La maison d'a cote
25 derb Lakhouaja, Meknes 50000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Meknes B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A true old riad, helpful owners, fantastic location - this is the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Riad La maison d'a cote for one night on our 3 week trip around Morocco and would HIGHLY recommend it if you go to Meknes. It actually is a real 'Riad' (not just a Dar) and was one of the largest and most beautiful family-run Moroccan houses we stayed in.

The door to the riad opens into a huge courtyard with orange trees and is open to the sky - a perfect place to relax. Our room was on the ground floor and was seriously large and very comfortable. The riad was clearly historic and had a lot of original architecture around but had strangely been renovated in a very modern way with modern furniture. Different to most other riads you will see but I think this is because it really is their family home.

We were the only people staying at Riad La maison d'a cote at the time (apart from Thami and his family) so our time there was very quiet and peaceful. It was just unfortunately that we only could stay for one night!

The location of the riad is very very good - a short few minute walk from the main square in the old town and literally in a quiet side street off one of the main souks - just perfect for us.

Thami had emailed us to confirm our booking a few weeks before we arrived and sent us his phone number and told us to call him when we arrived in town. When we arrived we called him and had no problems organising an easy place to meet which was very much appreciated. Thami was truly a nice helpful man.

You won't find the riad by yourself so it’s best to meet Thami when you arrive. But once you are shown how to get there it will be relatively easy to find on your own.

Meknes reminded me a lot of a 'mini' version of Marrakesh in its layout with a large central square and market streets coming off it in all directions.

Breakfast was the usual Moroccan pancakes, jams, orange juice and coffee - no complaints.

Thami even helped us look up the train timetables from his computer and showed us where we needed to go exactly on a map which was much appreciated.

Overall I would definitely stay at Riad La maison d'a cote again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here at the peaceful Riad La Maison d'a cote in Meknes.
Everything was great, the owners were very helpful( guided us to the riad, helped with directions to other places and were really just a lovely couple with a sweet little baby daughter). The outdoor courtyard was tranquil with orange trees and tables and chairs/loungers ( a great place to sip your mint tea). Our room was up some stairs but it was comfortable, cosy and very clean. We had a small adjoining bathroom which was fine, a shower head holder would have been handy but I don't think they are very common in Morocco. Overall we loved spending time here, as it truly felt like a little idyllic escape from the outside world.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great hospitality. Although Riad was not accessible by car, host picked us up after SMS, call and guided and helped us with suitcases, it was a delight to enter the riad. Open courtyard with orange tree and spacious. Ground floor large room in traditional decor.
Good value and splendid breakfast. Meknes is a fascinating city and a great starter before entering Fes and Marrakesh.
Hope to return one day.
Karin et Mark (Australia)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January, 2013. The owner and his wife manage this well run accommodation and are always available to offer advice and "tourist tips" as what to avoid and what is interesting to see. We arrived in a downpour of rain and were soaking wet when we got to the Medina from the train station. A quick telephone call to the Riad and the owner gave us precise instructions where to wait for him to lead us to his Riad. Upon arrival he had a fire going in the commons area in order that we could warm up and dry our clothes and luggage...he even provided a gas heater for our room to take the chill off.

A good place, a great location, clean and a damn friendly staff....recommended.

Room Tip: As I recall, all the rooms face a an enclosed central courtyard...and my guess is that they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Riad is well kept and tastefully decorated. The atmosphere is relaxing and in keeping with the more laid back vibe of Meknes in comparison with it's sister city Fes. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean and beautiful. I only stayed here a night, but could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, België
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The owners create a nice and very quite atmosphere in an amazing setting. The rooms are well decorated! You even wouldn't leave the Riad anymore.

The breakfast and dinner they cook on request is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent one night in this place, and, having now finished our trip in Morocoo and having stayed at few other places, we know we should have spent few extra nights in Meknes at this riad.


The room we had - double room, terrace side - was spacious, cool, with beautiful design elements. same to be said about the courtyard - a great place to relax. They also have a 'living room' in one of the other rooms facying the courtyard, where you can chill, listen to music, eat. On the food topic, we had the best tangine there (which had a downside-we stayed in Meknes in the beginning of the trip, so all other tangines during the trip were a bit if a let down).

The owners are a welcoming couple, who do their best to help with everything needed, while not being aggressive in selling services/trips, etc.

Highly recommended both as base camp for visiting the region and as chill-out / recharge place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La maison d'a cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La maison d'a cote

Address: 25 derb Lakhouaja, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad La maison d'a cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La maison d'a cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.