We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Ma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meknes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad El Ma
Save
You added Riad El Ma to your Saves list
4, derb Sidi Besri | Ancienne Médina, Meknes 50000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt am Main
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Charming oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at one of the suite rooms at courtyard level. Nice decoration, size of room and bathroom was fine. Everything was clean. Some smell of - we think - cats in the room, but okay. The riad itself is very nice renovated and decorated. The courtyard is beautiful. Two big terraces on the roof, compared to other rooftop pools in Marroco this one is very big. The riad is centrally located and easy to find, after first help. Public parking on the street is also easy to find (streets without big traffic). One will pick you up there. The ladies who manage the riad are very friendly and their cooking is suberb. We had one of the best tahjines we got at Marroco. Meknes is good for a day especially as a starting point before going f.e. to Fes. Everything at the Medina is smaller and more relaxing than Fes, but the last one is the real highlight of the four royal cities. We looked at some other riads at Meknes. In our opinion Riad al Ma is one of the best options at Meknes, especially if you consider value money relation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    35
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
153
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed there for just 1 night with a friend and I regret that it could be more nights! The riad is an authentic Moroccan house, reformed recently and with a very beautiful architecture and decoration.
The room we get was quite bit small and simple, but It was ok for us. There as a blanket of wool sheep that was really warming. Never seen that before!
The staff is what makes the place even more special. Little Amina is a very sweet person, and welcomed us with a delicious dinner with real Moroccan food. The breakfast was also amazing! Fruits, coffee and milk, different types of Moroccan breads, eggs, jams, and so on. Best breakfast we get in our entire trip.
Besides, she was very helpful explaining us how to walk in the medina, arranged us the taxi to take us in the train station and the tour to Vollubilis.
Lovely stay at Riad El Ma!
Thank you, Amina and Francis (who helped us a lot before we get at the riad).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Riad El Ma in Meknes during a one week vacation in Morocco. The riad is charming, beautifully decorated and well-maintained. We had the ground-floor yellow suite, which is spacious and comfortable, and private even though its windows open onto the central courtyard. Our hosts were delightfully welcoming, Amina was very willing to give suggestions on what to see and tips on transport options to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss, and offered (without insisting) to arrange a private "grand taxi" to take us to both. (We opted for taking communal transport: 7 people squashed into a shared "grand taxi" - cheaper but not particularly comfortable nor safe.) The food served in the riad was excellent, some of the best we had in Morocco. The riad itself is well-placed, a little way into the Meknes medina but easy enough to find, once you know where to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed there with my wife and a small baby son (1.5 yrs old). Had an incredible time. The service is above expectations. First, food - amazing. The cooks are great. Food is fresh and delicious. Priced reasonably well - definitely no reason to go out. Second - rooms. When we came, our son was a little bit sick. The owner of the Riad has upgraded us to the suite and we definitely loved it. The rooms are gorgeous as the riad itself too. Finally - the service. The smiles, happy greetings, extra steps taken by ladies make you feel like in a family. Actually, when after leaving the Riad we have forgotten some small things, the owner has arranged its shipment to Marrakesh at his own expense and even included a small New Year present. What can I say - service is above the expectations. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Riad El Ma! The girls, Amina and Amina are wonderful and excellent cooks.. The riad is beautiful decorated, nice breakfast, good service, lovely view, small swimming pool and good ideas for places to visit; we would have loved to stay there for a few more days..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed with Riad El Ma. The building itself is beautiful, just how you imagine a riad to look. Meknes is a nice little town, less hectic than Fes or Marrakech but still with the medina and souks.
Got lost once trying to find the riad but as the souk is quite small, once you've been there a few hours it starts to make sense. Breakfast was great, served just outside our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohar, Oman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Location and room - It's location is great, since it is in the medina but not too far from the main square. Our room on the first floor was spacious and very well decorated. The decor of this riad is excellent with beautiful pieces of furniture and curios everywhere, each piece selected with a very discerning eye.

Service and food - The manager, Amina, and her niece Amina, are very good hostesses and the care is very personalized. This was the only place we were welcomed with a large bowl of dry fruits, a variety of delectable cookies and the tastiest Moroccan mint tea we had during our 12 day vacation, as against a small bowl of peanuts or a few cookies with tea in most of the other places. Dinner was very tasty and breakfast was sumptuous.

What was missing - shower gel, shampoo and moisturizer.

On the whole, this was the best riad we stayed at in Morocco and we highly recommend it.

A tip for first time travellers to Morocco - riads that are located in the medina are not accessible by car. Your luggage will be transferred to a hand cart at the entrance to the medina and taken to the riad. It is good to travel light or with lighter pieces of baggage, since the bags have to be carried up and down the stairs, which in most riads are rather narrow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Ma

Address: 4, derb Sidi Besri | Ancienne Médina, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad el Ma guest house is located in the heart of the historic city center, a few steps away from the town’s most famous monuments such as the beautiful Bab Mansour gate and the Bouinania Medersa.In the delicious atmosphere created by running water and foutains, you can relax in a fully renovated “Riad”, a traditional moroccan mansion built around an open courtyard. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Ma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.