We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Zahraa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Zahraa to your Saves list
Ryad Zahraa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5 Sidi Abdellah el Kassri Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Meknes B&B and Inns
guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favourite riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

First place we stayed and after 3 weeks of travelling around it ended up being our favourite. Right in the middle of the medina but still nice and quiet (but surrounded by mosques so very loud at prayer times!) really well decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The folks at Riad Zahraa were very nice. When we still hadn't checked in hours after we said we would, they called. Our train broke down and we didn't know how much longer we would be. The riad told us to call them when we arrived in Meknes and they would send someone to meet us outside the medina (so that we wouldn't have to navigate our way to the riad after a stressful train ride).

Our room on the top floor was on the small side, but it was very quiet. The riad itself is very large and the common areas are spacious.

The staff was very helpful and assisted us in arranging a taxi to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Riad Zahraa is nicely presented although the rooms are small and I found my four night stay to be very noisy (from next door neighbours). Communication with staff is limited unless you speak French and it is difficult to get advice. The breakfast is standard Moroccon/French fare. Overall I feel it was definitely not worth the 40 Euros a night I paid...I found clean, comfortable and quiet riads throughout Morocco for half that price. One consolation is the small restaurant Konouz Al Madina next door which does serve top quality traditional Moroccon food in a quiet and
comfortable environment (just remember to bring your own wine).
Will, Australia... 20/09/12

Room Tip: If you must go there opt for a room well inside the riad away from outside walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at this Riad for one night on our recent two week trip with Real Morocco Tours. The riad is located in the heart of the medina, just a few minutes walk from the central plaza.

The riad is close to the markets and restaurants, and its location down the maze of laneways gives you a true appreciation of what it is like tyo stay/live in an ancient Moroccan city.

The riad itself is authentic - much better than staying in a hotel - and the service is very very friendly and welcoming. The food (breakfast) is also a great way to start the day. The rooms are quiet, and face out to the central (indoor) courtyard. You can also walk to the terrace to see a great 360 degree view of the Meknes skyline.

Room Tip: Get one of the local porters to take your bags down the laneways, they're very efficient and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in a room on the top floor. It was ok for one night. It didn't feel too clean though. Everything else was good. The breakfast and dinner were great! The common area were nice, and the staff are really friendly and hospitable!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We very much liked our stay in RIad Zahraa. It wasn't difficult to find with the help of the friendly locals. They still try to sell you things, but do so with a much less aggressive tactic than in other Moroccan cities. They will show you the Riad and ask you to come visit them afterwards.
The Riad is well located in the nice and relatively easy medina of Meknes. When you enter you will be astonished by the beauty of this place. There are decorations everywhere. You will be welcomed by the hospitable staff and tea will of course be served. They have a beautiful terrace with a magnificent view over all of the medina, which you're in the middle of.
Our room was nice and quiet, we could choose between different ones. The bathroom was clean, spacious and there was hot running water. The only comment we have is that the holder for the showerhead wouldn't keep it in the same place, which made it less comfortable to take a shower.
The breakfast was very good: everything you would expect if you've been in Morocco for a few days, but here there's home-baked cake every morning. And it is delicious.
And a minor detail: the creditcard machine appeared to be nonfunctional so we had to pay in cash.

All in all: would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We found the place on tripadvisor but didn't book it in advance because we were planning to follow our LonelyPlanet guide concerning accommodation in Morocco. Fortunately we noted the adress of this Riad in our book as a backup.
We only had one night to spend in Meknes otherwise we surely would have extended our stay in this Riad. We were welcomed by very friendly staff!! The rooms and the roof terrace were amazing and the breakfast was excellent! All of our questions were answered with a lot of patience and usefull tips to make our stay in Meknes even more pleasant.
Riad Zahraa is a well kept secret in Meknes Medina you certainly must pay a visit!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Zahraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Zahraa

Address: 5 Sidi Abdellah el Kassri Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Zahraa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zahraa is an andalusian guest house situated in the heart of the medina in Meknes, Morocco. Its proximity to hammams, souks, mosques... makes it an ideal place for cultural enlightenment. It is composed of two suites and four rooms, a pacio and a splendid terrace with a view on all the medina. Most of its furniture and decoration are deliberately intended to allow tourists discover real Moroccan arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ryad Zahraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Zahraa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.