We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only ate here, so this review is for the food.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idrissi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Idrissi to your Saves list
Riad Idrissi
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 db Lalla Sti Hennou, Meknes 50000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Meknes B&B and Inns
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We only ate here, so this review is for the food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ate our way through Morocco over a period of 14 days. All ranged from either good to excellent, except for this place. The price set menu for three courses included some salads that were inedible, a meatball tajine that was also inedible, and some grapes and melon..all for the price of 150 d which is equivalent to $19.50 per person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very friendly staff very clean room nice decor they do laundry and dinner, although for a price. Info on website was confusing as a bath was mentioned for our room but there was only bathroom with toilet and good shower. We had a room on the first floor, which is probably better than the downstairs rooms. Anyhow altogether a nice atmospheric place in the medina for a budget price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This would be a five star review if the bed had been a little less like the characteristic Moroccon rock-mattress! This is a beautifully decorated riad, and the owners are very polite and kind. Very helpful that there are signs in the medina pointing the way to find the place. A decent breakfast is included in the reasonable price. A fan in the room was a rare treat that helped with the July heat, too! All in all, we would strongly recommend this riad as a good place to base your Meknes excursion out of!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Excellent position (5 mins walk from the place, if you know the way... but Meknes is not a maze), good room, clean, friendly staff, cheap: in short strongly recommended.
PS: the terraces are really amazing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and 8 year old daughter had 3 very pleasant nights here. Abdel is very kind and helpful. He took us on a tour and obviously we were taken to a carpet shop. However, we understand the need for these people to help each other. We were given very interesting explanation of how carpets etc.We did buy a carpet. It was an excellent price and we know it was of quality. The tour really was fascinating The room was lovely and airy and actually bigger than I expected. It was clean, and of course was decorated in traditional Maroccan style. Breakfast was more than sufficient. I would highly recommend this Riad for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed in the Riad Idrissi for nine nights in June 2012. I was part of a group of students studying Arabic at a nearby language school, and we had the pleasure of staying at this great place. It is a restored traditional riad-style Moroccan home, completely decorated in Moroccan-made furniture and decor. The setting is peaceful, homey, and modern. Compared to my last stay in Meknes, this was superb.

Particularly great is the staff - Abdul and his family (the owner) take such good care of the guests. They are so kind and care very much about giving you a good experience. We had two meals per day (breakfast and lunch... occasionally dinner). Each is hand-prepared by the family and is always authentic Moroccan dishes. The rooms are cleaned daily, as well.

There are probably a dozen or so guest rooms, singles and doubles, and a bunch of great common areas. Immediately upon entering the riad, you come into the central courtyard, which traditionally has an open roof three stories up, but is conveniently windowed now. Beyond that is a lovely sitting area where the students did a lot of their studying - again, a former courtyard that now has a skylight. Up the stairs behind that and you come to an awesome rooftop patio complete with canopied seating (for meals), potted plants, a "nook" with cushions to sit on, and an amazing view of both the old city (the medina) and the new city across the river. Above that, is another rooftop patio. Believe it or not, there is a third rooftop patio accessible from the other side of the building!

The bedrooms themselves are beautiful - actually the entire place is covered in traditional Moroccan tile work and carved plaster. The bedrooms have locks, and each has its own bathroom with super hot water in the shower. The beds are a little hard, but apparently that is because Abdul's family actually made them by hand! Still a comfy sleep. All the students and other guests I talked to just loved the rooms, both because they're modern and because each is unique.

Things to be aware of - this is essentially an enlarged family home, and you are a guest in it. If you're looking for a really authentic experience in Morocco, this is it. No dingy tourist hotel or street scammers or whatever other touristy annoyances. That also means that they want you in at a decent time (so they don't have to wake up the family to open the front door for you). Also, no booze on the property. The family lives in the basement level - they have kids and are a Muslim family, so just go to the hotel bars nearby to drink if need be!

Now that I've droned on about this place, I'll just say that the experience was absolutely wonderful. You couldn't find nicer people running a little guest house or get a more authentic Moroccan experience. Pay the extra little bit to be comfortable and have something to tell your friends about! Worth it!

Room Tip: I would ask to take a room on the upper floors if you want to sleep in (it's quieter up there) o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Even though we stayed only one night, we loved this little hotel. Abdel was extremely kind and gentle, and made us feel so much at home immediately with his sweet demeanor and sweet tea and cookies. We had dinner the first night, but since we arrived so late, we had eaten earlier and were not too hungry. No matter, he allowed us to share two menus, and he even made a little plate with eggs and salads for our children. It is a little pricier than out in the medina, but, for the quality and leisure of eating in a beautiful, quiet place right outside our room, it was well worth it. The house is meticulously refurbished, a majority by hand, and it is lovingly cleaned every day. The rooms are cozy, the beds very much like other Moroccan beds, and very clean. We have paid twice as much at other lodgings in Morocco, but none had the stunning views and comfort as Abdel's house.

Yes, as others have written, Abdel will offer to take you to his cooperative to see his and others’ craft in hopes of selling you a craft. However, unlike a lot of other folks we have met in Morocco, he did it respectfully and gently, and, when we told him we had seen many others in the past and would pass on it, he said thank you and moved on. In our limited experience, nearly everyone who first engages you in Morocco will attempt to sell you something on the spot or take you somewhere to try to sell you something. That is the custom that has been worked out mutually over many, many years and is a part of traveling in many parts of the world. Abdel was very respectful in his request, and took no offense in our declination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Idrissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idrissi

Address: 20 db Lalla Sti Hennou, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Idrissi 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Idrissi is a Guest House located in the old city of Meknes in Morocco. We welcome you to discover the Moroccan art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Idrissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Idrissi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.