We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place - perfect mix of hotel and authentic Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idrissi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Idrissi to your Saves list
Riad Idrissi
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 db Lalla Sti Hennou, Meknes 50000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Meknes B&B and Inns
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Fantastic place - perfect mix of hotel and authentic Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed in the Riad Idrissi for nine nights in June 2012. I was part of a group of students studying Arabic at a nearby language school, and we had the pleasure of staying at this great place. It is a restored traditional riad-style Moroccan home, completely decorated in Moroccan-made furniture and decor. The setting is peaceful, homey, and modern. Compared to my last stay in Meknes, this was superb.

Particularly great is the staff - Abdul and his family (the owner) take such good care of the guests. They are so kind and care very much about giving you a good experience. We had two meals per day (breakfast and lunch... occasionally dinner). Each is hand-prepared by the family and is always authentic Moroccan dishes. The rooms are cleaned daily, as well.

There are probably a dozen or so guest rooms, singles and doubles, and a bunch of great common areas. Immediately upon entering the riad, you come into the central courtyard, which traditionally has an open roof three stories up, but is conveniently windowed now. Beyond that is a lovely sitting area where the students did a lot of their studying - again, a former courtyard that now has a skylight. Up the stairs behind that and you come to an awesome rooftop patio complete with canopied seating (for meals), potted plants, a "nook" with cushions to sit on, and an amazing view of both the old city (the medina) and the new city across the river. Above that, is another rooftop patio. Believe it or not, there is a third rooftop patio accessible from the other side of the building!

The bedrooms themselves are beautiful - actually the entire place is covered in traditional Moroccan tile work and carved plaster. The bedrooms have locks, and each has its own bathroom with super hot water in the shower. The beds are a little hard, but apparently that is because Abdul's family actually made them by hand! Still a comfy sleep. All the students and other guests I talked to just loved the rooms, both because they're modern and because each is unique.

Things to be aware of - this is essentially an enlarged family home, and you are a guest in it. If you're looking for a really authentic experience in Morocco, this is it. No dingy tourist hotel or street scammers or whatever other touristy annoyances. That also means that they want you in at a decent time (so they don't have to wake up the family to open the front door for you). Also, no booze on the property. The family lives in the basement level - they have kids and are a Muslim family, so just go to the hotel bars nearby to drink if need be!

Now that I've droned on about this place, I'll just say that the experience was absolutely wonderful. You couldn't find nicer people running a little guest house or get a more authentic Moroccan experience. Pay the extra little bit to be comfortable and have something to tell your friends about! Worth it!

Room Tip: I would ask to take a room on the upper floors if you want to sleep in (it's quieter up there) o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Even though we stayed only one night, we loved this little hotel. Abdel was extremely kind and gentle, and made us feel so much at home immediately with his sweet demeanor and sweet tea and cookies. We had dinner the first night, but since we arrived so late, we had eaten earlier and were not too hungry. No matter, he allowed us to share two menus, and he even made a little plate with eggs and salads for our children. It is a little pricier than out in the medina, but, for the quality and leisure of eating in a beautiful, quiet place right outside our room, it was well worth it. The house is meticulously refurbished, a majority by hand, and it is lovingly cleaned every day. The rooms are cozy, the beds very much like other Moroccan beds, and very clean. We have paid twice as much at other lodgings in Morocco, but none had the stunning views and comfort as Abdel's house.

Yes, as others have written, Abdel will offer to take you to his cooperative to see his and others’ craft in hopes of selling you a craft. However, unlike a lot of other folks we have met in Morocco, he did it respectfully and gently, and, when we told him we had seen many others in the past and would pass on it, he said thank you and moved on. In our limited experience, nearly everyone who first engages you in Morocco will attempt to sell you something on the spot or take you somewhere to try to sell you something. That is the custom that has been worked out mutually over many, many years and is a part of traveling in many parts of the world. Abdel was very respectful in his request, and took no offense in our declination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a gorgeous little Riad, just on the edge of the medina but within easy walking distance of everything. Friendly owner and lovely atmosphere, comfortable rooms with ensuite bathrooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger so consider paying a bit more for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

In a traditional meknessi house, our room was on the terrace level with loads of fresh air, views and even our own small lounge. Best not to have heavy bags to carry into the medina and then up the stairs. Simple lovely breakfast in traditional courtyard.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The owner kindly offered to take us to the main square to take photos but instead took us to his friends shop to see if we wanted to buy any carpets or jewelry. When we didn't he told us the directions to the square and walked home. Also he handed us menus for dinner which we thought was a free kind gesture ( nievely ) but it turned out they were far far overpriced meals which were added to our account. The rooms were nice but the bed was rock hard. It's not a real Riad, but his house he has renovated to look similar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 (three of us in our 30's). We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it. It was the first riad that we stayed at while in Morocco. We had our taxi driver call the riad when he got to the drop off area and a staff person came out to meet us and walk us to the riad. We were greeted with a nice cup of mint tea upon arrival. The house itself is very nicely restored and our room was lovely, with nice furnishings. The place was also very clean and comfortable. Nothing bad to say about the place.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I was lucky enough to spend several weeks living in this riad while I was studying Arabic in Meknes and could not have enjoyed it more! The riad is a traditional Meknessi house that has been completely restored and decorated in Moroccan style, and at the same time provided with clean and modern bathrooms in every room. It is located in the old medina just a few minutes walk from Place Lahdim, and about a 15-minute walk from the new city. The inside courtyard where meals are served is a beautiful, relaxing place to eat, while the three outdoor terraces on three different levels all have a great view of parts of the old medina, the new city, and the surrounding mountains. I spent many pleasant hours reading and studying in the covered area of the middle terrace. The staff (who keep the riad spotlessly clean) were always friendly and ready to help me in any way. My wife joined me at the riad for a week and she also thought it was a great place to stay. In my opinion the owner, Abdel, could not be more trustworthy. He and his family do own a carpet shop nearby and would be glad to sell you some carpets, but if you don't want to buy any, then don't! I personally bought several,and found Abdel completely honest and fair. By the way, the riad does now have wireless internet access not only in the public places but in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Idrissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idrissi

Address: 20 db Lalla Sti Hennou, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Idrissi 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Idrissi is a Guest House located in the old city of Meknes in Morocco. We welcome you to discover the Moroccan art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Idrissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Idrissi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.