We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idrissi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Idrissi to your Saves list
Riad Idrissi
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 db Lalla Sti Hennou, Meknes 50000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Meknes B&B and Inns
Canberra
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

In a traditional meknessi house, our room was on the terrace level with loads of fresh air, views and even our own small lounge. Best not to have heavy bags to carry into the medina and then up the stairs. Simple lovely breakfast in traditional courtyard.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The owner kindly offered to take us to the main square to take photos but instead took us to his friends shop to see if we wanted to buy any carpets or jewelry. When we didn't he told us the directions to the square and walked home. Also he handed us menus for dinner which we thought was a free kind gesture ( nievely ) but it turned out they were far far overpriced meals which were added to our account. The rooms were nice but the bed was rock hard. It's not a real Riad, but his house he has renovated to look similar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 (three of us in our 30's). We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it. It was the first riad that we stayed at while in Morocco. We had our taxi driver call the riad when he got to the drop off area and a staff person came out to meet us and walk us to the riad. We were greeted with a nice cup of mint tea upon arrival. The house itself is very nicely restored and our room was lovely, with nice furnishings. The place was also very clean and comfortable. Nothing bad to say about the place.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I was lucky enough to spend several weeks living in this riad while I was studying Arabic in Meknes and could not have enjoyed it more! The riad is a traditional Meknessi house that has been completely restored and decorated in Moroccan style, and at the same time provided with clean and modern bathrooms in every room. It is located in the old medina just a few minutes walk from Place Lahdim, and about a 15-minute walk from the new city. The inside courtyard where meals are served is a beautiful, relaxing place to eat, while the three outdoor terraces on three different levels all have a great view of parts of the old medina, the new city, and the surrounding mountains. I spent many pleasant hours reading and studying in the covered area of the middle terrace. The staff (who keep the riad spotlessly clean) were always friendly and ready to help me in any way. My wife joined me at the riad for a week and she also thought it was a great place to stay. In my opinion the owner, Abdel, could not be more trustworthy. He and his family do own a carpet shop nearby and would be glad to sell you some carpets, but if you don't want to buy any, then don't! I personally bought several,and found Abdel completely honest and fair. By the way, the riad does now have wireless internet access not only in the public places but in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Riad Idrissi was the third riad we stayed in during our recent trip to Morocco. The house is beautiful, clean, comfortable and inviting. The staff were wonderful. The problem we had was with the owner. Abdel was very attentive to us throughout our stay and we enjoyed talking to him about his family of artisans and all of the work they had done on the Riad.

On our last day Abdel invited us to come with him to his family’s art studio to see pictures of an art exhibit he did in Europe. We gladly took him up on the offer only to arrive at the “studio” which was actually a carpet store and to meet his “cousin” who was actually a carpet dealer from whom Abdel no doubt collects a commission on any customers he refers. (After a high-pressure purchase, Abdel admitted that the merchant was not a family member.)

One of the benefits of staying at a Riad is that they are an oasis from the crowds, noise and the many guides, store owners, hawkers, etc. who try to benefit from tourist dollars. It was incredibly disappointing therefore, that Abdel took advantage of our trust in him, mislead us, and then put us in a very uncomfortable situation. It ruined our last day in Morocco.

If you decide to stay at Riad Idrissi, just be forewarned that the owner may not be as sincere as he appears and be sure to ask a lot of questions before you agree to anything. But given the number of Riads in Menkes, I would recommend finding one where the owner does not pressure you into purchasing more than a room in his Riad.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berea, kentucky, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

5 stars hands down. The keeping was fantastic. Beautifully elegant rooms. And the best help one can ask for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Beautiful riad in the centre of Meknes, a real family house. The owner helped us with parking our car, gave us a tour around Meknes and came by every day to see if we were okay. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere authentic. The riad has different terraces and the rooms and bathrooms are good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Idrissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idrissi

Address: 20 db Lalla Sti Hennou, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Idrissi 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Idrissi is a Guest House located in the old city of Meknes in Morocco. We welcome you to discover the Moroccan art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Idrissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Idrissi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.