We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice in Marrakech...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Harmonie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Villa Harmonie to your Saves list
Riad Villa Harmonie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Touareg 23 | n'hass kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in Marrakech...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a lovely riad to stay in Marrakech. The location is perfect within walking distance of the key sights.
Katherine is lovely, and offered us lots of tips about the city as well as organising us a trip into the Atlas Mountains.
The room was nice and clean, warm at night as there is no air conditioning. The rest of the riad is beautiful, and it so nice to step into the courtyard after a hectic day in the city.
We would certainly recommend this riad to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Lovely Riad, personal service, very clean and great location, spent three nights here whilst staying on a short three night break, our only regret was we didnt stay for longer, we recomend anyone to stay at this Riad with our lovely host Katherine who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great location, lovely rooms and charming hosts. We went to Marrakech on a short break in January and booked this Riad last minute with Katherine. She was very helpful on the phone and email and organised transport from the airport, which was essential as, like so many Riads, we would never have found it alone! We were the only ones staying there so we felt very spoilt. The roof terrace has sensational views and different seating areas, so when the sun shone we could soak up the rays. Also lots of shade for warmer months. The meal we had on the first night was very good value - I don't understand the guy who said it was expensive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

From beginning to end, our stay at this Riad was absolutely wonderful. The room and bathroom were clean and neat, the food exceptional, it is quiet, and a stone's throw way from Djemaa al Fna, Badi Palace, Saadian Toombs, and Palais Bahia.

I understand that this could be a little hard to find on your own, but if you call ahead and make a plan to meet, you will be met and guided to the Riad with no problem. It is down a quiet little alley that is clean and tidy and filled with pot plants.

The Riad seems to have been repainted and changed slightly from the pictures already posted, and we really loved the simple decor that has been so beautifully done, with a gorgeous courtyard with floating curtains, and wrought iron furniture, lots of beautiful plants in planters and pots, many cushions and places to just relax, read, play a game of cards, catch some warm sun.

Breakfast was always delicious, and we had a variety of jams rather than the ususal apricot youget everywhere, including different fruit (like kiwi or strawberries) and lots of gresh coffee. We took the half-board option and very glad we did. The food was absolutely outstanding! Carrot/raisen/corn/cinnamon salad, to strawberries that tasted of roses, kefta that sizzled when it arrived at the table, to nummy couscous dishes. The food really was exceptional, and even though I was a little sad not to explore some of the restaurants in Marrakesh, I dont think we could have eaten so well for the overall price and value of staying at this Riad.

Katherine is great! My french is non-existent, but no problems at all as she was able to converse really well in english, and answered all my questions. She is exceptionally knowledgeable about where to go and what to do, and gives great directions. She helped us with understanding what prices really should be (the gift shop recommendation was perfect), and the little bits of extra info we needed about sights etc. We also got to just chat and indulge my desire for local knowlege! Everyone at the Riad makes you feel welcome and are very helpful. They oganised for laundry to be done too at a very good price.

The room was comfy and clean and cleaned every day without request. It was warm as there was a aircon/heater in our room. Only thing...there needs to be a mat or carpet on the floor, as coming out a hot shower onto cold tiles is not really great. There was space to hang or fold clothes, soap, bedside tables and an extra blanket. The room as long and narrow, not overly spacious, but we were very happy.

I really recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh for its safety, proximity to various sights, and the Djemaa, and overall excellent service and value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I usually do a lot of research prior to booking any holiday. TripAdvisor is always a great starting point, so I was a little uncertain when I only saw 6 reviews.
That was until we arrive at the Riad and I fell in love with its charm.

Our host Katherine and her husband are beautiful people. They are French nationals who have lived in Morocco for long enough to know everything there is to know about this truly magical city. The quality of service offered by our hosts was exceptional. It truly felt like visiting a home away from home. This is especially valuable when you are in a bustling place like Marrakech and want a place to untwine after a hectic day out.

After breakfast on the first day, upon on request Katherine, sat down with us and helped us plan our itinerary for the duration of our stay. When we explained our interest, she not only provided various options for each activity, but made numerous booking on our behalf. Armed with my listings of “Things to do’, Katherine gave us her thoughts and called ahead, booking dinners, massages, quad biking etc.

Given there are not many rooms at the Riad you do get the feeling that you have the place all to yourself. It was great coming back from a late dinner and sitting on the rooftop lounge and unwinding before going to bed. The whole place is decorated with taste and in keeping with the local feel. Our spacious room was meticulously clean with a very authentic feel.

The Riad itself is located at the end of a long cobblestone alley very close to the Jamaa el Fna square, a truly perfect location. We felt very safe walking along the streets at all times, often returning to the Riad in the early hours of the morning. The people living along the alley were welcoming and give the area an authentic feel. The area is truly beautiful, I took countless photos of the alley and homes around the Riad.

Don’t forget to book dinner at the Riad when you stay here. Fatima the cook is the cherry on top! She makes an incredible lamb tagine, the best we tasted…and we tasted many during our stay, from fine dining restaurants to more local eateries.

We love this place for the warm welcome of the hosts to the beautiful and peaceful oasis that is Riad Harmonie. We will definitely be back! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If traveling in summer make sure to book a room with air conditioning. Some rooms only have fans, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and was originally drawn to the place because the British Trekking company "KE Adventure", use it for their stay in Marrakesh. "KE Adventure" is a 'quality' trekking company so if it was good enough for them then surely it would be good enough for me. In fact it was. It is tucked deep down inside the kasbah. Our taxi driver dropped us somewhere near it at night. A local man guided us to the riad initially down many dead ends as he was trying to find it. It was a bit of a thing having arrived late at night and being escorted down narrow alleyways by a stranger. But we needn't have worried. The location feels safe and there is a good feeling about the place.
I would, however, recommend you get the owner to phone up a taxi to pick you up at the airport so she can explain to the driver where the riad is.
This place is heaven though. After a day in looking at the sights in Marrakech this place is a tranquil piece of heaven. The owner is friendly and speaks adequate english. Far better than any of the riads we saw in the medina mainly due to it's location - away from the hussle and busstle but within walking distance of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed here as a two day extension to a group holiday at the other side of town.
A little tricky to find initially, but its location at the end of a small street means it's very quiet and not passed by the cars and scooters that buzz around every other street in Marrakech!
Once inside the layout is typical Riad, based around central areas and with a terrace on the roof with open and shaded areas, loungers, sofas, tables and chairs etc. Great place for breakfast.
A little French would help if owners Katherine & Abdul are not around, but the maids were incredibly polite and helpful and seem to anticipate your needs.
Our twin room was excellent - extremely well decorated and clean, comfy beds and a peaceful night's sleep.
Really pleased to have found this place, an oasis in a city that can sometimes be a bit frantic!
Oh, and an unexpected bonus was the free WiFi!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#113 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#150 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#125 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#110 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#200 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#199 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa Harmonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Harmonie

Address: Derb Touareg 23 | n'hass kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Villa Harmonie 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad "Villa Harmonie” is situated in the heart of the Medina in the Kasbah district, just minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square and the souks. Near the Bahia Palace, El Badi Palace, Saadi Tombs and the new Royal Palace. Access by car nearby. Parking near Free WIFI. 7 NICE ROOMS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Villa Harmonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Harmonie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Harmonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.