We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming riad, great location, beautiful hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Harmonie

Save Saved
You added Riad Villa Harmonie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Villa Harmonie
Derb Touareg 23 | n'hass kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming riad, great location, beautiful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I usually do a lot of research prior to booking any holiday. TripAdvisor is always a great starting point, so I was a little uncertain when I only saw 6 reviews.
That was until we arrive at the Riad and I fell in love with its charm.

Our host Katherine and her husband are beautiful people. They are French nationals who have lived in Morocco for long enough to know everything there is to know about this truly magical city. The quality of service offered by our hosts was exceptional. It truly felt like visiting a home away from home. This is especially valuable when you are in a bustling place like Marrakech and want a place to untwine after a hectic day out.

After breakfast on the first day, upon on request Katherine, sat down with us and helped us plan our itinerary for the duration of our stay. When we explained our interest, she not only provided various options for each activity, but made numerous booking on our behalf. Armed with my listings of “Things to do’, Katherine gave us her thoughts and called ahead, booking dinners, massages, quad biking etc.

Given there are not many rooms at the Riad you do get the feeling that you have the place all to yourself. It was great coming back from a late dinner and sitting on the rooftop lounge and unwinding before going to bed. The whole place is decorated with taste and in keeping with the local feel. Our spacious room was meticulously clean with a very authentic feel.

The Riad itself is located at the end of a long cobblestone alley very close to the Jamaa el Fna square, a truly perfect location. We felt very safe walking along the streets at all times, often returning to the Riad in the early hours of the morning. The people living along the alley were welcoming and give the area an authentic feel. The area is truly beautiful, I took countless photos of the alley and homes around the Riad.

Don’t forget to book dinner at the Riad when you stay here. Fatima the cook is the cherry on top! She makes an incredible lamb tagine, the best we tasted…and we tasted many during our stay, from fine dining restaurants to more local eateries.

We love this place for the warm welcome of the hosts to the beautiful and peaceful oasis that is Riad Harmonie. We will definitely be back! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If traveling in summer make sure to book a room with air conditioning. Some rooms only have fans, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and was originally drawn to the place because the British Trekking company "KE Adventure", use it for their stay in Marrakesh. "KE Adventure" is a 'quality' trekking company so if it was good enough for them then surely it would be good enough for me. In fact it was. It is tucked deep down inside the kasbah. Our taxi driver dropped us somewhere near it at night. A local man guided us to the riad initially down many dead ends as he was trying to find it. It was a bit of a thing having arrived late at night and being escorted down narrow alleyways by a stranger. But we needn't have worried. The location feels safe and there is a good feeling about the place.
I would, however, recommend you get the owner to phone up a taxi to pick you up at the airport so she can explain to the driver where the riad is.
This place is heaven though. After a day in looking at the sights in Marrakech this place is a tranquil piece of heaven. The owner is friendly and speaks adequate english. Far better than any of the riads we saw in the medina mainly due to it's location - away from the hussle and busstle but within walking distance of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed here as a two day extension to a group holiday at the other side of town.
A little tricky to find initially, but its location at the end of a small street means it's very quiet and not passed by the cars and scooters that buzz around every other street in Marrakech!
Once inside the layout is typical Riad, based around central areas and with a terrace on the roof with open and shaded areas, loungers, sofas, tables and chairs etc. Great place for breakfast.
A little French would help if owners Katherine & Abdul are not around, but the maids were incredibly polite and helpful and seem to anticipate your needs.
Our twin room was excellent - extremely well decorated and clean, comfy beds and a peaceful night's sleep.
Really pleased to have found this place, an oasis in a city that can sometimes be a bit frantic!
Oh, and an unexpected bonus was the free WiFi!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010 via mobile

We have spent an excellent 5 nights at riad villa harmonie! We booked directly with Katherine after spending hours looking at all the different places to stay in Marrakech. From the start she was extremely helpful and this continued throughout our stay at the riad.
The riad is very close to the hustle and bustle of central Marrakech, we arrived late at night and prebooked a taxi from the airport with Katherine, we were pleased we did as the riad is well hidden and would be very very hard to find with no guide late at night! It is located at the end of a quiet residiential alley which has a couple of shops where you can by water, sweets etc

All the staff are extremely helpful and courteous, we left an iPhone in the room by mistake and we were relieved to hear that the maid had already handed it in to Katherine by the time we were able to phone her from essouaria later that day, which was a great relief as it could have easily disappeared never to be seen again!!!
As I said the riad is down a very narrow alley no more than 10 minutes walk from jeema el fna square and very close to the tombs and palace, we walked everywhere in Marrakech apart from a trip to the new town, and found it to be safe and a great way to see the city, just watch out for the traffic!!
The riad has been carefully decorated and the roof terrace is lovely and is a great place for breakfast to be served or a beer or glass of wine in the evening (the riad does serve alcohol)
We also ate at the riad one night and although expensive compared to most of the restaurants in Marrakech it was excellent, we also had the roof terrace to ourselves which made for a lovely evening.

Overall this is well worth considering if you are coming to Marrakech, we haggled the price of the room prior to booking with Katherine for 6 nights for a standard room. If you hunt around there are a number of websites which offer rooms in the riad for much less than is shown on it's website. The riad really is little oasis of calm from the hectic streets of Marrakech. The riad does have it's own website which does give a true reflection of the the place, it really is a hidden gem which has yet to be uncovered by the masses!! Oh yeah and it also has free wifi which comes in very useful

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Villa Harmonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Harmonie

Address: Derb Touareg 23 | n'hass kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#107 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad "Villa Harmonie” is situated in the heart of the Medina in the Kasbah district, just minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square and the souks. Near the Bahia Palace, El Badi Palace, Saadi Tombs and the new Royal Palace. Access by car nearby. Parking near Free WIFI. 7 NICE ROOMS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Villa Harmonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Harmonie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Harmonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.