We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, simple, well managed and easy access....very pretty rooms and roof terrace.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Armelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Armelle to your Saves list
Riad Armelle
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #475 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice, simple, well managed and easy access....very pretty rooms and roof terrace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent cooking class! Sweet management,,,good pretty clean rooms....nice clean....totally better than average and well worth the moderate price. easy to find,,,or hire a youngt child to lead you. enjoyed staff,,,good English with manager,,,good casual friendly cooking class in a spotless kitchen,,,ate on roof mostly,,,but others were sitting in courtyard. all in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: Booked a two bedded room,,,but they did not have. Friend happily slept on deck outside room!!!! C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
111
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night because there was no room for us in Riad Chayma nearby where the rest of our family were staying.

We were not impressed. The place is generally tired and in need of refurbishment and the request for payment in full before we had even seen the room because "I am leaving in 11 minutes" was not the warmest welcome we have ever seen. This was immediately followed by a request for payment to be made in cash because "our card machine is not working" only for the machine to magically recover when we said that we did not have enough cash on us.

The fact that we then had to climb two steep flights of stairs with our luggage with no offer of assistance didn't do anything to improve the situation.

In fairness this review has obviously been influenced by our inspection of Riad Chayma where we joined the rest of our family for breakfast and dinner. Suffice it to say that Riad Chayma was vastly superior and slightly cheaper.

You decide !





Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Amazing riad , warm and very lovely.

Pleasant blend of European and Maroccan decoration in a traditional Maroccan riad.

The owners are very warmful, smiling and helpful all day long.

All the staff is very friendly and professional (with the comfort of a great hotel) !.

Many amazing outside terraces with an amazing view of the Medina and a lovely inside/outside terrace.

Located in the center of the medina, this riad is close to all the attractions and place to visit.

The food is excellent and you will feel "at home"!!!

This is a magical place, full of beautiful meetings (owners, staff and customers) and scenery ; you will feel enchanted by this place and you will have only one desire : go back and recharge you again !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I can not write more pleasantly to describe the the perfect week we spent in the Riad Armelle in Marrakech during April and the wonderfully and bespoke arranged trips we had with the in house superxpertours to the south of Morocco and to valley of Ourika.

Arriving for the start of a fascinating trip to Marrakech we were picked up by a pre-arranged driver from the Riad. The perfect way to arrive, no fuss and the start of a brilliant holiday. Met by the French owners (who have beuatifully restored this historic Riad to its former glory) and the Riad Manager; Mr Saad CHEMZAR we were provided a warm welcome and taken to the absolutely stunning terrace room on the second floor of the this delightful and tranquil Riad situated within the Medina and a stones throw from the Djemma el Fna Square.

As ever we had left all our travel arrangements to the last minute and spent a little time with Saad whilst sipping the most excellent sweet mint tea explaining we wanted to a driver for 4 days and wanted to visit valleys, the Atlas mountains and the Sahara desert. Saad took care of everything and we went on to spend the most phenomenal 4 days in streams, mountains and camping under the desert stars in the Sahara desert. The value was excellent and and the trip did not disappoint with our driver speaking excellent English - oh and don't let language barriers put you off Saad spoke French, Spanish, German, English and Arabic. The best option is not to book expensive tours in advance, but book with Saad at the Riad where prices are much more reasonable, we spoke with Saad in advance on Skype and phone without any trouble.

The accommodation was beautiful we sampled two rooms and both were stunning, full of Moroccan antiquities with a French twist. This really was a home from home we were warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. The Riad has an atmosphere of peaceful tranquility and an oasis of calm. The food was excellent within the Riad and when we wanted to eat out on one night Saad thoughtfully provided a driver to take us to the restaurant. Central to Marrakech easy to to travel to this was a wonderful holiday that next time we may take as a long weekend. As we left Saad said to us "Remember this is your home now" an expression that meant a lot to us and we will never forget.

Thank you to all of the staff at the Armelle for making our stay so brilliantly enjoyable we very much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ring or Skype in advance and ask for Saad (Tel: 00 212 524 38 09 41) The rooms are themed so just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When i first landed to morocco, i had a huge cultural shock for sure but the moment that i entered to the hotel, iunderstood that i made the right decision. The rooms are like paradise , the staff are so lovely. When utell them you are having a problem , they solve it immidiately. Breakfasts are nice. The location was amazing, it was close to everywhere. I recommend strongly this hptel. You will not regret it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A perfect Riad in a perfect location. Staff very friendly and helpful. The best food we had in Marrakech. The roof terrace was a gem. Full of character and charm. Great value for money. Ideal for trips to the newton as well as to the soukes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

... because you're about to book a room in this riad I envy you a lot!at the end of one week we were so relaxed that we nearly reached a buddha-esque level of inner peace ad calm ;-)

The location is excellent, in the medina (djemaa el fna is just 15 min stroll away) but right beside the modern part of town. Jardin Majorelle is in walking distance. the riad is surrounded by little shops, stalls and restaurants.

There is a lovely atmosphere in the riad. Cute oriental decoration mixed with friendly staff create a feel-at-home atmosphere that makes you want to stay there forever. They offer lovely freshly prepared dinner if you give them one day notice and even cater for special requests like food intolerance, vegetarianism etc. Wine and beer is also available.
Everybody is really friendly and always willing to help, they can help you organizing day trips, advise you how to haggle in the souks or just stop for a little chat.

every room looks different and hey are kept nice and clean. If you are sharing a room you should consider the fact that the showers are not build for shy people as they are quite open. The wardrobe was quite small but big enough for us.

I am thinking very hard of one thing to criticise but I cannot come up with anything at all. We were sad to leave he place after seven days and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: depending on your budget you can ask for the queen's room beside the roof terrace or the one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Armelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Armelle

Address: 23 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Armelle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 M inside the walls, in a picturesque area of the Medina. Alive with the colors and perfumes of Arabia, you can wander through the "Souikka Bab Doukkala" (small arabic market) which is enjoyed by both Moroccans and visitors alike. The Riad Armelle offers a haven of calm and comfort in the authentic style of the traditional eastern Riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Armelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Armelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.