We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad lyla Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad lyla Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad lyla Marrakech
4 et 5 rue ouartani | mouassine, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A sanctuary in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in suites Ouared and Tlata during our stay. The riad was full of character and both rooms were beautifully decorated. Wifi was available in the rooms. The beds were comfortable with plush pillows. The towels provided were luxurious. Breakfast was excellent with slight variations daily. Air-conditioning was available however we did not require using it. Despite not having keys to lock our rooms, there is a small safe in each room. We felt safe throughout our stay because the main entrance is locked. Dominique, the manager, was always helpful. We booked the riad via email and Dominique was quick with his replies. He was always making sure we were ok, and gave us good advice on visiting the surrounding areas. The riad is conveniently located approximately 10 mins walk from the Djemaa (main square), however it is very peaceful inside. It was also near where the locals live, so it was easy to access daily necessities without being charged exorbitant prices in the main square. We often look forward to return to the riad after a busy day touring the city. There is a small pool available, mint tea and moroccan biscuits whenever requested.

We had a little glitch when we arrived and hopefully by writing our experience here, this incident would not be repeated. Dominique organised a taxi pick-up from the airport however we followed the taxi with the sign “Riad Lila” (instead of “Riad Lyla”) and ended up at the wrong riad. The taxi driver insisted it was the correct riad when we doubted initially. We contacted Dominique and he kindly met us at the main square where he brought us to his riad. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have no hesitation in giving Dominique and his team a 5* review and thank all of them from the bottom of my heart for the wonderful and memorable experience at Riad Lyla. Right from the off Riad Lyla were a pleasure to deal with. I had a swift and pleasant communication and was soon booked in for 5 days stay with them. I stayed in 2 other places in Morocco and Riad Lyla was head and shoulders above the rest for their care, personal touch and attention to detail.

Dominique is happy to meet guests prior to arrival which if it's you first time to Marrakech is recommended so that you don't get lost in the maze of streets. We were greeted with mint tea and pastries and chatted to Dominique at length about life in Morocco, Marrakech and the riad itself.

Riad Lyla is full of charm and feels like a million miles from the main square despite being only 15mins on foot. Dominique has stamped his own personality on the Riad over the years in the form of eclectic furniture and roving plants and the gorgeous swimming pool (larger than the standard plunge pool in a riad) and roof terrace differentiate it from other riads, making it truly unique.

Dominique, Radouane and the rest of the staff speak a dizzying array of languages, are attentive but never interfering and cater to your every need. We were even offered an upgrade seeing as we went in low season and lunch at an awkward time ahead of departure was no trouble. Breakfasts receive special mention which were varied and filling!

If you're looking for a unique and definitely not run of the mill riad, Riad Lyla is a great bet, exquisite value for money, and just one more reason to return to Morocco. Thanks a million, mille grazie & mercy million!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We’ve just returned from Marrakech which s a combined birthday treat and much needed relaxing escape.

Marrakech is a good option to experience a different culture, sun and relaxation. We decided to book Riad Lyla through a recommendation and boy we were not disappointed. From the very start, time of booking, communication, through to the personalised pick up at the airport, greeting at the Riad and tour of the property and everything inbetween until our departure Dominique treated us like the most important guests he had.

Dominique, who runs the Riad could not be more helpful. Marrakech however beautiful an exciting city is not the easiest to navigate, but with his advice, directions and recommendations we were able to truly enjoy our trip.

The property itself is beautifully maintained, decorated and furnished in traditional style with much effort and consideration. Attention to detail, atmosphere and homely feel made us comfortable and most welcome. We can not recommend it enough.

Please also find the time to have at least one dinner in the Riad, a feast for kings, and make sure you have breakfast on one of the may beautiful terraces.

Dominique and his team are fantastic and sure to make the highlight of your trip! Many thanks Dominique. Regards Jo and Wayne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badhoevedorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

For a break for couple of days we visited Marrakech. On the net I found, though recommendations Riad Lyla. Correspondence with the Riad was swift and pleasant. They made arrangements for the transfer, gave ample advise on Marrakech things to do and see. Were instrumental in reserving restaurants, Hammam's and other things.

I was traveling with my wife. We are experienced travelers (I hitchhiked to Marrakech 20 years ago from the Netherlands) and used to making all arrangements myself. I found the service at Lyla excellent, always a pot of hot tea when we came in, a rich and varied breakfast each day. Service throughout the Riad, in the sitting room, in our room or on one of the terraces on the roof. And as said when requested the Riad accommodated with advise and action.

We spent 4 nights at Lyla and score it with 5/5 stars....

(only downside I can mention is the bed, mattress was quite hard/uncomfortable. The room/sitting room though was a joy to be in, nicely decorated with windows opening to the courtyard. Really lovely!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We first found the Riad Lyla by default and having spent a delightful night there 2 years, vowed to return.
Wanting to plan something special for a 60th birthday this seemed the obvious answer.
We booked directly with Dominique, who really could not have been more helpful. He arranged our transfers from and to the airport, purchased our bus tickets to Essouaria, bartered for our taxi to the bus station, and even let us use the Riad on our return to Marrakech before our flight home.
Breakfasts were delicious, afternoon teas served on the roof terrace and even special 60th birthday cake was no trouble.
Evening fires were lit in the salon even though we were the only visitors and wine was forthcoming.
Dominique and his staff did indeed make our stay memorable for all the right reasons.
We look forward to an excuse to return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The best way to describe Riad Lyla is simply WOW.
I'm not sure I could write a review that describes how wonderful this Riad is or how amazing the team, lead by Dominique, is in every way.
The Riad is located very centrally in the Medina and only a 3 or 4 min walk to the shopping paradise of the Souks and only a 5 to 10 min stroll to the central square of Jemma El Fna.
Each room as individually decorated and unique. We booked 4 rooms for our group I couldn't work out which one I wanted to stay in more. After walking around the crazy city this place is an unexpected oasis of tranquility.
The breakfast was amazing and everyone in our party talked about it for the entire trip. You can take breakfast indoors or on one of the many sun terraces. I am not sure how they made it but breakfast was simple but amazing.
The staff went out of their way to provide outstanding customer service. Dominique organised day tours for us, massages, and recommendations on anything that we asked. He even walked us to restaurants so we wouldn't get lost in the maze of streets and arranged for the team to show us where we could but the tea we were served at breakfast from.
If you have just started searching for a Riad to stay at in Marrakech or well into your search, forget everyone that you have looked at and just book this one.
Domonique and team: Merci beaucoup, nous vous devons le monde. Nous reviendrons à coup sûr.

Room Tip: As I mentioned each room is individual so have a look online and see what you would like. Definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Riad Lyla in Marrakech is a wonderful place to stay while you want to visit Marrakech!
The Manager Dominique and his staf are so kind and helpfull.....the Riad itself has beautiful rooms. The roof terrace is lovely. You can take your breakfast over there. The delicious fresh pancakes, fresh orange juice are beautiful. The personal attention is just great.
The location is also very good. The Hamman just around the corner is a must to visit!
If I would come again to Marrakech I would defenitely go back to Riad Lyla!

Room Tip: all rooms are different and good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad lyla Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad lyla Marrakech

Address: 4 et 5 rue ouartani | mouassine, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad lyla Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad lyla Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.