We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Foundouk

Le Foundouk
55, Souk Hal Fassi, Marrakech, Morocco
+212(0)24 37 81 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $29 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food. Resaturant next to the souks. Nice local maroccen food. The service is good. Price for Marrakech expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    595
    237
    94
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A table for two on the terrace, very polite waiters and lovely food. The atmosphere was stunning with lanterns and candles all around. We were told it was expensive but we found the prices of the food and wine acceptable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant With Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi

A little bit more expensive than else where in the Medina but the food and service was excellent.

The experience of eating there is one worth doing!

Calamari Tajin was amazing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“If you enjoy a restaurant full of tourists in conversation with their mobile, this is for you!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I knew I wasn't going to enjoy the Foundouk when I met one of the two burly doormen. We were accompanied in our final approach to find the restaurant by three small children. I had stupidly left my change in the riad. I asked the doorman if he could find me some change for the boys. His response was to shout loudly at the boys and wave them away. Burly was clearly bully.There was nobody dining on the first two floors. It was indicated we should make our own way to the roof area. We were shown to a table. We asked for a drink. The 'wine list' consisted of a ridiculous rolled up piece of paper inside a plastic ring.The menu was delivered in the same ponsy way. Romantic? Certainly not to the locals. The place was full of tourists. Around us, they seemed mainly in conversation with their mobiles. The whole place had a feeling that everyone was trying too hard. The food was tolerable. Service slow. Two main courses, two glasses of wine, a pudding and bottled water set us back €50. Too pretentious for us but clearly some people love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderfull and wonderful and more wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A very excellent night at this restaurant with the expectation of what you would think a Marrakeah resturant would be and I guarantee you will not be disappointed in food , service and atmosphere and book the terrace table will the night stars

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Foundouk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Foundouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Foundouk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.