We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE LOVELY RIAD SHADEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shaden

Save Saved
You added Riad Shaden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Shaden
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
glasgow
1 review
“THE LOVELY RIAD SHADEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My sister and brother in law had stayed here before and it lived up to everything they said about how wonderful a place it was,Youssef,Said & the girls defintely make your stay what it is nothing was too much trouble for them. Done the cookery lesson which was great fun and surprise surprise the food was ediable!! We also done the 3 day trip to the desert with Abdul the guide/driver,his knowledge of Morocco was excellent and he took us to some beautiful places which we would of never seen otherwise. Will defintely will be back again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

From the moment you arrive, the team at Riad Shaden were so warm and welcoming. Youssef and Siad are wonderful. I had lunch at the Riad which was a feast of traditional Moroccan food and was delicious. Youssef was excelling in educating me about aspects of Marrakech. I would definitely recommend a visit to this Riad as I enjoyed my time there immensely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clydebank
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What can I say that has'nt been said already about this wonderful oasis in the middle of the old city,this is our 2nd stay and definitely wont be the last.Even from booking the communication with Shona,the owner left nothing to chance,even down to a hints & tips guide.Upon arrival we were meet by our driver Abdul who we done a few trips with and he was an absolute pleasure as nothing was too trouble for him,he showed us some amazing sights which we would never have seen otherwise.Again the staff at the riad are a credit both to the riad and themselves,they make your stay what it is,AMAZING. I stayed at a hotel last year where their motto was you arrive as guests and leave as friends and this motto definitely applies to Riad Shaden!!!See you all again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at Riad Shaden for a week in early March. I was met at the airport by the driver Abdhul who was charming and spoke excellent English. The Riad was all it claimed to be, the staff who were so willing and helpful kept the Riad in spotless condition and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Either Youssef or his assistant Siad ( both of whom spoke excellent English) were always in attendance. I also had a cookery lesson - first going shopping with Siad in the area by the Riad. Walking the 15 mins to the main square was interesting as one was in the locals part of town rather than the tourist area. However the first time doing this walk was interesting as one could easily take a wrong turn not that that would really be a problem just a longer walk.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms upstairs would be a little lighter however having said that there was nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Well our plane was diverted and delayed, so we missed our transfer to the Riad. Finding our way to the Riad by ourselves had us in a bit of a "state", however that all quickly changed as soon as we stepped inside the Riad and were greeted by Youssef and some mint tea. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from the hospitality of all the staff, the food and the companionable insights into Moroccan life by both Youssef and Siad. We highly recommend doing a day trip away from the madness of the Medina (we went to Ait Ben Haddou) with Abdul. We stayed in the Amir Suite, which is roomy and beautifully decorated. There is a mosque nearby, we got 4.45am payer calls - but that goes with the territory and experience. Overall, it's a great little haven away from the chaos outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Safran, Owner at Riad Shaden, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Shaden.
However, for the benefit of future guests, I would like to respond concerning your arrival in Marrakech. Your flight was delayed and diverted to Casablanca, and our driver was only informed about this by airport staff after he had already waited over an hour at the airport. At that point, he had to leave, as he had no idea how long the delay would be. When you finally arrived at Marrakech airport (around 5 hours after your scheduled arrival time) you called our manager Youssef, who advised you that he would send a driver for you, but it may take around 30 minutes. At that point, you chose to make your own way to the riad.
We always supply Youssef's number to guests who have arranged a transfer with us, and we will always ensure that our drivers are there to transfer you, even in situations as described above.
However, we are happy to hear that once you arrived at the riad you were well looked after by our staff, and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the riad for two nights and realy enjoyed it. It was a welcome intro to Morocco and a haven of peace in busy Marrakech. The cookery lesson was fun and we got eat the results! The staff were very helpful and the fact that Engish was spoken made me feel doublely welcome

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We so enjoyed our stay at Riad Shaden. For a 4-day break, it was so relaxing, comfortable, calm and peaceful and we both left feeling the benefits of our stay in Marrakech in a way that we haven't from a longer stay in other places.

Siad and Youssef were fantastic hosts, the breakfasts and evening meal was delicious and the Amir Suite was a comfortable and spacious home from home. We loved the terrace for relaxing in the sun!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech
Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area of the medina, and only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With 6 bedrooms, a spacious living room and a large private sun terrace and English / French speaking staff on hand 24 hours a day. Breakfast included in room rate, additional meals available on request, free WiFi access, satellite TV in rooms. Cookery lessons available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shaden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.