We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hugely relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shaden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Shaden to your Saves list
Riad Shaden
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 1,101 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hugely relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We so enjoyed our stay at Riad Shaden. For a 4-day break, it was so relaxing, comfortable, calm and peaceful and we both left feeling the benefits of our stay in Marrakech in a way that we haven't from a longer stay in other places.

Siad and Youssef were fantastic hosts, the breakfasts and evening meal was delicious and the Amir Suite was a comfortable and spacious home from home. We loved the terrace for relaxing in the sun!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shaden for 3 nights at the beginning of March and really enjoyed our stay. The Riad is conveniently located in a residential area about a 15 minute walk from the main square - we pretty much walked to and from all the main attractions throughout our holiday which we liked as you really got to soak up the city's atmosphere.

Youssef and Said were lovely and helpful and always greeted you with a smile! We also happened to be staying at the Riad as the same time as the owner, Shona who was great and gave us lots of useful tips and recommendations.

The Riad itself is beautifully decorated and has everything you could need. We particularly liked going up to the roof terrace! Breakfast was freshly made each morning and we had a delicious three course dinner on our last night.

Would highly recommend to anybody travelling to Marrakech! Thanks to the staff at Riad Shaden for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had to organise a place for a hen party. When we were looking for a place to stay Riad Shaden stood out for us. Shona ( the owner ) was brilliant in helping me with any queries that I had - & I had a few.
On arrival, we were met by Abdul and it was good as he spoke English!!!
The riad was out of this world amazing and clean. And it helped having Yousef and Siad. They spoke good English and were more than welcoming and helped us with anything we needed ... booking places and getting our transfer as and when needed. There were 12 girls and not one of us had a complaint about the riad and the staff. I'd love to go back again and I will definetly stay at Shaden. I will also definitely recommend this place to anyone I know that is thinking of going to Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from my hen weekend in marrakech. We hired the entire riad to accommodate 12 women! Syed and Yousef went out their way to ensure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay which couldn't of been an easy task with 12 high- maintenance women involved! They assisted with all our trips and activities and even escorted us through the medina to the main square so we wouldnt get lost. The food was delicious, we opted to eat there for the majority of our stay and the breakfast all freshly made each morning. The riad itself is beautiful hidden away in a labrynth like setting. Marrakech is captivating and will awaken your senses- would reccomend staying at the riad for a truly cultural experience! Would definitely go back. Thanks again to Syed, Yousef, Abdul and
the lovely ladies who cooked for us!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Shaden as part of a 12 girl hen-do. I was blown away at the hospitality of the staff, Youseff and Sayeed, who bent over backwards to ensure that all our needs were met and that we wanted for nothing. Always smiley and ready to help.

The Riad was beautifully decorated, spacious and clean at all times. The food was delicious and I'd highly recommend taking part in the cookery class. The chefs were lovely and very helpful.

The location of the Riad was a nice walking distance to the Medina and the Souks. You get to embrace the locals and their culture.The local children are enquisitive and want to greet tourists.

For trips further away, we had Abdullah for our transfers. His knowledge was brilliant and again, he was always very smiley and helpful.

If you are lucky enough to go to Marrakech, staying at the Riad Shaden is definitely a must :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Riad was, in many ways, all we could have asked for in Marrakesh. The service was excellent, Said went to great lenghts to please us taking his time to explain any question related to our movements around the city. The map he provided us in order to be able to return to the Riad was helpful, however, I would recommend travellers to take their time making sure they know the way from the accommodation and the main square and the other way round; such trip can be daunting the first time, especially at night!
Although the location seemed to be slightly tricky at first, we realised it took us through streets full of character and the locals were happy to help. If you want to know the real Marrakesh and in particular the people of the Medina, this is the place for you.
We happened to be the only guests in the Riad that week, so the treatment was fantastic and we were given the possibility of choosing which room we wanted to be in which was an added bonus to the experience. It was great to know that, at the end of the busy day, we were going back to a calm and clean place in which to relax.
The Riad counts with a very good cook that made our delights twice for dinner, please dont hesitate ordering some food as it will enhance your experience of the place. The breakfasts were very good, especially the brewed coffee and fresh orange juice.
I am very grateful to Said and Shona for their help while I stayed there and I appreciate their advice all throughout my stay in the Riad.

Room Tip: the higher rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just arrived back from our Morocco trip and absolutely loved every moment of it. Riad Shaden was an incredible place to stay and a perfect 15 minute walk from the centre of Marrakesch. Siad was a brilliant host, very friendly and made some very much appreciated recommendations. We can't rate the riad, the people, the location, the food and of course the mint tea highly enough! Excellent value for money too. We stayed two nights in the larger room (superb bath) and two nights in the smaller blue one. Don't hesitate, book this place for your trip. We were recommended Riad Shaden by our friends who stayed over Christmas and loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,101 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area in the east of the medina, yet only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The property has a total of 6 bedrooms (2 suites and 4 standard double/twin rooms). All rooms are ensuite, with reversible air conditioning, flat screen TVs, complementary toiletries and safes. There is a spacious central courtyard, a cosy living room and a sunny and secluded roof terrace with sunbeds and parasols. Breakfast is included in the room rate, with additional meals available on request. Cookery lessons are available, which include a shopping trip to the local market. Riad Shaden's staff speak English, French and Spanish and are available 24 hours a day. They are happy to assist with booking day trips, golf, restaurants and hammams, as well as providing general advice about what to see and do in Marrakech. Riad Shaden's English speaking driver is available for airport transfers, as well as day trips and longer excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shaden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.