We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shaden

Save Saved
You added Riad Shaden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Shaden
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
clydebank
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had the most amazing stay at Riad Shaden,If you are going to Marrakech we would definitely recommend this place to stay.Shona the owner was a great help when we were booking our trip and her information pack was excellent,it was a great help through out our visit. Transfers were arranged to take us to the Riad which was great. Youssef the manager made us mint tea when we arrived and gave us a map and marked out the route to the square and also places that are worth visiting. He also organised a few trips for us.Youssef and Badr took us to the square to show us where to go for these trips and Badr took us to the square for the first time to show us the way and also gave us his number incase we got lost. We stayed in the Amir suite which was stunning and the roof terrace was lovely to sit out at night. We eat a few nights in the Riad and the food was lovely as was the breakfast. All the staff went out of their way to help and they helped make our holiday to Marrakech a memorable one. We will definitely be back to Marrakech and the Riad Shaden will be where we stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had the most amazing time at Riad Shaden. Transfers were arranged to collect us and take us back to the Riad which was great. Badr (riad staff member) met us from the taxi and walked us into the Riad, where he sat us down with fresh mint tea, gave us a map and talked us through the route to the main square and his mobile number should we get lost or need him during our stay! Youseff the Riad manager was also extremely welcoming and helpful and also at the end of his mobile should we have needed him, nothing seems to much trouble! All the staff were very attentive, Riad was beautiful, very clean and everything we needed. From the outside street it is hard to believe the lovely Riad that is inside! The staff could recommend and arrange any excursion or activity you wanted we found this very reassuring when arranging trip and hammams as we knew we were going to nice places and getting a fair price. Youseff even met us in the square and walked us round to the Hammam so we didn't get lost- really very helpful staff. We made lots of good use of the Riads sun terrace which is very nice for just relaxing and the shaded seating is great for shade from the Marrakesh midday sun! 15 min walk to the square, nice location, the food in the riad is also to be recommended as is the cooking class where we got lots of great traditional recipes to take home- Youseff even picked us up a couple of tagines to take home with us- not just the ornamental ones that are sold in a lot of stalls. This was our first trip to an Arabic country which is a very different experiences from European countries- the staff at the Riad made this whole experience a lot more reassuring. We were in the Prince suit which i would really recommend, very lovely, as was the whole place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were met at arrivals in Marrakech airport by the pre-booked taxi driver, and from that moment on our stay in Morrocco was a blissful, stress-free escape from London living - mostly thanks to the support and kindness of Youssef and the team at Riad Shaden.

We were taxied through the city to the outer gate, with the driver pointing out important sights along the way. Youssef met us at the gate and helped carry our bags the short walk to the Riad. The area around the Riad is in the heart of the old town. It's a residential area where the locals pay little attention to tourists. Throughout our stay, whether during the day or at night, we were not hassled. The 'corner shop' is about a minute's walk away and provided an invaluable source of coke and crisps, plus the shopkeeper helped us with our Arabic!

Arriving at the Riad was like stepping into another world. Youssef talked us through the main attractions and gave us very clear directions (and maps!) to find the main square, which is a very pleasant and simple 10-15 minute walk away. Other reviewers have suggested this distance lets the Riad down, but I found it was the best way to actually see the 'real' Marrakech, away from the tourist orientated bustle of the main square. This was especially true in the evenings when the locals came out to trade and socialise.

The rooms were simply but beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan furnishings and textiles. I especially enjoyed the roof terrace where the shared cat, Mimoun, sometimes suns himself. Food was plentiful, delicious and very reasonably priced for three-course evening meals. Breakfast of Moroccan pancakes and breads with honey, jam, coffee and tea was served whenever we chose to get up by the lovely girls who work at the Riad.

Throughout, the staff at Riad Shaden went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I really enjoyed the daytrip organised by Youssef to a Berbar village and waterfalls, with a trip to the Hammam to relax in the evening. However, the highlight of our stay was exploring the souks and bargaining with the traders, then showing off our buys in the Riad for approval by Bader.

Riad Shaden is the ideal option for young or older travellers who are looking for a real insight into Marrakech. Youssef, Bader and Sanna are the perfect hosts, and have convinced us to return as soon as we are able!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband and I moved forward our holiday in Marrakech from June to April and I am very glad we did as it was roasting in April! The Riad was a great place to stay. Since it was out of the main tourist area, we felt we were able to experience what life was like for locals in Marrakech rather than just tourists. Our room was really lovely and Badr and the two ladies couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room was always immaculate whenever we came home and I will admit to being quite messy! The food at the riad was the best we tasted all holiday.
The only complaint I would have is about our lack of sleep although this had nothing much to do with the Riad. We had a very comfortable bed in one of the suites, but our room backed out onto an alley, where two cats would come and fight every night and make horrendous noises. Also in the middle of the night one night there was a wedding celebration with horns and drums and everything (at 1am!) but to be honest I quite liked that - very atmospheric and part of the culture. It was mostly the cats during the night that were the problem. But it wouldn't put me off recommending it to a friend. A wonderful place to stay and we had a great holiday! Marrakech isn't for the faint-hearted!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UKZak, Owner at Riad Shaden, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Unfortunately wedding celebrations and cats are outwith our control, however it is worth pointing out that only one of our 6 rooms has a window to the outside rather than to the internal courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had a great time staying at the riad. Youssef and his staff did all that they could to make our stay a great one.We like to think that we left as friends.Aicha had the best time ever on the camel in the sahara .As for the riad it is clean with great staff just a short walk from the square and souks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

What an experience !! This was our first visit to Marrakesh so we did not know what to expect.
We arranged airport transfers in advance and we were collected from the airport and walked the few minutes to the Riad. As as we arived at night we were taken by Youseff to the main square with good directions and a straight forward route, for dinner options.
Youseff and Badr were always on hand to help with anything and would go out of their way for any request, and were always happy to have a chat.
We stayed in the Rose suite which was spacious and comfy, with satalite tv and air-conditioning. The breakfasts were lovely and you can also have dinner, the food was always delicious.
The roof terrace was a great place to relax after a hard days shopping in the Souks. There is also an indoor living room and terrace to relax and share the days adventures.
We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

BADR and the two ladies were very helpful but that is where the good news ends. The only room worth using is a suite. The standard rooms took us back to the washrooms on caravan sites. The lack of a door to the loo, even in the suites, means that you have to be good friends!! We cannot walk very far so the trek from the nearest taxi drop off was another piece of bad news for us. The immediate area to the Riad can be best described as do not go out after dark. Taking our meals in the Riad meant wearing a coat as the dining area is in the courtyard, which is fine in summer but winter? As for Marrakech? well, do not expect to be blown away by the experience. I have seen more architectural excellence in a half mile of the Old Kent Road. Sorry to be so negative, but we would have come back after one night if we had had access to an helicopter!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UKZak, Owner at Riad Shaden, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
As the new owner of Riad Shaden, there are many minor improvements which we are currently working on. Doors between bedrooms and bathrooms and heating in the courtyard are at the top of our list.
I am pleased that these guests found our staff to be helpful, however I am surprised at some of the other comments. I am at a loss as to how our beautiful, traditionally decorated bedrooms can be likened to caravan site washrooms. And how a very safe, residential area of the medina can be described as `do not go out after dark`
Our location is 15 minutes from the square and only 2 minutes walk from a taxi drop off point. Riad Shaden is not particularly suitable for people with mobility problems, like most riads in the medina. We would have advised guests of that if they had enquired in advance.
Unfortunately, there will always be some people who do not appreciate Marrakech as a holiday destination, and who would be better suited to a stay in a soulless hotel with on-site parking and hundreds of rooms all the same. Fortunately for us, most of our guests love our riad and have a great time in Marrakech. I have never had to lend anyone my helicopter yet.

Owner, Riad Shaden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech
Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area of the medina, and only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With 6 bedrooms, a spacious living room and a large private sun terrace and English / French speaking staff on hand 24 hours a day. Breakfast included in room rate, additional meals available on request, free WiFi access, satellite TV in rooms. Cookery lessons available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, Prestigia, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shaden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.