We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our heavenly sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maison Belbaraka

Save Saved
You added Riad Maison Belbaraka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Laarouss Derb Asafrou Sidi Bouamer No 242, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our heavenly sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This Riad was a lovely find! We booked it last minute, and were thrilled with what we got! We originally booked for two nights, but liked the place so much we extended by another night.

The Riad was very clean, and decorated in local style - beautifully done. The rooms were all uniquely laid out, and we would have been happy to stay in any of them! We stayed in 'Camille' - I would highly recommend it; for the bathroom if anything!
There is a great rooftop - with a great view of the city. We had breakfast on the roof, which made for a great start each morning. There are two covered areas on the roof, nicely furnished and decorated with sofas, pillows and throws - these provide great respite from the scorching sun in the summer months.

Said and his team were extremely friendly and accommodating. They were more than happy to help, and advise where to go/see in Marrakesh.

Maison Belbaraka is situated down a back alley (as many of the riads are) and a little bit hard to find at first, but please don't let that put you off. As soon as you've been there once, you'll find it again in no problem! We used the public bus to get into Marrakesh from the airport - the best place to get off is the bus stop, and then its a ten minute walk. We walked into the Medina along the road, and called Said, who came to meet us and show us the way. I might suggest the Riad's hotel service if you're not wholly convinced on you map reading ability!
The riad is situated about 15 mins walk along the main road away from the main square (Jemaa el fna) - I wouldn't say this was a bad thing, as it was quite nice to escape from the intensity of the square. If you don't like walking too far in the heat, there are plenty of small taxis around (usually Dh30). We walked everywhere, as it was a great way to explore the city.
We also felt safe walking around (being two young females), and even felt comfortable walking back at night (sticking to well lit areas.

We only had breakfast in the Riad, and it was great! A real hearty start to the day. It consisted of breads, Moroccan pancakes, jams, honey, cakes, yoghurt, coffee and fresh orange juice. The menu for evening meals looked good; but we just fancied exploring the food stalls in the main square.

This was a lovely place to stay in Marakkesh, and I would happily go back again. I would highly recommend it to my friends, if they were to visit the city.
I hope you like it too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This riad is lovely. Ok the previous comment said there was no water in the fountain which was a shame but there is a big water problem in Marrakesh at the moment. The rooms are beautiful. the beds are super comfortable. Said and the other lady host were very helpful. We relished the quiet and soothing atmosphere where nothing was too much trouble. We breakfasted on the roof and sunbathed there too. It was just right for us. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor opposite Elephant. The shower is brilliant and huge and the bed very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was my third time in Marrakech and we stayed in Belbaraka for three nights due to the very positive reviews on Booking and Tripadvisor.
I have to say the owners are really professional, kind and helpful and make the riad worthwhile. Big thumbs up to this.
On the other hand i was a bit disappointed about the place itself..... there's nothing wrong with it, it is clean enough for Morocco (though it could be cleaner), decently located (though it could be better located) and it is quiet (far too quiet actually).
I simply expected more for that price, it is all about charm, there's something missing, in my past stays in Marrakech i stayed in better places for less. No candles on the yard at night, no sound of the water in the fountain... some items on the riad where too new.....i missed many details that made my past stays in Marrakech memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθηνα
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Maison Belbaraka for 6 nights in June 2013. This a small gorgeous Riad very close to the main square in Marakesh. The decoration and quality of our room was something to talk about. We found ourselves eager to spend more time in the Riad relaxing than one would expect. Charlotte the owner was very helpful early on, giving us all the important information and advise through emails before we even got to Morocco. The staff at the Riad was always pleasant and helpful accommodating our every need. And if you can I would highly recommend eating in, a couple of nights, since they have the best Tajine we tried in Morocco and an excellent mint tea. Much better than the one you would find in the average tourist coffee shop in the city!!
The whole experience is a reason to come back to Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights in June 2013. I had been communicating over email with Charlotte before we arrived and she was helpful and always quick to respond to questions. Rachid met us at the airport to take us to the riad. It's hidden down some small alleyways but once you have taken the route once then you will find it again easily. The riad is beautiful - clean, cool and airy, authentic decor, homely feel, pretty roof terrace. We stayed in the Elephant room which was cute and cosy and very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with powerful shower over the bath, and while the room was a little small, it was homely and beautifully decorated. There was also air con in the room which we needed during the night. We arrived at about 9pm but after settling into the room we were served complimentary dinner on the roof terrace - it was excellent and one of the best meals we had all week. Starter of breads and salad, then delicious chicken, lemon and almond tagine, then fruit, mint tea and pastries to finish. The only thing that marred it was a stray cat that kept trying to take the food, but the host was very helpful in shooing it away!! Breakfast every morning was served on the terrace and it was excellent - omlette, pancakes, breads, cakes, jams, honey, fresh orange juice and coffee. Also on the terrace there are sun loungers and a covered area of soft cushions so it's nice to relax up here. The whole riad is quiet and peaceful which you really need when wanting to escape from the madness that is Marrakech! The staff were so helpful throughout the trip....one lady walked us to an ATM and directed us to the main square on the first morning, the host was always around to answer questions and ensure we were having a good stay. On our last day our flight was not until 8:30pm but although we had to vacate our room by 11am for new guests, we were allowed to use another room for the day so we could leave our belongings, have a nap and shower before leaving. We thought this was very kind of them. The riad also arranged our transfer back to the airport. This riad is also in a good location - it was about a 20 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna, and about 10 minutes to the Souks. About 2 minutes away is a small square where it was easy to pick up a taxi. Overall, we both agreed that this was one of the most beautiful, friendly and hospitable places we've stayed in the whole world. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After searching for a few weeks we came across this riad as we wanted to get the true Moroccan experience. rashid (the husband of the manager) was there waiting for us at the airport on time. When we arrived at the riad, which was in the heart of the medina, we were very pleased by the welcoming atmosphere. The room was adequate and very clean, the bathroom was of a good size with a very comfortable bath and an excellent shower.the 5 nights we were there was a heat wave in marrakech and the air conditioning in the room was a godsend when we came back in from the searing heat.
At dinner and breakfast we had tariq helping out who was great and ready to help with any request.
The quality of the dinner was great and the choice of food for breakfast was second.to none.Charlotte (the manager) was great and without her we would have not known where anything was! She arranged a driver for the day to take us on an excursion to the Atlas mountains. He was also called Rashid and was a fantastic guide. He took us to a local Berber village, took us into someone's house where we had some tea. Then we went to see argan oil being made by handmade then the mountain. Note that when they advise you to get a guide in the mountains then listen to them. We.didn't thinking we knew better and it ended up taking us 1.5 hours to hike when it should havetaken 20 minutes!

In conclusion we would recommend this riad to anyone looking for a stress free holiday in marrakech at very good prices.

Thank you Charlotte and Rashid as without you our time in marrakech would have been rubbish!
By try he way I put Terri le for swimming pools there wasn't one and in fairness other riads that advertise one itt will be no more than a tiny tiny tiny dipping pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Maison Belbaraka has big beautiful, spotless and very comfortable rooms and a fantastic roof top and courtyard to escape from the chaos of Marrakech. It is very well located - right near the main souks of the medina and close to the outside if you need a taxi to anywhere else. Charlotte and everyone there are very friendly and very very helpful (which was invaluable when we were unwell upon arrival!). I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Maison Belbaraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maison Belbaraka

Address: Riad Laarouss Derb Asafrou Sidi Bouamer No 242, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Maison Belbaraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maison Belbaraka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.