We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and nice Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maison Belbaraka

Save Saved
You added Riad Maison Belbaraka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Laarouss Derb Asafrou Sidi Bouamer No 242, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Postojna, Slovenia
2 reviews
“Peaceful and nice Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The riad itself was peaceful, comfortable and beautifully presented. It was a real little oasis away from the busy streets of Marrakech. Our hosts, Rachid and Charlotte were pleasant and helpful especially when we needed advice about finding our way around the city and arranging a trip out to the Atlas Mountains and desert. We booked the airport transfer and were glad that we did. Finding the riad by ourselves would have been difficult. The riad was well situated in the heart of the old city and we soon got used to finding our way around but when we arrived and didn't know what to expect being met at the airport was a relief. If you are looking for a riad close to the souks and the Djemaa el-Fna, we would recommend Riad Maison Belbaraka.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed at this riad after noticing some positive reviews online. Being our first visit to morocco we wanted a more authentic experience rather than your average chain hotel.

We originally booked but cancelled due to finding something closer, which prompted the owner/manager to offer a discounted rate over email. I am assuming due to low season. 

Charlotte answered any questions I had over transfers locations etc, felt very at ease before going knowing everything was planned.

On our arrival , the transfer was waiting to pick us up. 

The hotel is situated through a backstreet about a 3 min walk from the road. Well lit at night. You often get lots of local children hanging around and on some occasions my girlfriend had small stones thrown at her.

We were greeted by Rachid as charlotte was away, who showed us to the diva room, the room was nicely presented. We did notice lack of air con unit but a fan instead, in this heat this wasn't acceptable. We later changed rooms due to the lack of sleep and moved upstairs to a room with air con. 

We had dinner more or less every night at 30€ a couple/ wine and beer extra. Very good food kept us satisfied. Breakfast was good but suffers from a lack of variety.

Wifi was available throughout the riad moreso in the courtyard area but dropped out or not available at all especially in our first floor room which meant spending time outside the room on a nearby sofa .

Lack of local amenities like supermarkets was frustrating as there was nothing to say the riad did lunch at all. 

Any "attractions" were a good 15 min walk away, and the lack of pavements and general local attitude to road safety, made this journey a little dangerous so advise to take a taxi to avoid being clipped by passing bikes and cars.

A nice riad, but I feel it offers nothing extra to perhaps deter you from choosing other raids we visited on this trip. 

Room Tip: Make sure you check the small print for each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We went from the 5-8 of May and we had the most amazing time. To be honest, we had our reservations about going to Marrakech but we absolutely loved it and would not hesitate going back. We stayed at this Riad and the service was outstanding. Immediately after booking we received a lovely email from Rashid and Charlotte and were told we could opt to be picked up from the airport. We decided this was the best option, it is 6euros per person. The Riad is really well situated, maybe about 15 minutes walk from the Place and it is a 5 minute walk to the Souks. Whilst this might seem far, it is absolutely recommendable. In the Riad it is extremely peaceful and it is away from all the noise of the street and the hustle and bustle, yet still very close to everything. Once we arrived at the Riad we were warmly greeted by Charlotte with mint tea and Moroccan goodies. She explained everything there was to know. The whole Riad was beautifully decorated and our room was stunning. Everything was extremely clean. We felt immediately at home. We were introduced to Simon, who was extremely friendly – he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and felt at home. Both Charlotte and Simon made our experience SO so special. The service was exceptional!
We went on an excursion to the Ourika valley. We booked this with Charlotte. Although the price was slightly more expensive than prices we had seen in the centre, this was because you get your own private driver, rather than going with a bus of 14 other people. We went with Hossam who was extremely friendly and made our trip fantastic! This trip is highly recommendable.
We had breakfast every morning on the wonderfully decorated terrace. The breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from! Everything was so delicious. On the last night we had supper at the hotel. We were the only couple in the Riad that night, and Simon decorated the terrace especially for us with candles and petals! He cooked us a delicious meal, it was the best meal we had in Marrakech!
When we go back to Marrakech we are definitely going to come back to this Riad and we have highly recommended it to all of our friends. All in all, I would give our stay a 10 out of 10 and I cannot fault anything!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The riad is beautifully decorated and in a very good location for visiting the main square, souks, etc while being tucked away and very quiet during the evening. Each room is unique in it's decor and character, with free wi-fi throughout most of the building.

The staff at the riad are some of the nicest people you'll meet in Marrakech, and so helpful when it comes to organising activities and making you feel at home. We ate at the riad twice (both great meals), had an endless supply of bottled water and mint tea (none of which appeared on our bill at the end of the week).

We had originally booked to stay at the riad for 7 days, however we decided to go on a 3 day excursion across the Atlas mountains, towards the dessert (organised by Maison Belbaraka - a great experience and very good value for money). Charlotte at the riad kept our room while we were away and didn't charge us for the time when we were away (allowing us to keep belongings in the room).

We had a fantastic time here, I honestly can't fault the riad or it's staff. I would recommend the place to anyone and I can assure you I'll be returning next time I visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Situated in the heart of the medina, we knew we were in the heart of Morocco when our taxi stopped and handed us over to a porter waiting with a handcart to guide us through tiny lanes to the hotel, situated about 500m away. Closer to a B&B experience than a hotel, we found the riad to be a little oasis in the hot and hectic city surrounds. Our room was situated on the ground floor with a private bathroom. We didn't have a/c but because of the architecture, the stone walls keep the building cool. Thr third floor opened out to a large terrace with tables for breakfast, sun loungers and small private tents to relax. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, and while breakfast was ok, a private dinner we ordered ahead was probably the best food we ate during our stay. You need to be comfortable

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Riad Belbaraka, a haven after walking in the souk. As you approach the noise disappears until the door opens on a marvelous hideaway. Luxury furnishings, personal and refined touches. Rachid and Charlotte are great at welcoming you in the riad they run. Together with their staff, they not only provide great local dishes on request, they will cater to your every need, answer all the questions you may have about the country, provide you with excellent tips and even give you precious advice on how to tour. This is a place where one sits down to breakfast for enjoyment. Would certainly recommend it eyes closed and are already planning to return soon.

Room Tip: We had the elephant room which was lovely with a bath. But all rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have stayed at Riad Maison Belbaraka for 2 weeks in January.It was beautiful!We have been greeted on the airport after a long flight. After we reach the Riad , wich is easy to find, we had some mint tea and moroccan pastries in a cosy atmosphere and then a good moroccan dinner.I cannot recomand this hotel enough.It has a very good location , just 10 minutes walk to Jeema El Fna and Kotubia Mosque.
Charlotte and Rashid, the managers, were so kind to us. WE were treated like sultans in there.The Riad has a nice architecture ,it makes you feel like you have travelled back in time, especially when you stay on the terace drinking a cup of mint tea and listen the calls to prayer 5 times a day.We absolutely recomand to take them for a tour around Morocco.We have been on an Atlas mountains grand tour , 4 days to Merzouga desert and 1 day to Esouira.All are different and worth a visit if you are there.
I should not forget the nice ladies who are preparing delicious breakfast for us and Hassan wich we alrady consider a friend already.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Maison Belbaraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maison Belbaraka

Address: Riad Laarouss Derb Asafrou Sidi Bouamer No 242, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Maison Belbaraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maison Belbaraka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.