We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Zehar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zehar

Save Saved
You added Riad Zehar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Zehar
79 Derb Habib Allah Mouassine | Quartier Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Riad Zehar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our welcome at the Riad was lovely. Youssef and Aysha greeted us with tea with the biscuits which made the start to our holiday a real pleasure.
The Riad was intimate, clean and very central. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful and if you needed any advice on anything, Youssef was there to save the day! he sugeested what places to visit, where to eat and even accompanied us to places to make sure we got there ok! He was great to talk to and very courteous.
Breakfast was delicious and very generous!
I would just suggest to women that if they plan on wearing heals for the evening, to bring a pair of flats as you need to walk a good 5 minutes to where the taxis are. After that, stilettos, platforms, whatever you like!!
I would definitely go there again and recommend it to all!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
90
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was our first time in Marrakech and the kindness of the staff (Youssef and Aysha) made as feel very wellcome and made things easier.
The riad is beatiful, clean and has a homelike atmosphere, its location is great, near to the main square (Jema el Fna) but in a quiet street.
Youssef advices were very useful and he was always ready to help, and to chat a little.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This Riad is very nice and clean . It was a bit complicated to find because is located in the Medina where all the little street are similar but after 1 day you get use to it. The Manager Youssef was very nice and always available to help and give advice.There was a nice Lady as well to clean and help Youssef . In the Riad you will feel like at home (with Internet) .
The only advice I can give from my experience are:
-be prepare that if are in the Medina everyone will try to sell everythings .Always open and try before buy otherwise do not buy ! Bargain always !
-If you ask information in the Medina few people will ask for money to be your guide but this is illegal.Ask someone else and you will find a nice person.
Visit the New Marakesh that it is very nice ,modern and you can find everythings you need in a big city .
If you want to buy food the nearest Supermarket is Carrefour ..go there and you can use your credit card as well with not extra charge . No one in the Medina will accept Credit or debit Card and if they do they will charge 5% extra for the cost

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After dreaming of going to Marrakesh since my late teens, it was exciting to now have the opportunity to visit with my husband and my 2 children aged 10 and 6. We looked into staying at a hotel but were drawn to the idea of the 'riad' the traditional Moroccon home. As there were many to choose from I avidly read all the trip advisor reviews and plumped for 'Riad Zehar'. It was a fantastic once in a life time experience. As soon as we arrived we were sat down with mint tea and little cookies to eat. Youssef manages the riad and nothing is too much trouble for him. Aisha works alongside him and cooks and cleans. As Youssef said, we are a family so make yourself at home and ask for anything you need. The riad is beautiful. Bedrooms are basic (there is no TV - yes!) but it is clean and the rooms have heating which is needed on the cold winter nights. Because Marrakech can be an over whelming place, Youssef was a God send. He can advise, guide and even haggle for you as he did for us. Make use of his expertise, he isn't pushy he is friendly and caring and wonderful with children, (particularly our youngest who is a fussy eater). The sun shone and breakfast was served on the roof terrace. In the evening, if you ate at the riad, supper would be served at a little table surrounded by candles and incense burning. Next time we hope to attend the cookery class that Aisha and Youssef run. Their food is plentiful and delicious. We ate out only one night and much preferred the food we at Zehar. All in all a wonderful break and we the right choice was made, riad over hotel so that you can really experience Marrakech, the sights, sounds and smells.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stated at Riad Zehar for 3 nights at the start or our trip around Morocco. It was a great introduction to the warmth and hospitality of the Moroccan people! When we arrived we were greeted by Youssef with yummy mint tea and biscuits, then he showed us how mint tea is made! On the first night he showed us how to get to the medina and recommended a great place to eat.

We both loved the cooking course with Youssef and Aisha! It was lots of fun to go to the markets to buy ingredients and come back to cook up a feast! Also don't miss a trip to the Hammam (Turkish bath) with Aisha. We loved how it was a small place and we got to chat with the other guests and the staff - we would definitely stay here again

De and Te

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessedudesert, Propriétaire at Riad Zehar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear customers

We are very pleased to read your comments ...Thank you very much

We will be very happy to welcome you again at Riad Princesse Desert.

Sincerely.

Samira and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Riad 3 days and everything was amazing Many thanks to Samira, Youssef and Aisha who do à great Job to make your visit unforgettable:) My room was so cosy and I Wish I could stay more days there. Don't miss cooking lesson by Youssef and Hammam! Best regards/ Anahita

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessedudesert, Propriétaire at Riad Zehar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear customers

We are very pleased to read your comments ...Thank you very much

We will be very happy to welcome you again at Riad Princesse Desert.

Sincerely.

Samira and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband booked our 5 day stay at Riad Zehar based on favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We loved that it felt like an intimate home, greatly helped by our good fortune that we were the only guests there at the time. The connecting two rooms worked great for our young family (kids age 7,4 and 3) and every meal we had at the Riad was delicious. My only thought was that for us, lunch and dinner, was a bit too pricey since our kids are picky eaters. It made more sense at times to feed the kids when out, put them down, then have dinner for ourselves, which worked perfect since their rooms were right over our heads. And breakfast was the same all 5 days, but the kids would eat it so that was ok.

One of the best parts of our stay was the warm, friendly service from Samira's (the Riad's owner) staff: Aisha and Mostaphae. Aisha was sweet and helped us with any food needs and Mostaphae helped organize day trips for us (with vendors that were all reasonably priced and nice people) and helped lead us to places in the medina we never would have found looking at a map. They went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely stay and were incredibly loving and friendly to the children. Made us feel very "at home".

Zehar is also located in a good spot. It takes 2 minutes to walk through an alleyway to get to a main road of the souk, so it's convenient but distanced so it's not so noisy at night. It's also a 5 minute walk to Djemma el-Fna.

The rooftop terrace was quite nice as well. As I said, we had the good fortune of having the place to ourselves (although it would only accomodate another 4 people at most). If we had to share the terrace, it could have gotten crowded I guess. We spent a good deal of down time at the Riad since we have little kids, so the kids were on the terrace, inside the tent quite frequently. It was nice to be able to do that as it reserved the kids' energy for the day trips.

The two day trips set up through Samira and Mostaphae were great as well. We did some hiking in the Atlas Mountains (nothing major as our kids are little) and did a day in Essouria. I ended up wishing we could have spent a night in Essouria as the vibe there is quite relaxed and tons of restaurants in it's medina would have been nice to explore further. We went in Feb when weather was in the 60's F, but in warmer months, more time in Essouria would be better since you could have more warm, sunny beach time as well.

The only negative of our experience at the Riad was some limited hot water and a shower that didn't work too well, but we never complained. I think if we had, we would have been directed to a different shower in the Riad that worked better (unsure any difference with hot water). So as gross as it is, we didn't bathe alot while there, but we didn't much care, we were enjoying ourselves so much.

The only other negative, particularly with young kids easily scared, is the agressiveness of the vendors and/or street performers in the Djemma el Fna. Beware if your a tourist and go there during the day and look around making eye contact with people. We started to avoid the square unless at night where you didn't stand out as a target quite so vividly. Or if we had to go there during the day, we went around the area of the street performers and looked straight ahead. If you have young kids, it just may be good to warn them of this ahead of time . And we found the best way to handle it was to act like you didn't hear them and look straight ahead. Which wasn't hard since many would try to speak to us in French, a language we don't understand. If you turned your head, you were a goner.

But again, regarding, Riad Zehar, we'd recommend it highly to anyone.

Room Tip: If you had a big enough party or family, you could rent the entire Riad which would give what we exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessedudesert, Propriétaire at Riad Zehar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear customers

We are very pleased to read your comments ...Thank you very much

We will be very happy to welcome you again at Riad Princesse Desert.

Sincerely.

Samira and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zehar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zehar

Address: 79 Derb Habib Allah Mouassine | Quartier Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Morocco, Welcome to Samira's Riads " Home from Home " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Zehar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zehar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.