We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay with our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zehar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zehar to your Saves list
Riad Zehar
79 Derb Habib Allah Mouassine | Quartier Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay with our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband booked our 5 day stay at Riad Zehar based on favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We loved that it felt like an intimate home, greatly helped by our good fortune that we were the only guests there at the time. The connecting two rooms worked great for our young family (kids age 7,4 and 3) and every meal we had at the Riad was delicious. My only thought was that for us, lunch and dinner, was a bit too pricey since our kids are picky eaters. It made more sense at times to feed the kids when out, put them down, then have dinner for ourselves, which worked perfect since their rooms were right over our heads. And breakfast was the same all 5 days, but the kids would eat it so that was ok.

One of the best parts of our stay was the warm, friendly service from Samira's (the Riad's owner) staff: Aisha and Mostaphae. Aisha was sweet and helped us with any food needs and Mostaphae helped organize day trips for us (with vendors that were all reasonably priced and nice people) and helped lead us to places in the medina we never would have found looking at a map. They went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely stay and were incredibly loving and friendly to the children. Made us feel very "at home".

Zehar is also located in a good spot. It takes 2 minutes to walk through an alleyway to get to a main road of the souk, so it's convenient but distanced so it's not so noisy at night. It's also a 5 minute walk to Djemma el-Fna.

The rooftop terrace was quite nice as well. As I said, we had the good fortune of having the place to ourselves (although it would only accomodate another 4 people at most). If we had to share the terrace, it could have gotten crowded I guess. We spent a good deal of down time at the Riad since we have little kids, so the kids were on the terrace, inside the tent quite frequently. It was nice to be able to do that as it reserved the kids' energy for the day trips.

The two day trips set up through Samira and Mostaphae were great as well. We did some hiking in the Atlas Mountains (nothing major as our kids are little) and did a day in Essouria. I ended up wishing we could have spent a night in Essouria as the vibe there is quite relaxed and tons of restaurants in it's medina would have been nice to explore further. We went in Feb when weather was in the 60's F, but in warmer months, more time in Essouria would be better since you could have more warm, sunny beach time as well.

The only negative of our experience at the Riad was some limited hot water and a shower that didn't work too well, but we never complained. I think if we had, we would have been directed to a different shower in the Riad that worked better (unsure any difference with hot water). So as gross as it is, we didn't bathe alot while there, but we didn't much care, we were enjoying ourselves so much.

The only other negative, particularly with young kids easily scared, is the agressiveness of the vendors and/or street performers in the Djemma el Fna. Beware if your a tourist and go there during the day and look around making eye contact with people. We started to avoid the square unless at night where you didn't stand out as a target quite so vividly. Or if we had to go there during the day, we went around the area of the street performers and looked straight ahead. If you have young kids, it just may be good to warn them of this ahead of time . And we found the best way to handle it was to act like you didn't hear them and look straight ahead. Which wasn't hard since many would try to speak to us in French, a language we don't understand. If you turned your head, you were a goner.

But again, regarding, Riad Zehar, we'd recommend it highly to anyone.

Room Tip: If you had a big enough party or family, you could rent the entire Riad which would give what we exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessedudesert, Propriétaire at Riad Zehar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear customers

We are very pleased to read your comments ...Thank you very much

We will be very happy to welcome you again at Riad Princesse Desert.

Sincerely.

Samira and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
91
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in this Riad for two nights when we were travelling through Morocco and really enjoyed it. Especially the terrace looks amazing, and the rooms are basic but nice. When we were there the aircon wasn't working, but I think that was just bad luck for us. And the staff is very friendly, and they provide an excellent breakfast. We would go back there any time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at small Riad Zehar for 3 days after traveling in comfort through the Atlas Mountains and to Merzouga for an overnight in the dunes. We were the only guests the first night and were given our choice of rooms. Fatima was very warm and welcoming, though my limited French made for challenging communications. Samira stopped by and made sure our needs were fully being met. The next day, Fatima generously did lots of laundry for us at no additional charge. We really felt like we were welcome guests into a home. The next day, two other travelers arrived. They were smokers, which threatened to totally change our experience as non-smokers. When I reluctantly mentioned this to Samira, having anticipated that we would encounter more smoking in Morocco than we're used to, she immediately offered to have them smoke only on the rooftop, which they graciously did. One of the two, self-described southern Moroccans, also made a point of apologizing to me, which wasn't at all necessary. This potential conflict was so beautifully handled by Samira and the other guests. We were able to leave most of our belongings at the riad while making a weekend trip by bus to Essouira. When we returned for our last 2 days in Morocco, Samira explained that she was moving us to Riad Reves d'orient, just down the street, where we would be more comfortable as a group of smokers was due to arrive at Riad Zehar. We knew this was a more expensive accommodation and we were only charged what we had booked at Zehar. Over and over, we were extremely well taken care of by Samira, Fatima and the other staff. And both lovely riads are on quiet streets in the Medina a short walk from the souks and Jemaa al Fna.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessedudesert, Propriétaire at Riad Zehar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear customers

We are very pleased to read your comments ...Thank you very much

We will be very happy to welcome you again at Riad Princesse Desert.

Sincerely.

Samira and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arapoti
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here with our 3 children after a week travelling through Morocco. Before our trip we stayed in Riad Reves d`Orient which is run by the same manager. This Riad is very intimate has lovely details and is nicely situated around the corner from the Souk. We defenitely prefer to sty in this kind of place because it has such an authentic feel. It used to be a private townhouse so it seems like you`re staying at a friends house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We arrived at the Riad around 21/Dec and it was perfect! The place was cosy and the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. They really looked after us. This Riad is smaller than it's sister one (Riad Reves D'orient), but is just as nice and the staff were really incredible. We had breakfast on the roof terrace most days which was very nice. Fatima who runs the Riad speaks French so if there are complex things that you need it might be worth asking Samira. They even had free internet (and took a lot of effort to help us to connect).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Samira, took wonderful care of me.
I enjoyed my stay at Samira's riads . The staff was amazing and I would highly recommend this lovely Riad.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed a this Riad with my wife and a family of 3 kids aged 6, 4 and 2. We were looking for a riad inside the Medina with a family room.
This is a great Riad for families. It is ideally located, right next to to Jama el Fna square, but on a side street which is completely quiet in the evenings and at night. We wanted something central with a Riad atmosphere, but that was quiet enough at night and this fit the bill perfectly.
The Riad itself is finished to high standards, and the family room had 2 double beds and a cot. It was on the first floor so the stairs were a bit of a concern for our toddler but in the end not a big deal, the room can be closed off and access to the stairs blocked off.
Breakfast was very good. Evening meals were cooked by Fatima and ver good. We got a chance to compare the Tagine we had at the Rid with ones you get elsewhere and the best one was at the Riad. We had a couple of evening meals there and the rest were in Marrakech.
The Riad is held by Samira who can organise activitis for you, shuttles to the airport, car rental, hammam and the like. Shuttles are defintely recommended. For 30 eur return you get someone to pick you up, take you to a drop off point close to the Riad, and guide you through the Medina to the Riad, with your luggage (and kids :-)) on a cart. Handy when traveling with children and well worth the money.
We rente a car and were looking for car seats for the children - this isn't seasy to get in Marocco but if you insist you can get some. Same for the shuttle to the Riad, if you want car seats you can ask Samira.
The good thing about this Riad's location is that it is literally 5 minutes from the main square and you can find it easily from there, so you just need to find your way back to the Main square to find your way back to the Riad.
If you are looking for a good family Riad then this is a good choice. Samira also runs a Riad 5 minutes away from this one called Reves d'Orient (http://www.tripadvisor.es/Hotel_Review-g293734-d1557836-Reviews-Riad_Reves_D_orient-Marrakech.html).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zehar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zehar

Address: 79 Derb Habib Allah Mouassine | Quartier Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zehar Luck is a luxury " ZEHAR = Luck in Arabic !!! " Staying at Riad Zehar is an opportunity that you should not deprive yourself of. Not only because "Zehar" means "luck" in Arabic, but because this riad is a place full of charm and variety. The patio at the entrance is original and as magical as the panoramic terrace giving you a wonderful rest area to enjoy this charming place. Relaxation is a luxury that can be found in every detail of this place. Between the Chambre Eden, Chambre Menara and not forgetting the Toubkal Suite, you will be assured to have a truly unforgettable stay. You can wander through some famous streets of the Medina around the neighborhood " Mouassine " and arrive at Riad Zehar , conveniently located only five minutes from the " Jemaa El Fna " and it is truly magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zehar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zehar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.